L'Oréal Paris Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base Reviews

Back to L'Oreal Paris Studio Secrets Professional Magic Perfecting Base»
Sort by:
  • 5

    Dissapointed

    I purchased this product after reading so many great reviews, and also because I wanted a primer that was more affordable for my budget. I was in love with a much more expensive primer, but decided to give this one a shot. I'm not sure if I was spoiled from the first primer and expected all others to feel as great on my skin or if this product really isn't that great, but I was let down the firs...read moret time I smoothed this onto my skin. The first thing I noticed was that the primer left behind a little powdery residue on the skin that wasn't the most pleasant, And when I tried to spread it onto my face, it was difficult to distribute evenly, especially without pulling on the delicate skin around my eyes. I hate to bust anyone's bubble, but this just wasn't the primer for me. Also, the container that it comes in is tiny and it is not easy to get out of the container without being wasteful. — 2 years, 1 month ago
    EveryLittleThing | 45 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7

    different formula?

    I have been using this primer since it came out and have been very pleased until recently. Normally I would give it 9 stars, and it could be a 10 if they'd make a bigger jar. Foundation goes on smoother and lasts longer, and it helps with flakiness around blemishes. BUT I just bought probably my fifth jar of the stuff and the consistency is different. Usually the primer is fluffy and smooth, and t...read morehis batch I have is grainier and more dry. It's harder to spread on my face and doesn't give that nice silky feeling that makes foundation easy to apply like before. Has anyone else noticed a difference in formulation recently or do I have a bad jar? — 2 years, 3 months ago
    hesterrific | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love it

    I love this primer! it covered up my pores & evens out my skin. It also went on smoothly not greasy at all. I will buy it again. I only wish the tub was bigge r& it came in a pump. It is so worth the price. — 2 years, 3 months ago
    jola64 | 88 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Makeup Primers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    I was impressed

    I was surprised (pleasantly so!) at the texture of this primer as it's very thick and very smooth. A little definitely goes a long way (and good thing too, since the jar is so little). But wow, it was like I had a new complexion, the texture was so smooth, unlike other primers I've tried that feel a little bit slick. It made covering my acne scars a breeze, and my foundation stayed put. — 2 years, 4 months ago
    lizlemon | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    Love it!

    I've been using this product for almost a year now, I had never been the best with makeup application but when I finally started learning the "basics" I was looking for a primer that was overall inexpensive and easily accessible, while still being a great overall product. There is a reason I haven't changed to another primer! Yes, the container is small and I still don't know why they haven't chan...read moreged to a pump application instead, but besides that I love it. My foundation and powder glide over it exceptionally well and it can last through a whole work day in an industrial environment (I spend a lot of time with a respirator on!). At the end of the day my face still looks dewey and soft, no streaks or anything! My best advice would be to use a Q-tip or the back of your finger to scoop it out (in order to not get it under your nails) and to wait a few minutes for it to set before applying foundation. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    mckae90 | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    amazing primer

    Magic Perfecting Base is just that to me, MAGIC. The first time I tried it, I was hooked. Some of the other reviews have said that it makes their face feel smooth and that is spot on. My skin is so even after applying it and yes, a little goes a long way with this. I use it before putting on foundation or powder and notice that it helps them set so much better than on their own. I've also worn i...read moret on its own (just too lazy to put everything else on some days!) it works really well at minimizing my pores and evening my skin. The ONE and only complaint I have would have to be the price! It is too teeny tiney to be charging 10-13 dollars for. Not saying it isn't worth it but, the container could be a little bigger! My way around it is watching for sales, like when CVS or Walgreens have buy one get one 50% off & combining that with manufacturer's coupons that come in the paper at LEAST once a month. I got my mom hooked on it as well and we had to figure out a way to save money on them somehow! Anyway, this is a great skin product and really worth a try for anyone who is on the fence about it. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    mnqtvrs | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  10 of 11 people said helpful

  • 6

    An "Eh" product

    I bought this primer thinking it would be great. However, it doesn't really do much for my skin- it gives it a smoother finish, but I don't notice any minimizing of pores or anything. It does leave my skin soft, but that was not the reason I bought it. — 2 years, 11 months ago
    hardcorx247 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 3

    What's the hype about?

    I bought this because every review I read sang its praises. Unfortunately, I will not be joining this choir. When I use it alone, it is tolerable, but it's way too heavy as a primer, and it made everything look so cakey. Plus, it's very comedogenic; my pores hated me for subjecting them to this goop. I think Photo Finish Light is a much better buy. Not only is it an exponentially better product, but you get so much more, and the pump is better at dispensing exactly what you need. — 3 years ago
    D.Catherine | 40 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    Can't wear makeup without it!

    This product makes my skin so soft and even. It not only evens out my skin tone but it also evens out my skin texture filling in lines and other imperfections. I totally recommend it. The package is extremely small, but it is worth it. If you are thinking of buying it, just do it. — 3 years ago
    APaolaPereira | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 7 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Makeup Primers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    If only...

    Container shape and size make hard to get. Also how much do you use? Needs to be in a tube or better container. Make those changes and hello 10 stars! — 3 years, 3 months ago
    tiffanyevelyn | 83 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend