Revlon ColorSilk Reviews

Back to Revlon ColorSilk»
Sort by:
  • 9

    Like it

    I read many reviews before I bought this because of how cheap it is. Ive been using Garniers for years and love it. But I wanted something cheaper. It worked great, the only complaint I have is I wish it was darker. I got the Brown/Black and usually use Dark brown with Garnier. I would have liked it a little bit darker. — 1 year, 2 months ago
    kellabella | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 2

    Why even make this???

    I know the most expensive products aren't always the best, and I'm also not afraid of a possible little mishap that might result in a second trip to the hair color aisle in one night, or even a new hairstyle. So I decided to try to save some money on this. This haircolor looked great after rinsing and drying, but faded so quickly - and near my roots. I recently tried it again in a lighter color (a...read morefter I'd stripped my hair), and it did the same thing in another shade. You'll spend even more than you would have originally buying this hair color and then another box that's the color you actually want, so skip this brand and go for something a bit more reputable. — 1 year, 2 months ago
    SallyS85 | 38 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 4

    color OK, doesn't last at all!

    My hair grows insanely fast so I thought I would buy this since it's cheap and I'll just have to dye again soon anyway...I ended up having to dye my hair again less than 3 wks later because the color faded so fast. The color itself looked good but it was fading out so quickly that I barely had time to form an opinion on it. It did not cover my grays at all, really, and I had to buy 3 boxes because the bottles are super small. And you get one tiny packet of conditioner and that's it. — 1 year, 2 months ago
    dalekbarbie | 41 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Terrible! orange!

    So I have dirty blonde hair, really not that dark and I tried to do the roots of my hair so it would be blonder. It came out orange!! Do not use if you want to go blonde! — 1 year, 2 months ago
    ChelseaStorm | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 4

    Extra Light Ash Blonde Too Warm

    My hair is naturally medium to slightly dark ash blonde and it's still not very dark. I usually bleach my hair and I wanted to go a shade darker. I used this on my virgin roots and my hair turned warm light blonde, mind you the box says ash and my natural hair is ash. It wasn't horrifying, but it wasn't the promised icy blonde. I will say my hair didn't feel particularly dry afterward. I wouldn't ...read morerecommend this product without prebleaching to anyone with very dark blonde to brunette hair. — 1 year, 2 months ago
    barbieblondexo | 132 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 7

    Great for the price!

    I have straight, fine, oily dark medium brown hair normally. I've used this product in varying shades of red and blonde for years now, and I've never had a major problem with it. I can't say whether or not it covers grays as I am too young to have them, but it has always given me a color close to that which is displayed on the box (though darker on some because I do not naturally have light hair)....read more The dye is a bit drippy, but that can be easily fixed by putting old towels around. I've certainly had patchy color in the past, but I ascribe that to the fact that neither myself or anyone else I've had dye my hair with this product is a professional, and not to the actual product itself. Whenever I've used this product it has started to fade in about 4-8 weeks, but at less than five dollars a box I can afford to re-do it that often. — 1 year, 2 months ago
    thequietnoise | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Works great for the price!

    I have long thick curly hair that is a natural blackish color. Since I have so much hair I have to get 2 boxes and this is great because it's the cheapest you can buy. I was skeptical because of the price but I've tried multiple shades including light auburn, and my absolute favorite golden light brown. It slightly thins hair out, but in my case it's helpful. I dye my eyebrows with the matching dy...read moree and it works wonders. Try it out. The conditioner afterwards also made my hair extremely soft.. I think my hair was in better condition than before I dyed it. But I should also mention that if you're lightening dark hair the color will be darker than the color on the box, for example dark blonde came out to be lightish brown on my mom's black hair. And same with me. Another tip is to leave the dye in for a LONG TIME for best results. I leave mine in for an hour+. Buy it! :) — 1 year, 2 months ago
    mari_valadez | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 9

    This is a great, budget friendly hair dye!

    I use the Dark Brown color. At only about $3 or $4, you can't beat this value! It works as well as pricier drugstore brands. It doesn't damage my hair and it's a very budget friendly way of dying my roots every month. The conditioner that comes with it is amazing and leaves my hair so soft and healthy feeling! The color lasts a reasonable amount of time. I can't believe I used to spend about $30 to get my roots dyed at the salon when I can easily get the same result at home for $3! — 1 year, 2 months ago
    BeautyJunkie37 | 33 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 1

    ****ing TERRIBLE!!!!

    IT COMPLETELY RUINED MY HAIR AND MADE SOME OF IT FALL OUT. i used the ultra light ash blonde #5 and i already have blonde hair. i was trying to lighten some of the yellow orange tones in my hair and it didnt do anything! it still looks the same and now my hair is disgusting and breaking off. never buying again!!! — 1 year, 2 months ago
    msheckie | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 3 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Great Haircolor for an Awesome price!

    I have been using Colorsilk for years now...I love the price but it also works great. I have used every at home hair dye available. Pretty sad that a product that cost about $3 can be better than the pricey ones. I have natural blonde hair with an ash tone which I can't stand so I always use neutral hairdye I even make my own color, I mix number 61 and 04 together for the best color ever. Even my...read more Mom uses my color combo. I even get great highlights from a cheap but great hairdye...who knew! Try it you won't be sorry. — 1 year, 2 months ago
    msahmad99 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  10 of 11 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend