the Balm Stainiac Tinted Gel Blush Reviews

Back to the Balm Stainiac Tinted Gel Blush»
Sort by:
  • 19 Best Blushes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    Just egh

    I got this as a sample in my October 2013 Birchbox. I've only tried it on my lips and not sure if I'll try it as a blush (I prefer pinks as blush). It made my lips look like I had just drank a bunch of red Koolaid. As it faded off my lips it stained the dryer spots on the insides of my lips a dark red while the rest of the color completely faded off the rest of my lips....not a good look. I was happy that I got to try this product but it is not something that I would purchase. — 11 months, 1 week ago
    kimmy1480 | 99 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Disappointing- bad finish and difficult to apply

    I received a mini version of Stainiac in one of my Birchboxes last year. After trying it several times I am sadly let down. First, the product is very difficult to apply evenly. With the first coat the finish is patchy and uneven. You CAN build up to an even finish but it will take you at least 3 coats and by then the color is REALLY intense and not super wearable for every day. Also the texture i...read mores weird and uncomfortable. It feels drying, sticky and tight. You can't put a gloss or balm over it because it pushes the product around and messes everything up. The taste is gross, very strong and unpleasant. I have few good things to say about Stainiac. I had high hopes, and the color is pretty but it's too much work and too many cons to suffice for the finished effect. — 1 year, 5 months ago
    AlexandraM19 | 53 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    I Adore It!

    I got a sample size of this in the shade "beauty queen". It is a cherry red color and is water-based. It almost feels like a watery gel-like consistency when applied. The color is fairly rich so it's a good idea to spread it well to distribute the color. You can't exactly purse and rub your lips together as you would with a lipstick. Once applied, it stays put very well, and it smooths out the lip...read mores; I didn't have any dryness over time while it was on. When applied at first though, I felt a tingly sensation on my lips, not sure if anyone else experienced that too. Maybe it has some lip plumping ingredients because I did notice that after applying this stain, my lips stayed hydrated and looked slightly fuller than usual. Since I didn't expect this to be a lip plumping product, that was a pleasant surprise! I haven't tried it on my cheeks yet so I don't know if I would expect a tingly sensation there, that would be interesting. What if it plumped up the cheeks? Hahaha, if that were the case, then I would probably use this on my cheeks when I get old, safer alternative to botox, perhaps..? Overall, I really love this stain! I like it a lot more than Covergirl lip stains. The only downside for me is the price - $17! Other than that, I love the texture, and since it's water based, I have ample time to clean up any mistakes before the stain sets in. The color is gorgeous, and I can see that it really is flattering on all skin tones. You can apply it generously to bring out the rich red color if you have a darker skin tone, or apply it lightly if you have a fair skin tone with light colored lips. I wasn't sure how this would show up for me since I have naturally pigmented lips, but I simply loved the final look! It comes in two other shades, a rosy pink and a soft peach one. Do buy it if your budget allows, or at least get a sample. I got hooked! — 1 year, 9 months ago
    Chantilly | 27 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  13 of 27 people said helpful

  • 8

    Great for lips!

    I'm not a big fan of products that you can use different ways (ex.] cheek/lip), so I only used this as a lip stain. I love this if I am going for a naturally rosy lip! I put it all over my lips, wait for about 30 seconds, and then blot on a tissue and it gives me the most gorgeous color! I haven't used it on my cheeks yet, but hopefully I'll love it as much as I love it on my lips! — 2 years, 1 month ago
    LaurBee | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 9 people said helpful

  • 10

    LOVE this in Beauty Queen!

    Let me tell you, I have to REALLY love a product to take the time to write a review about it, and I REALLY love this lipstain. The only other lipstain I have tried is the Revlon lipstain (the marker, not the new kissable lipstain/balm stuff). Revlon's lipstain dried out my lips terribly, and the color wasn't easy for me distribute. It cost about $8, but for an additional $10, the Stainiac lip/chee...read morek stain is most definitely the better, in more ways than one. I have this stain in Beauty Queen, a berry/hot pink. The packaging is like that of any normal lipgloss, with an applicator wand attached to the lid and a thin tube for the product. This stain is pleasantly thin, so I'm sure it will last me a while. It's only necessary to apply one or two dabs of stain on the apple of your cheek for plenty of color, and I just smear/dab it across my cheeks. For my lips, I just swipe the applicator across my bottom lip, rub them together, then smooth it out with my fingers if needed. It's really smooth & easy to apply, and it doesn't appear blotchy on me at all! When I first got it, I tried it on that night because I was so excited to try it. I forgot to try to wash it off, but I woke up the next morning and it still looked like I had just put it on! I love this so much that I hope to be able to try it in Prom Queen, the lighter pink version of it. It also comes in Homecoming Queen, which is a peachy-orange. I highly recommend this product, and it is now one of my beauty bag staples! — 2 years, 3 months ago
    mynameisAllisonD | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 12 people said helpful

  • 10

    Stainiac in beauty queen

    I love love love this as a blush. It gives the perfect hint of color. As a lip stain, I'm not too crazy about it. It doesn't last near as long as I woul like a "stain" to last on my lips but I am a lip balm fanatic so that probably doesn't help. But I recommend as a blush. — 2 years, 3 months ago
    Ahart12 | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 7 people said helpful

  • 19 Best Blushes

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Really liked this as a lip stain! (Shade: "Beauty Queen")

    I've purchased other gel lip and cheek stains, as well as other lip stains, with mixed results so I wasn't sure about this one. But I'm so glad I had the opportunity to sample this in this month's Birchbox! Being super-fair-skinned the color "Beauty Queen" looked frighteningly bright in the tube, but it went on sheer and was the perfect pink. Not a baby pale or beige pink, but a fun, fresh pink wi...read moreth just enough fucshia to make it kicky (but not in the least bit garish). I liked that the product is buildable and is easily blendable with a longer drying time than the other brands I'd tried...It made the product feel more controllable. On my lips it left a matte finish as expected--"Beauty Queen" gave my lips the color I might get after eating beets or cherries, which was nice but a little too matte--so I topped with a little clear gloss by Smashbox and it was perfect. This will be one of my summer go-to's, especially for lips. — 2 years, 3 months ago
    LAGlamRGrl | 39 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend