MAC Paint Pot Reviews

Back to MAC Paint Pot»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Eye primer + casual day shadow

    I have this in Painterly (a bit lighter than my fair skin) and Groundwork (a medium warm brown). They work great as eyeshadow primers... no creasing, and my eyeshadow always looks just as good after a long day as when I put it on in the morning! Sometimes if I'm just having a lazy day I'll swipe some Groundwork on my lids and it looks pretty good by itself. — 3 years, 5 months ago
    _elizabeth_ | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 2

    Meh.

    I don't wear a lot of coloured eyeshadows, however I do like for the pigment to somewhat show on my skin. So I went to MAC, they sold me "Painterly" aka "Beige." Keep in mind, I'm a little bit darker, so when I put it on my lids - I looked sick. I found that it still creased, and dramatically dulled, and practically changed the colours of my eyeshadows. It did in fact prime my eyes, and did HEL...read moreP keep some colour on, however not to my expectations, and still found that i had bag under my eyes after a few hours. I went back to MAC, and they said that I have to get a couple of different paint pots to match my eyeshadow, when all I wanted was a generic primer. Some of their other paint pots are nice....I just don't think the product works that great. I've tried a few primers, and they've worked better (Urban Decay Primer Potion) — 3 years, 6 months ago
    bourdie_1979 | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    Awesomeness in a jar!

    I only own one paint pot and it's in Soft Ocre. I use everyday. I have naturally oily eyelids, but whit this, my eyeshadow will not crease at all! I love it. — 3 years, 6 months ago
    SpicyLatina | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Eye Shadows

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Very creamy

    I have this product in Soft Orche, Groundwork and Blackground (which I returned). Soft Orche and Groundwork are very creamy and easy to blend. Blackground, however, is creamy but much harder to blend out and work with. I use these on top of UDPP so that the shadows can have something to cling on to. Soft Orche works very well to neutralize my lids and give me an even base to work with. You have to...read more be careful with dry patches on your lids though because these will accentuate them. I have oily lids and these alone will not serve as a good base. That is why I use these with UDPP. I think the price is pretty reasonable with the amount of product that you get (I can only wish that the MUFE Aqua Cream is around the same price). I wish Mac sells them in a smaller pot though to prevent drying out of unused product. Overall, I would by these again. — 3 years, 7 months ago
    miss_t_goofy | 34 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 8

    Nice primer if you don't have oily lids

    I have the paint pot in painterly. It is a nice base color and it does keep my eyeshadow from creasing for a while, but my eyeshadow is definitely creased at the end of a 9 hour work day. I would say if you have normal to dry skin, these would work great as a primer though. What I usually do is put down a small amount of Urban Decay Primer Potion just on the lid part and then put the paint pot ...read moreon top from lashline to browbone and this will keep the eyeshadow on all day with no creasing. Even the UDPP will sometimes crease by itself on me if I'm having a really oily day, but the combination of both is like armor for my eyeshadow! — 3 years, 8 months ago
    addictofbeauty | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good cream shadows

    I have Bare Study, a pale gold shimmer shade with a hint of pink. I use it as a brow bone highlighter, or under light brown eyeshadows to give them a little more oomph. It's pigmented and soft, but a little finicky during application. — 3 years, 10 months ago
    idahogirl | 98 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 8

    This Shade: Groundwork: Is great!

    I love paintpots. They are very easy to apply and they do not hurt when you apply it. The colour of the one I had: groundwork is one of my favourites. It really pops and makes people with darker skin's (tan) eyelids glow. It is great! (I find that other eye shadows hurt to apply. It also depends ALOT on the brush you use.) — 3 years, 11 months ago
    daniele_kuhn | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good Base

    This makes for an excellent base but not necessary. Excellent for nude eyes. — 4 years, 1 month ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 7

    makes my eyeshadows stay in place

    Yes these are very nice and I have mine in bare study, but I do notice that when I put it on my eyelids it can look kind of drying if I don't put on concealer beforehand. Some may use this on the brow bone by itself, but I just use it as the base for my eyeshadow. Now when it comes to that, it gives great staying power and really brings out the colors in my eyeshadows. It's really weird because it...read more looks so beautiful on my hand but once I try to put it on my eyelid it looks different. Maybe it's just me? — 4 years, 7 months ago
    beatles0587 | 75 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Eye Shadows

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    i don't believe the hype

    i had this in the color "painterly," and i wasn't impressed with it. it CREASED like crazy on my eyelids after only about 2 or 3 hours and doesn't particularly help my eyeshadows appear more vibrant or intense. it felt that it had a slight pinkish undertone to it, which i don't like on my yellow undertoned skin. it looks heavy on my lids and very fake and cakey. it's not easy to blend ou...read moret (the urban decay primer potion blends so smoothly). instead, what works for me is using the revlon age defying moisturizing concealer and urban decay primer potion on top. for me, it works better than using the paintpot. never gonna buy a paintpot again — 4 years, 7 months ago
    angelcake77 | 90 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend