Smashbox Halo Hydrating Perfecting Powder Reviews

Back to Smashbox Halo Hydrating Perfecting Powder»
Sort by:
  • 8

    Totally non- drying

    I usually stay away from powders cause of the drying effect it has on my skin,but I recently purchased this to wear over my tinted moisturizer for that 'low coverage' look,at the end of the day,my face was well hydrated,no dry patches,and no oiliness either,am totally sold on this ,would have given it more stars,but for one con in my opinion,I wished it added more of a glow to my face — 2 years, 5 months ago
    yetunde | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Best Powder around

    I love this powder. The colors are great and it feels great on my skin. I also like the packaging and this product lasts for a very long time. I use it everyday and only purchase 6 or 7 a year. I would recommend using a different brush because the one included in the package is too small and not very good quality — 2 years, 7 months ago
    queenb82 | 53 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    Best Powder Ever

    I have combination skin (oily t-zone, a couple of dry patches elsewhere, and some sun damage I'm concealing) and used to have to touch up my make-up every couple of hours at work, because my make-up (i tried mineral make-up, concealer + powder, then tried Foundation + powder) would slide off in the t-zone and dry up in the patchy areas. I tried several high-rated foundations and powders with the s...read moreame result. With Halo, though, the dry patches are no more and the oiliness has mostly dissipated. I can get through an entire shift (10 hours) without any touch-up other than lipgloss. About 5 hours application though, I pat my t-zone with a paper towel or toilet paper to get rid of shine around my nose and forehead, but very little make-up comes off. I remember doing this and afterwards staring at a beige towelette. That's probably too much info, but it might be helpful to you. Less is more with this product and it's worth the cost because I spent just as much on drugstore powders that didn't work as well and had to replace often. It has a very mild luminescent finish and makes my skin look amazing; I've received a ton of compliments since I started using this. People ask what I use on my face now. Moisturizing and long-lasting. I suggest mainly using this on t-zone and eye area, as it will diminish fine lines and plump these areas. Does not settle on top of skin, easy to blend--goes a long way. If this looks cakey, you are applying way too much. It's not like other powders I've used; you only need a tiny amount and it's lasts a long time. It's not a concealer, but the...Best. Powder. Ever. I have light/medium skin. I use Smashbox's (SB's) hydrating primer (blue one), SB's15-hr wear foundation, SB's Halo, SB's blush/bronzer, Urban Decay's (UD) Naked Lipliner, and SB's lipgloss, UD Bourbon 24/7 eyeliner, and Lancome or UD's Curling mascara. Best combination for me. Hope this helps. — 2 years, 8 months ago
    jennpoo | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 9 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Face Powders

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Great Great Powder

    Awesome staying powder! My only advice would be to go and buy it in person first ,I purchased the medium and it was way way to dark for my complexion, i did order online though, but it gives great coverage without looking like your caked on — 2 years, 8 months ago
    mari_belle_bones | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    Great

    It's expensive but I love this product. You only have to use a very small amount and it feels great on my face. Very smooth. I don't like the brush it comes with, I use my kabuki brush instead. I would buy this again. — 2 years, 9 months ago
    krissykross | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    One of the best powders

    Good powder, I love the packaging and it made my skin really soft, I just found that sometimes it fell into my pores and it was a little expensive. A comparable inexpensive product is the physician's formula mineral powder — 2 years, 10 months ago
    Reviewallthethings | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    Great Setting Powder

    I cannot use this alone as a foundation but, love it for setting my makeup because it plumps up my fine lines especially around the eyes. Love that it has lots of minerals and amino acids. — 2 years, 11 months ago
    ashleygaa | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    Too pricey

    I really like this product- it has a nice texture, it's long lasting, and looks great, but it's just not worth the price for me. — 3 years, 5 months ago
    gg2qt4me | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    So Far, So Good

    I've only been wearing this for a few days, but I'm very pleased so far. I'm a new convert to the mineral makeup craze, and this is the 3rd product I've tried. I started with Loreal True Match Naturale and found it to be a fantastic skin color match, but a bit heavy looking. Then I went to the Bare Minerals Original formula when a Sephora rep steered me away from Smashbox and towards Bare Miner...read moreals. I also let her - against my better judgement - direct me a shade darker than I would have normally chosen. I thought maybe she knew better, but the Bare Minerals ended up looking like a mask on me and never would blend at the jaw line. To use up the product, I mixed it with my remaining Loreal powder. Either way, I did not find Bare Minerals to be one bit better than Loreal. Now wearing Smashbox Halo for a few days and it's definitely the best of the three. Good skincolor match (though Loreal still trumps on skincolor match...at least for my extremely fair skin). Last all day, no complaints really. I'm curious about the "gold" element and if it will really benefit my skin in the long term. I wear Hourglass mineral primer, so who knows if the gold ever reaches my skin anyway? For now, happy with Smashbox Halo, and DON'T think the packaging is gimmicky in any way - LOVE the shaving fresh aspect of the compact! — 3 years, 8 months ago
    shimmergurl | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Face Powders

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    SMASHBOX HALO HYDRATING PERFECTING POWDER

    The name says it all...This is the best power I have ever used. I use it everyday over my foundation, it give such a nice glow to the skin not to mention removing shine, helping hide fine lines, while at the same time hydrating the skin. No breakouts....and perfect for any age. Just try it and your never go back to any other powder. — 3 years, 11 months ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend