NYC New York Color Cosmetics Smooch Proof 16HR Lip Stain Reviews

Back to NYC New York Color Cosmetics Smooch Proof 16HR Lip Stain»
Sort by:
  • 9

    Lasts Forever

    For a drugstore stain, this may be just a tad drying, but it's worth it for the wear. It beats all of the other drugstore lip stains I've tried and many of the expensive ones from Sephora, Ulta and department stores. I think you get more than your money's worth. — 1 year, 2 months ago
    Pege | 40 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Alright

    This lip stain is affordable but, does not do everything it claims to do. On my lips the color fades away in about an two hours. It is completely gone by the 4th hour. I like the color range and price of the product. I like the way it looks on my lips. This is an alright product and I would most likely not recommend this product to a friend. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    hdogbling | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 3 people said helpful

  • 7

    Good for the price

    I bought 2 of them (£4 each) their great for the price as the colour pay off is amazing and it stains the lips for a good 5 hours ( not 16 like it promotes ) it can be drying so wear a lip balm or mosturising lipstick with this — 1 year, 6 months ago
    shannonmcginley | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 11 Best and Worst Lip and Cheek Stains

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    Disappointed

    I am very disappointed because I usually like NYC products but this just didn't work for me. I really prefer the Revolon Just Kissin Lip Balm Stain. I feel like it works wonders. This just didn't work for me:( — 1 year, 7 months ago
    julia4ever | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 3 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good Stain

    I bought this in Smoochproof, which is a nice berry color that can be layered for a darker tint. For the price, I think this is a great lip stain product. The marker-like applicator is soft, not stiff like CoverGirl's. the stain lasted longer than CG's too, but I doubt it actually lasts 16hrs, probably not even longer than 8hrs unless you do nothing with your mouth that whole time, but I've also n...read moreever tested it longer than that. I use it more casually than for going out. I like being able to apply the stain in the morning and go through my day without having to worry about reapplying. When I get home, it's faded but there is still some color which is good enough for me. Some people complain over the scent, but it actually smells good compared to CG. — 1 year, 7 months ago
    MissOlive | 15 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 2

    Dissapointed

    Pretty color and goes on easy but only lasts an hour, TOPS. — 1 year, 8 months ago
    tofumushaboom | 44 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 3

    Dry out quickly

    They come in a nice range of colors and and are inexpensive, but they dry out soooo fast I only used it for about three weeks before it was a goner.. Quite disappointing — 2 years ago
    michellefuentes | 75 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 6

    Semi-Good

    I loved this product when I first bought it but it dried out in around 4 days, I dipped it in water and it worked for another week. Its worth it if you don't want to spend a lot of money, and the colors are nice. — 2 years, 2 months ago
    cherylmarie101 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    BEST LIP STAIN EVER!

    I would've never thought that NYC would beat out all the other brands...even high end ones like Laura Mercier. I only purchased this one because I didn't have any lip products and ran into a ghetto Wal-Mart and this was the only thing closest to the color I needed and I only had a couple of bucks with me. Boy! It was soo worth the whole $3 I spent on it. At least, i think it was $3. I don't rememb...read moreer exactly how much it was. Anyway, I got my color in Smooch Proof and it came off so beautiful. It was kinda funny because it's like a giant magic marker. My niece thought I was using one (lol). My favorite part about this stain is that, it actually lives up to it's name! This is the ONLY product that I've come across that has done for me what the label and packaging promised. The label is called "Smooch Proof" and once it dried, it was smooch proof. And it states that it lasts for 16 hours. Now, I didn't actually count the minutes, but it did last me from the beginning of a work day all the way to the end of the day right when I was taking my makeup off at night, so I know it lasts for at least 12 hours, which is good enough for me. And most of all....IT ACTUALLY IS A LIP STAIN! It's not a gloss, not a lipstick, not a lipbalm, etc. It does stain your lips (but in a good way) and contrary to what others say, I love the scent. I'm going back to get more because I love this product and is my favorite from NYC. — 2 years, 7 months ago
    maivpajhuab | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  17 of 17 people said helpful

  • 11 Best and Worst Lip and Cheek Stains

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    top-notch drugstore brand stain!

    the color is very true to the pen's color, which i love. the tip makes it super easy to line along the edges of your lips and then fill in! i just wish it was a tiny bit less watery - sometimes the middle fades faster than the edges. — 2 years, 8 months ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend