Maybelline New York Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner»
Sort by:
  • 8

    A keeper for me

    This is my first gel eyeliner product, so I was a little nervous trying it out. The reason I bought this was because my Maybelline pencil eyeliners were not gliding on well, and the tips kept breaking. This gel eyeliner does not do this. It goes on so smoothly. I do find that I have to do a second coat in order to make it a solid black line. It is not 100% smudge free, but it does stay very well f...read moreor a long day wear. It only smudges on the outer corner of my eye, which is where most eyeliners smudge for me. I am not a huge fan of the brush provided. I find that the bristles become too stiff after a few uses. Maybe cleaning them will solve that. Also the handle of the brush is a little short in my opinion. I bought a similar brush with a longer handle (it is an elf brush) to use instead. Overall, the product is good, precise, and worth keeping. — 4 months, 3 weeks ago
    XtineDanceFit | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Gel Eyeliner

    This is great when it's new but it dries out way too quickly. I think I have at least three pots of this that have dried out before I can finish them. It has great staying power. Stays put even on my older eyelids and the colors are great. I just wish that they would figure out a way to stop it from drying out. Admittedly I don't use eyeliner every day as I'm retired and have permanent eyeliner so...read more most days if I'm not going anywhere I don't use it. Conclusion - if you wear eyeliner daily and want something that doesn't smudge and stays put till you remove it, this is for you. — 11 months, 3 weeks ago
    harleygirl51 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Excellent budgeproof color.

    This liner is very black when it dries. The brush is quite good too. However, it dries out if you don't securely twist the lid. It lasts all day, until I remove my makeup at night. Most importantly, no raccoon eyes! — 11 months, 3 weeks ago
    dottiesj | 63 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Great at First

    This eyeliner when I first bought it was great: affordable, rich pigmentation, easy application with the brush, smooth defined line, etc. But, it started getting dry and crumbly really quickly, and excess product is still caked on the brush. Cleaning the brush has become a real chore. Also, now that it is drying out, while it is usable, one swipe gives me a spotty, uneven line, and I have to put o...read moren many layers. Also, cleaning up mistakes with this eyeliner is difficult, regardless of how long you have had the product. I would recommend only buying this liner if you feel like you have a great place to store it and don't plan on travelling with it. — 11 months, 4 weeks ago
    harleyquinn13 | 77 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Creamy and dark

    This is a really nice creamy gel liner, i love the tiny brush. It last a long long time, but after a while the gels dries up and its very difficult to work with. Ive had mine for about a year now, and still not half way done, and i use this 3 times a week, i need to replace. Will definitely buy again — 1 year, 6 months ago
    Kary26 | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Best eyeliner I've ever tried!

    I am 46 years old and have tried plenty of eyeliners. This one is perfect! Does not smudge, easy to layer to make more dramatic and lasts all day!! — 1 year, 8 months ago
    Nancy_Borisov | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    good gel liner

    this is a pretty good product. I personally don't like the brush that comes with it, so I bought a separate one. it dries out kind of fast, which sucks because I really do like the product. but it's nicely pigmented and is very black but it smudges quite easily. but I guess that's the risk you take with gel liners. it's alright for lining your top lid, but I personally like to use it for my bottom...read more water line and it's the best for that. it stays nearly all day and is very black which is nice for a dramatic smokey eye. — 1 year, 9 months ago
    kboo | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Workable & Long-Lasting

    I have tried so many different eye liners in the past year alone and I think I finally found my soul mate! My trek to find the perfect liner is a long & tiresome one, so I'll shorten it. I love to do cat eyes or kitten eyes and was looking for a liner that would be fairly easy for me to apply as well as long lasting. I tried liquid liner for awhile but found it to be a bit too difficult. Finally I...read more tried this one & it gave me the quick kitten eye I need most days (I have yet to go super dramatic w/ it but I'm fairly certain it will live up to the challenge). Also it stayed on through tears needing only a quick minor touch up on my kitten eyes. Also stays put for activities where your eyes may be closed for an extended period of time! ;) My only problem with it is that it is a bit too difficult to get off. Other than that it is a creamy miracle and it comes w/ a human sized applicator brush! — 1 year, 10 months ago
    jess_guess | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    First Batch A Fluke?

    Always smeared. Pot easily dried out even though consistently closed. Bought 2 pots when gel liners was just starting in the market. I like the brush. Maybe new batches has improved formulation, but I am not buying again...found better brands with real staying power. — 1 year, 10 months ago
    taylorsgems | 70 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"