Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Cream+ Broad Spectrum SPF 50+ Reviews

Back to Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Cream+ Broad Spectrum SPF 50+»
Sort by:
  • 8

    Great protection for my face =)

    I have post-acne marks and I'm trying everything I can to prevent them from getting darker. This sun cream is really great for protecting my face. I haven't burned from using this, nor have I gotten allergic reactions (which is common for me with different sunscreens). It's waterproof, meaning that it will last longer than most other sunscreens. And surprisingly, I don't look really pale after a...read morepplying it. It's a little bit on the pricey side, but I love it. There are only two downsides to it, in my opinion. First, it's difficult for me to apply my liquid foundation over it, even when I put primer on. The sunscreen mattifies your skin (which is great since i have an oily t-zone) but using a matte foundation with it makes it really difficult for the foundation to glide on your face. The other downside is that I have to use an oil cleanser to take it off. I don't think this is too bad, considering that I would rather have great protection than skip out on oil cleansing. — 5 years, 1 month ago
    yaranas | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    Heavy duty stuff that may be too heavy

    I recently tried a sample of this sunscreen cream, and I mostly approve. The consistency is a good and a bad thing. Good because it stays put and really is sweat and water resistant. Bad because it is thick and heavy, making application a bit taxing and uneven. In my opinion, for the price you pay, you could get another quality sunscreen for less and save yourself some money. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    stylishchic | 64 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Great!

    This is the best stuff. I was afraid it would feel greasy since I have super oily skin but it feels really light. Great for those days when you're outside for a long period of time! — 5 years, 7 months ago
    lefty84 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 11 Best Sunscreens for Your Face

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Long-LAsting and Moisturizing

    OUch! The price tag hurts . . . but you get what you pay for with this product. I only have to apply it ONCE, and it stays put all day. The bonus is that it acts as a moisturizer, too, so i can justify the high price . . . for the summer, at least. — 5 years, 7 months ago
    jazzster | 15 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    the best high protection facial sunscreen out there

    I have pigmentation issues on my face, and require a high SPF, so I apply this under my makeup year-around. Although it is a cream formulation, I find that it is not too thick or greasy at all. I just wait several minutes after I apply this to allow it to dry a bit before I apply primer and foundation. It smoothes on very easily and feels lightweight, while the scent is clean and not sunscreen-...read morey, which is a plus. Best of all, it does not leave behind a white residue as long as you blend it in well. Also, at the end of the day, I can easily remove every last trace with makeup remover wipes, followed by a gentle cleanser. This is by far my favorite facial sunscreen, and the tube is generously sized, so it is well worth the money. — 5 years, 10 months ago
    CKim | 42 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 9

    I prefer the lotion version of this sunscreen

    This sunscreen in cream version is what I purchased initially before learning there was a "lotion" version of the same brand which is what I prefer. The pros: Protects from both UVA/UVB rays, very water/sweat resistant, non irritating, moisturizing and doesn't cause me to break out. Cons: Feels to heavy on the face and a bit hard to blend. Upon finding out there was a lotion version...read more, I gave this one to my mom and bought the lotion one for myself which, to me, is much better consistency wise because it's much more liquid and easier to blend. Both versions dry to a semi-matte finish and both contain the same amount of sun protection ingredients. If you have dry skin, this might be a more suitable option than the lotion version because this is a bit more moisturizing but for me, I prefer a "drier"and lighter consistency. — 6 years, 5 months ago
    cheetah11 | 154 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 8 people said helpful

  • 18 Best and Worst Sunscreens

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    My all time favorite sunscreen

    I love this sunscreen because it gives great protection, isn't greasy or sticky, doesn't have a weird or beachy smell, and also doesn't leave a white film on the skin. I love it! — 6 years, 5 months ago
    RockvilleGirl | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    Great, but not as great as the lotion version

    I am a sunscreen fanatic - I've tried virtually every sunscreen out there. I bought both this cream and the lotion version, but the lotion won out and I will be returning this one. This is probably very good for sensitive skin; it worked well when I was on retinol. The white cast that all sunscreens have isn't as visible with this one, and the scent is fantastic - it reminds me of xylitol, the fre...read moreshening ingredient in chewing gum. However, the lotion version is a lot cheaper considering that you get one more ounce, and is lighter and more matte. This one takes some time to dry, so it's great if you want to put liquid foundation over it, but not as much if you wear a powder foundation, such as Bareminerals, which can cake if the product beneath is too sticky. The PA rating is +++, which means that this sunscreen is very effective at blocking aging, wrinkle-causing UVA rays in addition to burning UVB rays indicated by the SPF rating. — 6 years, 6 months ago
    singasong87 | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 9

    Favorite heavy-Duty Sunscreen

    I bought this for a trip to Hawaii, hoping to keep the melasma on my face at bay in the intense sun and also hoping it would stand up to a lot of swimming and snorkeling. This sunscreen really delivered! So, for the good: I liked the smoothness of this - it goes on nicely, rubs in, doesn't have an icky white cast even though it is high SPF. I can easily apply makeup on top of this. My skin i...read mores actually less oily when using this - and the makeup ends up staying better with less oil breakthrough. When using this more for outdoors (swimming etc) it totally holds up in the water. I would use this in the morning and swim much of the day and NEVER burn and hardly even get any color on my face! If you want serious protection this is the sunscreen for you. It really holds up. And I have no issues with breaking out from this either. The not-so-perfect: I actually had a little trouble with the fragrance in this for about the first three days - I kept sneezing! The fragrance is nice, I just didn't tolerate it well at first. But this problem stopped after those first days and I have not experienced it since. Someone particularly sensitive to fragrance might have trouble though. The only other issue is that you really need to take this off at night with a cleansing oil. It is very tenacious, which is good, but oil is the only thing that will completely take it off. I use DHC olive oil cleanser and there are other good brands of cleansing oil that do the job. — 6 years, 10 months ago
    rkruppa | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 7 people said helpful

  • 11 Best Sunscreens for Your Face

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Great for a pale gal

    This sunscreen is the best! I am very pale and burn very easily. Shiseido really know how to make sunscreen. I put this on like I am supposed to and I NEVER burn! — 7 years ago
    TiffanyR13 | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend