Basis Cleaner Clean Face Wash Reviews

Back to Basis Cleaner Clean Face Wash»
Sort by:
  • 7

    Terrible packaging, decent product.

    As someone breaking into the skincare world, I wanted to go with a gentle cleanser that gave me a bang for a buck. I have combination skin: an oily T-zone and dry cheeks. To top it all off, my skin is also sensitive and acne-prone. I really liked the cool (but not cooling) sensation of the gel sliding onto my face, and this cleanser is the type to leave you with that taut, squeaky-clean feeling. T...read morehis product works much better in the shower than simply slapping your face with water beforehand. If you don't use this in the shower, it leaves a residue on your face that simply doesn't feel clean. Rather, you feel like you have soap stuck to your face, which isn't very pleasant. This made it a little inconvenient for those late nights as a high school junior, but it was very easy on the wallet. I used a dime-sized amount nightly, and it lasted me six months. $5 for 6 months is a pretty darn good deal. Results didn't stack up nearly as well as I would have hoped. While the cleanser worked brilliantly in the first month, I quickly plateau-ed, and the cleanser stopped doing anything for my skin, and the fact that the bottle just never seemed to run out became a nuisance instead of a benefit. This cleanser would work better in conjunction with another - that is to say, switch out the cleanser every 2 months. That also said, the lid of the bottle I purchased was very flimsy, and the fact that it worked better in the shower made for slippery hands. The first time I dropped the tube, the lid broke in half. The second time, the remaining part of the lid broke in half again, and product just kept oozing out (and still lasted 6 months! I guess that's a true testament to its shelf life). By the time I used up the bottle, the lid was all but shattered. A disappointing package for an otherwise okay product. — 3 years, 5 months ago
    ivviezhu | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    AMAZING

    I adore this amazingly affordable product, it washes away all the make-up the way that i think even make-up remover cant even do better! it leaves skin clean without drying out. Bottom line: a must have!!!! — 3 years, 10 months ago
    cassie_van | 13 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 9 people said helpful

  • 10

    Great face wash and cheap!

    I love this face wash! It doesn't dry out my face, it creates a nice lather, removes my make up and cleanss my face. It is also pretty cheap! — 4 years ago
    MrsFen | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 7 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Face Cleansing Towelettes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    This stuff is WONDERFUL

    I have sensitive skin, I tried so many products marked for sensitive skin that failed horrible, but this and the sensitive skin bar I can't live w/o — 4 years ago
    ashley_bray | 18 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    LOVE IT!!

    I love this product! I tried it several months ago when I was looking for something new, just to change up my routine, maybe spend a little less than I did on Neutrogena's Fresh Foaming Cleanser (which is also great, btw). And I found ... TA DA! The ultimate cleanser! Love the light fragrance (even my boyfriend commented on it!), rinses away really easily, lathers wonderfully, removes all kinds...read more of makeup, dirt, sweat, oil you name it, this will clean it! All without over-drying my combination skin. And I only need a little drop of it to clean my face - it lasts for a really long time, making it an even better buy than it would seem. Don't know why I never heard of this, or see anything else by Basis, but if they stop making this, I'll be crushed. Absolutely crushed. Even my mother, who has extremely sensitive dry skin (and is in her early 60s so has other issues with her skin), loves this after she used some of mine on vacation. For her it was a little too drying for regular use, but she wanted to know if they made a sensitive/dry skin version, she liked it so much. Can't beat it, as far as I'm concerned. — 4 years, 2 months ago
    onylynx | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  11 of 12 people said helpful

  • 8

    Great stuff!

    This is a pretty good product. It has not totally gotten rid of my acne, but it has evened out my complexion and it does not irritate or dry out my face. I love the way it feels when it lathers up on my face. Very nice!! — 4 years, 6 months ago
    Deena551 | 42 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 18 Best Face Cleansers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    bright

    doesnt clear acne but does make skin bright — 4 years, 7 months ago
    stephanieiscool | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 9

    Amazing

    I decided to pick this up one day at Publix while grocery shopping because I remembered reading on totalbeauty that i should use a gel cleanser for my skin type. So I got it on sale for like 5$ and after 3 uses the little break outs i had for MONTHS were gone. Since i've been using it i've only gotten one pimple and it's been around 3months now. It does however make me face still feel slightly oil...read morey until i use toner, but at least it stays clear :] i love this cleanser and i dont think ill be changing anytime soon. — 4 years, 7 months ago
    nikitaaa | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Gentle but effective

    Ive been using this product for years. I've tried other but nothing has came close to my love for this face wash. I have normal skin because of this product. Doesn't dry out or make my skin oily. takes off makeup great, even eye makeup! — 4 years, 9 months ago
    gogirl82 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Face Cleansing Towelettes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Good Cleanser, But...

    I feel like I have to exfoliate more when I use this face wash, because it feels slimy and also kind of leaves a film on my face. I can say that it is very gentle, did not make my combo skin break out, but sucked at removing makeup. However.....I think that could possibly be attributed to the water...we have well water and perhaps this cleanser doesn't mix with the soft (the added water softener) water very well. — 4 years, 9 months ago
    tinatinytuna | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 5 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend