John Frieda Precision Foam Colour Reviews

Back to John Frieda Precision Foam Colour»
Sort by:
  • 2

    pretty bad.

    I bought a light brown shade and was really excited to try it since foam seemed way easier than the 3 boxes of cream dye I normally have to use (I have the. thickest. hair. EVER.) The foam is very easy to use but it dries out so fast and I felt like I wasn't getting it all. I washed my hair, and that pretty-on-the-box light brown dye turned my hair BLACK. I had to go buy color oops to strip it o...read moreut, it looked dull and horrible. The color was nowhere close to the box, at all. I looked so awful and would not buy this again. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    dalekbarbie | 41 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 2

    maliburunner

    I usually color my hair at a salon but opted to save instead and tried this at home kit. I tried John Frieda because of the name recognition and I figured since it was costlier than the others that it would be better. The first thing I noticed is that the picture of the model on the box is in black and white. So you have to pick based on the name of the color or a smaller color picture on the back...read more of the box. I also noticed after I applied it that it did not cover any of my gray. It also left my hair feeling dry. The at home kits I've used before always seem to leave my hair super soft. Not worth the extra money. — 1 year, 5 months ago
    annanathan | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great color, low odor.

    Used 5N, it's a little dark (I'm on day 4), but in a few days I know it will begin to look more natural. I have very porous hair, so I only left on 16 min. My hair is ShinY! Covered a few grays and very little odor! Most times I can smell haircolor for a few days, but not this time (-: — 1 year, 6 months ago
    donna5cam3 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    John Frieda Hair Color Foam

    I finally decided to try this hair color. Radiant Red , medium red brown. This is a different but easy way to apply color. I like it! — 1 year, 6 months ago
    Face | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 4

    not thrilled

    I decided to dye my hair a while back for the first time ever and I had been seeing commercials for this so I decided to try it thinking it would be easier being foam PLUS it's John Frieda so it must work right? Well.....needless to say I was very disappointed. Maybe my hair is too thick and I could've used another box but it didn't cover all of my hair, it ended up looking like I had highlights o...read morer streaks. It didn't seem like enough foam. I was happy with the color all though it seemed to wash out after a few shampoos. It didn't work for my hair but maybe it's just my hair(it usually is) because the rest of the reviews seem to be ok. Overall I don't think I'd use this product again or recommend it for anyone with thick, curly hair.. :( — 1 year, 10 months ago
    GlamDoll | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Easiest at home hair color I've ever used, and great results!

    I've used this twice to punch up my natural color, which gets a little dull and brassy sometimes. I go a shade or so darker in the winter for richness, and two weeks ago I moved to a color a shade lighter than my natural color to brighten things up. The color is easy to apply and distribute through my long, thick hair, and it's nice that with this I only need one box instead of my usual two. I al...read moreso love that it doesn't make a huge mess, so cleanup is really easy. The odor is about the same or slightly less than other at home permanent color, so having good ventilation is important. (I open the window.). After applying the included conditioner my hair was in good condition and not overdry (the conditioner that comes with it is fantastic). After coloring, conditioning, and rinsing out I follow the late Vidal Sassoon's advice of letting my hair "live with" the color for a couple of days before shampooing or using styling products. This seems to produce a more even, natural looking result that lasts longer and leaves my hair in better condition than when I don't take the time to do this, because it allows the natural oils to come back. The final result (the first shampoo and style after the "settling in" period) looks natural with good highlights and shine-- My most uberhonest friend and I thoroughly checked out my hair in strong sunlight and it passed inspection. If you follow the package directions and don't expect a home haircolor to do miracles (meaning, don't try to go up or down more than 2 shades at home-- you need a colorist for that) it's a fantastic product. — 1 year, 10 months ago
    LAGlamRGrl | 39 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  13 of 13 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 4

    Horrid Smell

    While the color was great the smell was bad enough that I got a migraine that lasted for several days. I did use this product twice, since I was not positive the migraine was related to the product, and had the same result both times. I have used several different brands of at home hair dye and this has never happened before. I have also used other John Frieda products and not had any problems with those products so this complaint is specific to their hair color. — 2 years, 1 month ago
    mairin_osteen | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    great for first-timer

    I decided to try coloring my hair myself, to save a few dollars. I mostly was looking for something to cover grays and not a drastic hair change color. This was so easy to follow and it turned out great. My stylist even commented on how well it covered and how healthy my hair seemed. It fully covered all my grays and my hair felt great and not overly-processed. I've been coloring my hair usin...read moreg this product for over 6 months and won't even try anything else. I've had great results, starting from the first time I tried it. — 2 years, 2 months ago
    marcyann70 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    Cheap, easy and covers my greys

    I have a handful of dye-resistant white hairs that really stand out against my dark brown hair. I'd tried every brand on the market, and nothing worked on my grey (although they did once turn an interesting pink Colorado). Then I got a coupon for the new John Frieda Precision Foam and figured I'd give it a try. First, it really covers grey! Three weeks in, my hair is uniformly youthful again! I...read moret's easy to use, and my hair felt pretty healthy after using it This review would be a 10 if the following items were fixed: 1) Colors are limited. I understand that a few new colors have been added, but choice is still limited compared to other brands. The colors on the box are also misleading: my hair came out much darker than expected 2) Color is uniform all over with no tones or highlights. I liked Feria and similar brands because of the highlights, but for grey coverage I can live with a single color 3) This applies to all hair color: the tiny tube of conditioner does not last six weeks! Some of us have thick dry hair that needs more than a dollop — 2 years, 2 months ago
    kimberly_taylor | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 8 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Omg,10N blonde,miracle foam

    This is the BEST at home color i have ever used!! I put this over chemically bleached frizzy hair and i ended up with amazing color,highlights,and the softest hair i have ever had!!! LOVE IT — 2 years, 2 months ago
    pinkchick | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  25 of 26 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend