Revlon ColorSilk Reviews

Back to Revlon ColorSilk»
Sort by:
  • 1

    no

    made my hair a mess. never again will i buy this. — 1 year, 9 months ago
    LexiLove | 18 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love Revlon Colorsilk!

    This is my favorite permanent hair color... it's inexpensive (less than $5), amonia-free so it's less damaging, and it covers gray. Love it! — 1 year, 9 months ago
    aubreymichelle | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 8

    User vs. Product

    I've used Colorsilk many times, and never had a problem with damage, patchiness, or fast fading. Patchy results are almost certainly the result of user error: Not shaking the mix thoroughly; applying unevenly; having product on hair that interfered with absorption; or rinsing before ALL sections of hair have had colorant on them for the full 20-25 min,. needed for the colorant to permeate the st...read morerands. The last of those can also lead to fast fade of color, as can your shampoo if it contains sodium lauryl/laureth sulfate. My only complaint is that the food-service-type plastic gloves are woefully insufficient. Simple fix - get your own latex or non-latex medical-type gloves. — 1 year, 9 months ago
    enderskye | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 6

    Good for the price

    This isn't the best hair color I've used - I've noticed (especially with red - but that's a given) the colors tend to fade faster. But it's easy to use and the colors are actually quite vibrant at first. I've found this anywhere between $3 and $5, so for the price, and experimenting with color, it's actually a good value. — 1 year, 9 months ago
    oopylovesyou | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    A Hair-Friendly Option for the From-the-Box Dyer

    Overall, I have had really good experiences with this hair color - I've even repurchased twice! I use this in the lightest shade, which is Sun Blonde, and I was very pleased with it. First of all, this color is not damaging to your hair in the way that other hair dyes are. It's ammonia free, meaning that it's not stripping your hair, and it doesn't smell nearly as potent. I really look for thi...read mores in a dye, especially since I'm a blonde - this hair color makes my hair shiny and lustrous, and not just one flat tone - there are minor high and low lites, that give my hair dimension. My only complaint with this product is that color does fade a bit quicker than other dyes, even compared to other box dyes... but that's because it's ammonia-free. And at an average price of under $5, that's a minor downside to an overall decent hair color. -- Ask More Questions at DrugstorePrincess — 1 year, 9 months ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love it

    I love the new reckon colorsilk lumenista hair color it lift dark hair to that medium blonde fast and easy. Love it better than loreal, with no ammonia! I can't wait till they make it in a mousse! — 1 year, 9 months ago
    highend4ever | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  11 of 11 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Review subject

    I LOVE colorsilk. Love that since I have dark hair i can lighten it up with the lightest blond color. and then continue with the color i really want to have. — 1 year, 9 months ago
    TCI | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 8

    cant beat the price

    This is one of the cheapest hair colors i have seen, so i figured the quality must be awful too. but i was pleasantly surprised when i used it! it wasnt too difficult and the color seemed to work fine. Im sure it isnt the best quality out there but my hair feels perfectly fine so ill continue to purchase this — 1 year, 9 months ago
    anna1002 | 78 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good in comparison to the price

    Of course it doesn't smell good, or process quickly. And the conditioner doesn't come in a tube. But it is soooo cheap that this can be overlooked. Sometimes the ash tones can run a little on the green side, so just be careful when it comes to your hair. — 1 year, 9 months ago
    mteclouser | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    ouch

    this hair dye burnt my scalp and ears so bad I had to go to doc and get mes fo infection and burns willnever use anain...my head and ears hurt so bad right now...price was right but product was bad, never happened with other hair des — 1 year, 9 months ago
    cheri_oliver | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



BUY IT ON AMAZON NOW!