Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil Reviews

Back to Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil»
Sort by:
  • 9

    A long time favorite.

    I first read about NARS Cosmetics in an internet article - one of those "best beauty finds" stories. It mentioned the NARS Matte Lip Pencil. The recommended color was "Roman Holiday" so I ordered one from Sephora along with Cruella and Bettina. I was truly surprised! It's just a big, fat, lip crayon (NOT a liner). Very sturdy, and the color glides on and covers like lipstick, but has a velvety tex...read moreture like...well, almost like ChapStik. It will last for many hours and DOES NOT "pill" like lipstick (which I have grown to hate very much). The ingredients must be gentle because my lips feel soft even after the color has worn away. The "Roman Holiday" color is a shiny, pale pink. I decided to try "Sex Machine." Nice color, but too "mauve" for me, no shine. These pencils are a MUST-HAVE for any gal's make up bag. And NARS customer service is one the best EVER to work with! Yes, they may be a little pricey, but I think it's worth it. I did read a review from someone who gave this product a low rating because they couldn't get the pencil sharpened. NARS sells a multi-product sharpener ($6) that sharpens 3 or 4 of their different pencils. The wrap of the Matte Lip Pencil is VERY thick, and must be sharpened slowly or it will be ruined. Keep this in mind when it's time to sharpen your pencil. And don't forget to remove the adapter that's stuck in the hole for the lip pencil! — 1 year, 8 months ago
    Lazy_Girl_Makeup | 36 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    love it!

    I highly recommend this. The color is very rich, I also like the quality. The only thing I don't like is the price is a little bit high. — 2 years, 4 months ago
    kala | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love, Love, Love

    I cant tell you how many times makeup artists have used these on me for shoots. So I went out and bought two for myself. They are so easy to apply and they give you color all day. If you love the color but don't want it matte just brush some gloss over top. These are my new obsession. — 2 years, 7 months ago
    sarahmbondy | 18 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 12 Lipsticks We're Obsessed With

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil

    Love these. Discovered by accident while perusing my local Sephora shop. Tried it out on my arm & loved the color (Bettina, I think). Went back 2 wks later & purchased in Bahama. Wear it with a touch of gloss & it looks natural & lasts. — 3 years, 7 months ago
    Ariesrising | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 6

    Not sure how I feel about it.

    I have this pencil in Roman Holiday and love the shade. Itlooks a really bright, but does not go on as bright. It is not drying like a lot of matte lipsticks. The main problem I have with this product is the staying power. It seems like 15-20 minutes after I put it on, you can barely see it. I will keep the one I have but will likely not buy this product again. — 4 years ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    Never leave home without it

    I've never been a fan of lining my lips ,to avoid looking like a porcelain doll,but this liner is lush yet matte (awesome right !) its d perfect outline for my lips, and still manages to look au naturel.... — 4 years, 2 months ago
    yetunde | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    good matte

    good lip pencil,stays on good,and no drying on the lips,and last little on the pricey side. — 4 years, 3 months ago
    sandyc | 64 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    The search for the perfect red is over

    The answer to the perfect red for this fall is this lip pencil in "Cruella" yes the name may sound deceiving but this is beautiful and long lasting perfect mat shade of red!!! I seen it in my local sephora but they were all sold out so I ordered it online when it came And I used it for 3 days I ordered a back up it's overly fantastic!!! — 4 years, 7 months ago
    toni_elting | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 6 people said helpful

  • 9

    Impressive.

    This does n o t, dry out your lips whatsoever. Matte finish, yet moisturizing. I can't explain it, I don't know how they did it, but this is the best lip product I've ever used. And I love it. It's great for lining your lips and filling in with gloss. My boyfriend loves it. Will repurchase in a dark red. — 4 years, 9 months ago
    emilyd0ll | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 12 Lipsticks We're Obsessed With

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    great lip liner

    I love this lip liner very easy to use and goes on silky smooth. — 5 years, 6 months ago
    Sweetpumpkin | 13 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Home » Reviews » Makeup » Lipstick » Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencil
Check out Total Beauty Contests on LockerDome on LockerDome

Back
to top

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend