Revlon ColorSilk Reviews

Back to Revlon ColorSilk»
Sort by:
  • 1

    ****ing TERRIBLE!!!!

    IT COMPLETELY RUINED MY HAIR AND MADE SOME OF IT FALL OUT. i used the ultra light ash blonde #5 and i already have blonde hair. i was trying to lighten some of the yellow orange tones in my hair and it didnt do anything! it still looks the same and now my hair is disgusting and breaking off. never buying again!!! — 2 years, 3 months ago
    msheckie | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    Great Haircolor for an Awesome price!

    I have been using Colorsilk for years now...I love the price but it also works great. I have used every at home hair dye available. Pretty sad that a product that cost about $3 can be better than the pricey ones. I have natural blonde hair with an ash tone which I can't stand so I always use neutral hairdye I even make my own color, I mix number 61 and 04 together for the best color ever. Even my...read more Mom uses my color combo. I even get great highlights from a cheap but great hairdye...who knew! Try it you won't be sorry. — 2 years, 3 months ago
    msahmad99 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  10 of 11 people said helpful

  • 7

    Review subject

    I've had mixed results with this brand. When I first started dying my hair red, it worked amazingly, and my hair was pretty close to the colour red on the box. However, I decided later to go back to brunette, and when I dyed my hair, it came out black. This faded to a brown withing two washes, but how was I supposed to know that? Now I'm back to red, and as I've progressively gone lighter, it is t...read morehe only dye that gives me the light auburn red I want. My suggestion is try it if you want to go for red, but otherwise, it doesn't seem to work well. — 2 years, 3 months ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Great Color - have used it for years

    I have been using ColorSilk for years. I'm a brunette so I can't speak to the blonde shades but my experience has always been good. I used the Brown Black for years then recently tried the Dark Mahogany Brown and like it even more. The Brown Black is REALLY dark so if you aren't looking for that don't use it. My hair is in good condition even after years of use. But conditioner after shampooing is...read more always a good idea. I experience a slight color fade after a few shampoos which I really want since I use dark colors. I also use strong shampoos for dandruff and not the ones designed for colored hair. I recolor every 3 months, not because of the color but because my VERY gray roots grow out. I've tried to color only the roots but it just doesn't seem to work for me so I color all my hair and haven't experienced any problems. The creme color is thick enough that it doesn't drip and makes coloring easy. I read a few reviewers who said the color was uneven - that is not a problem of the product but of the person applying the color. As with any color product you must be sure to cover all your hair. My hair shines so much with the color, I just love it. And at $3 who wants to spend the cash just so another company can run adds on TV. Love this product. Most of my friends have gone all grey now, many saying it's just too much trouble to color. Well that's silly. For $12 and 4hours A YEAR I look YEARS younger than they do. There isn't a quicker way to look younger than getting rid of the gray. If you like gray hair fine, but don't blame it on the coloring process. Love Color Silk. — 2 years, 3 months ago
    MMVB | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  10 of 12 people said helpful

  • 8

    Great for the price.

    I use a lot of at-home hair color and this is usually my go-to brand. As inexpensive as it is, I can afford to color my hair as often as I want, or if it turns out to be a color I don't like, I didn't blow a lot of money getting it done and it's not a big deal to get another box and fix it. The formula on this is really conditioning and always leaves my hair feeling like it's in better condition t...read morehan it was before I colored. My only complaint about this is that it fades out way sooner than I'd like for it to. I almost always go for the darkest brown color (without being black) and after a little over a month it's faded back to dark blonde/light brown. — 2 years, 3 months ago
    ckbj2010 | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 1

    revlon color silk

    This product, 50 (light brown neutral) , does not cover grey hair; nor does it give good color. — 2 years, 3 months ago
    lisa1975 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 3 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Crap hair dye

    I have been doing my own hair for over 20 years and always get some result...but when I tried to get the red out of my hair by using the light blond coloursilk...NOTHING HAPPENED TO MY HAIR...I have a bit of blond at the roots, but I was expecting a light shade of orange (which is what usally happens with superior products) but nothing. my ends are dry, but that is it. I left the colour on for an hour...LOL...NOTHING!!! What crap...figures it only cost $5 — 2 years, 3 months ago
    lauraanne23 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 4 people said helpful

  • 1

    So disappointed.

    I've always been more than happy with Revlon's makeup, like their foundation and lipstick, but I was extremely disappointed with this dye. In fact, I've never been more disappointed with a product in my life. This is a pathetic excuse for hair dye and I'm sorry to say it, but this was not worth the mere three dollars I paid for it. I bought the Ultra Light Blonde 03, while already having dark blon...read morede hair. As indicated on the box, I expected a light and sunny golden blonde. What I got what a dusky grayish blonde (and I use the word "blonde" lightly, as it was barely blonde at all) mop. I wanted my hair a breezy and beautiful blonde for an important event tomorrow, and now I'll have to damage my hair again just to fix this mess. — 2 years, 3 months ago
    eyeslikesunsets | 33 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Awesome

    I didn't have the funds to pay for my roots to be recolored, so I picked up two boxes of this in an ash blonde and a light natural blonde. I combined to two colors and I got the perfect color. There were also natural highlights and depth and dimension. My hair hadn't looked so good in a long time. The highlights stayed in my hair. My hair was shiny and healthy afterwards. Next month, when my roots need touched up, I will be using this product again. — 2 years, 3 months ago
    allredmallory12 | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 7 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    Revlon Colorsilk

    I have used Colorsilk for several years. Its extremely affordable and covers gray very well. — 2 years, 3 months ago
    rlutker | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Home » Reviews » Hair » Hair Color » Revlon ColorSilk

Back
to top

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"