Philosophy Hope in a Jar Reviews

Back to Philosophy Hope in a Jar»
Sort by:
  • 1

    Eye irritating and stinks!

    I totally dislike this moisturizer! It smells aweful, strong medicine-like scent. The most trouble I have is that it makes me extremely teary even if I use it FAR away from my eyes! (bottoms of cheeks and top part of forehead). I thought it would go away if I use it for a while but it didn't, I had to use the rest of the jar on my body rather than throw it away. My husband also dislikes the smell,...read more he would comment when I use it. I'm not crazy about the texture either, seems like it doesn't absorbs well, like it's just sitting on top of the skin and when it's dry, it rubs off in small pieces when you apply other products on top of it. It also leaves your skin SHINY rather than glowy. I'm very disappointed for reading good things about it but only experienced bad things from it. I've used many more Philosophy products because of the cute packaging and fresh ideas but never have bought a second one of the same because I wasn't impressed with the products and will review them later. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    reachtrita | 22 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 1

    not for me

    I read the reviews of this moisturizer and most of the reviews are good, so i try to use it. Every time i wake up, i see pimple come out but i thought it was because my skin is getting use for the moisturizer. I try for 2 months and i quit. Not because of the smell like many people complain but this moisturizer make my skin become oily and break out. It proves that good reviews and pricey moisturizer not always good for everyone. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    manisnya | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good moisturizer

    This is a very good moisturizer. But.... I wish it would say "non-comedogenic" on their packaging. I'm prone to breakouts, and would like to be "sure". I think the product smells good. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    fiestamom | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Hope In A Jar completely changed my skin.

    I don't think I've ever been completely "happy" with any facial moisturizer. I bought Hope In A Jar as a total skeptic and upon the first application my skin felt much smoother than usual. After a week of use, my skin absolutely glowed. I didn't think the results that I've gotten from Hope In A Jar existed. I have combination skin that can be either oily or dry and this moisturizer seems...read more to neutralize any extremes I used to experience. I can't live without Hope In A Jar now. I wouldn't use another facial moisturizer. I give it (usually within kits that contain other Philosophy products) as gifts also. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    elizabethryan | 30 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love it!

    Okay, the smell isn't the greatest. But it is worth it. I have combination skin and this works wonderfully. Keeps the dry skin hyrdrated and the oily skin doesn't get worse. A little goes a long way, and this absorbs into the skin amazingly fast. I'd recommend this to anyone. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    doublel7 | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7

    Smelly but Works Great

    When you first take a wiff of this stuff, it'll probably make you want to puke. But after you get over that, this is a great moisturizer. Pro: -Reduces pores on the nose. Noticable difference within 2 days of use -Helps exfoliate/renew skin Con: -Smells smells smells -Expensive for the size Tips for getting the best result is to wash your face with Purity face wash first, then ...read moreuse a towel to dry the face..but leave it somewhat damp. Apply Hope in a Jar moisturizer after that. When the face is damp, your skin can absorb the moisturizer much better. For those with oily skin, DO NOT use this as a night cream or else you'll wake up with breakouts and an oily face. Do these 2 steps in the morning prior to putting on foundation. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    bumblebees24 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Stick with it, it's the best!

    When I first got this moisturizer I hated the smell, but I'd spent so much that I was determined to give it a good shot. I'm so glad I did! The smell went away very quickly and I was left with the best skin I've ever had! My face is clearer, calmer, and prettier than it's ever been before. The jar is pricey, but it lasts for months so it's not bad in the long run. Besides, you can't put a price on feeling this good about your skin! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    ladypuppy | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    Not the be-all but pretty good

    A lot of people think the fragrance for Hope isn't pleasing. I don't like heavy fragrances in skin care products so I don't mind the mild scent. It does what it says it will - it gently stimulates skin renewal, keeps it moisturized. It is not oily, too thick or thin. It is pricey, so I recomend starting with a smaller size to see if you like it. I am on my second jar and it's my standard everyday moisturizer up and until some other product proves better! — 6 years, 6 months ago
    Sibyis | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love it

    It's got a different type of texture. I have oily skin, so I don't like to use heavy products, but I really like the way this one feels. I would buy it again when its finished, which is more than I can say about other moisturizers I've owned. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    Melina | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    The Best I've Found

    This is a great moisturizer. It gives me the moisture my skin needs without the extra oil clogging my pores. I also lasts forever. My skin has never looked better. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    Roxie680 | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend