Philosophy Hope in a Jar Reviews

Back to Philosophy Hope in a Jar»
Sort by:
  • 9

    Great all around moisurizer

    I use this moisturizer exclusively in the fall and winter months. I use another philosophy moisurizer in the summer. This absorbs quickly and is perfect with my combination skin! — 8 years, 4 months ago
    arnett7117 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Saving my dry skin this winter...

    My skin is very dry and very sensitive. Ithas always been hard for me to find a product that moisutrized my face enough, but didn't leave me greasy when I woke up in the morning. This product is great! It makes your skin feel like a baby's butt! Pricey, but totally worth it. Not the best smelling moisturizer ever, but better than Original Hope in a Jar. — 8 years, 4 months ago
    KatintheCorner | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Cleared up my skin

    This product, while not specifically designed for acne-prone oily skin, totally cleared up mine! I love it and the smell and still use it daily to maintain the great skin I once knew. My philosophy: if it sounds too good to be true, then it must be good for you! — 8 years, 4 months ago
    tjandress | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Love this one (after getting used to the smell)

    I really dislike the smell of lavender, so it took me awhile to get over the smell of this cream. However, it works so well for my skin that I can overlook it! The cream itself is a very light texture, so it doesn't make me too oily, but it moisturizes my combo skin well (even the dry patches). I also love that I don't need to use much to get a great result. I do really wish that they'd make a ver...read moresion with SPF in it, since I often want to use this during the day w/o adding an extra product (sunscreen). — 8 years, 4 months ago
    sandoz28 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 1

    Eye irritating and stinks!

    I totally dislike this moisturizer! It smells aweful, strong medicine-like scent. The most trouble I have is that it makes me extremely teary even if I use it FAR away from my eyes! (bottoms of cheeks and top part of forehead). I thought it would go away if I use it for a while but it didn't, I had to use the rest of the jar on my body rather than throw it away. My husband also dislikes the smell,...read more he would comment when I use it. I'm not crazy about the texture either, seems like it doesn't absorbs well, like it's just sitting on top of the skin and when it's dry, it rubs off in small pieces when you apply other products on top of it. It also leaves your skin SHINY rather than glowy. I'm very disappointed for reading good things about it but only experienced bad things from it. I've used many more Philosophy products because of the cute packaging and fresh ideas but never have bought a second one of the same because I wasn't impressed with the products and will review them later. — 8 years, 4 months ago
    reachtrita | 22 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 1

    not for me

    I read the reviews of this moisturizer and most of the reviews are good, so i try to use it. Every time i wake up, i see pimple come out but i thought it was because my skin is getting use for the moisturizer. I try for 2 months and i quit. Not because of the smell like many people complain but this moisturizer make my skin become oily and break out. It proves that good reviews and pricey moisturizer not always good for everyone. — 8 years, 4 months ago
    manisnya | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Good moisturizer

    This is a very good moisturizer. But.... I wish it would say "non-comedogenic" on their packaging. I'm prone to breakouts, and would like to be "sure". I think the product smells good. — 8 years, 4 months ago
    fiestamom | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Hope In A Jar completely changed my skin.

    I don't think I've ever been completely "happy" with any facial moisturizer. I bought Hope In A Jar as a total skeptic and upon the first application my skin felt much smoother than usual. After a week of use, my skin absolutely glowed. I didn't think the results that I've gotten from Hope In A Jar existed. I have combination skin that can be either oily or dry and this moisturizer seems...read more to neutralize any extremes I used to experience. I can't live without Hope In A Jar now. I wouldn't use another facial moisturizer. I give it (usually within kits that contain other Philosophy products) as gifts also. — 8 years, 4 months ago
    elizabethryan | 30 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love it!

    Okay, the smell isn't the greatest. But it is worth it. I have combination skin and this works wonderfully. Keeps the dry skin hyrdrated and the oily skin doesn't get worse. A little goes a long way, and this absorbs into the skin amazingly fast. I'd recommend this to anyone. — 8 years, 4 months ago
    doublel7 | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Smelly but Works Great

    When you first take a wiff of this stuff, it'll probably make you want to puke. But after you get over that, this is a great moisturizer. Pro: -Reduces pores on the nose. Noticable difference within 2 days of use -Helps exfoliate/renew skin Con: -Smells smells smells -Expensive for the size Tips for getting the best result is to wash your face with Purity face wash first, then ...read moreuse a towel to dry the face..but leave it somewhat damp. Apply Hope in a Jar moisturizer after that. When the face is damp, your skin can absorb the moisturizer much better. For those with oily skin, DO NOT use this as a night cream or else you'll wake up with breakouts and an oily face. Do these 2 steps in the morning prior to putting on foundation. — 8 years, 4 months ago
    bumblebees24 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"