DHC Velvet Skin Coat Reviews

Back to DHC Velvet Skin Coat»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Good primer

    I have to say that this product lives up to its name. the texture is velvet smooth and I was able to cover my skin well, and the make up easy to apply afterwards. I used it first time for our pictures at sears and my skin looks flawless, and that is not the case in real life. I have some acne scars, and open pores that show up and oily t-zone. but it covered those bases. I was happy with the results. My Tip. Cleanse + exploliate moisturize prime — 2 years, 6 months ago
    kez_shay | 24 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    DHC Velvet Skin Coat

    I recently bought some of the DHC line of skincare, and the Velvet Skin Coat is one of them. This primer is wonderful...light, smooth and since I don'tuse foundation this serves as my one and only face cover along with some translucent powder, I ordered another so I don't run out! I also found that it works great as a primer of my eyelids. It lasts quite a while for me, and has become part of my everyday routine. Love it!! — 2 years, 11 months ago
    cleo130 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Smoothes, Evens, No Breakouts

    Every other primer and filler I have used has sat on my skin like cold patch in a pothole, and ended up making me break out. This doesn't. It makes your skin feel like velvet, and no zits ! A must when I want to look my best. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    ellen_boyle | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Primers for Long-Lasting Eye Makeup

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Just like its name...

    I received a sample with my catalog, was reluctant to try it, because I'm leery of silicone-based primers. I have very oily skin that's prone to blackheads on the nose, and breakouts on the forehead. I decided to give it a shot, after applying my sunscreen (which I love, but it does make my skin a bit shiny-looking), and it immediately mattified my face and didn't react with the sunscreen by pil...read moreling or flaking. It made my face look almost poreless is the only word I can use to describe it. I applied a light dusting of mineral makeup over it and definitely noticed that the Velvet Skin Coat "grabbed" on to the makeup, giving me a more polished look. It definitely helped with oiliness; I wouldn't say that it eliminated shine breakthrough entirely (which is why I'm not giving it 10 stars), but it definitely delayed the dreaded shiny nose and forehead for a bit longer than if my skin had been bare. I've used my sample packet until it was empty -- about 3 times -- and didn't experience any breakouts or increased blackheads, so I placed an order for a full-sized product. — 3 years, 6 months ago
    sunlee | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    Great for hiding pores

    Have used this for many years under my mineral make-up. It is awesome for hiding pores, especially the ones on my nose. Wouldn't be without it. Little pricey but lasts a long time (you only need a little) so worth the cost. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    skudela | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    great stuff

    this stuff is great. it makes your face as smooth as it will ever be. i will never use anything else it would be a waste of time looking for better treatments. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    mmiller111883 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    Great for soothing bumpy skin

    I read lots of primer reviews and tried several, but was so happy with the results from a sample of this that I was willing to wait the extra time to order it by mail. This primer smooths any roughness or bumps due to acne scars, etc... and turns skin to velvet. It doesn't seem to be drying or oily. I recommend it! — 5 years, 6 months ago
    Me2 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    I'm hooked!

    I received a sample of DHC Velvet skin coat and let me just say, the were not kdding. My skin felt like velvet. No exaggeration, I couldn't stop touching my face! Make you not want to put anything else on your face. I'm ordering it now. — 5 years, 10 months ago
    mariebeers | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    Flawless Skin Every Time

    Wow! This is the absolute best product for people who want flawless skin. It's a bit odd to use at first. It's like rubbing velvet over your skin. But believe me, a little bit goes a long way. It works best for me under my base makeup. I have very deep pores around my t-zone area, especially on my nose. This helps to keep those areas looking flawless. I've also found this works great under...read more your makeup in areas where you have blemishes, scabbed over areas, or dry rough patches. It helps to keep makeup from caking up in those areas. If there was one product I couldn't live without outside of my regular makeup routine, this is it! — 5 years, 10 months ago
    saifai | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Primers for Long-Lasting Eye Makeup

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    Not for oily skin

    I am always on the quest for the perfect oil control makeup primer and this product definitely doesn't control oil. I do have to admit that my makeup went on very smoothly compared to other primers, but again it didn't do anythinf for control of excess oil. It would probably work wonderful for someone with normal skin, but if I had normal skin I wouldn't use a primer. To be fair I don't think this...read more product actually says its for oil control, but I just don't want anybody wasting their money if they are looking an oil control primer. — 5 years, 10 months ago
    tricia2008 | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 9 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend