PMD Personal Microderm Reviews

Back to PMD Personal Microderm»
Sort by:
  • 6

    so cool!

    Received one of these to review and was so excited to try it. My skin has been changing as I get older, I think hormonal changes have done me in. Dry scaly patches and such, so I was very curious if these treatments would help. I used it the very next day after I received it with the mildest tip. As recommended I washed and let my skin dry before using. I wondered if my face would react to the ...read moreabrasion, but it didn't. I used witch hazel as a tonic, and yes to blueberries night cream. The next day, my skin felt so smooth and soft and like truly clean! The next treatment a week later I used the tip that was a little stronger because I was impatient to wait another week. This time I had a couple of flare ups but I probably stepped up too soon. I'm interested to see how my skin responds after 6 months. I think it makes a real difference, and will continue to use it. Tips need to be replaced after 4 uses I think. Overall I'm really happy with and hope to check in after a few months. — 9 months, 4 weeks ago
    BrooklynBeka | 66 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great product!

    I have very oily skin and have had acne problems since high school (although it's much better to manage now), and this product definitely helped! — 9 months, 4 weeks ago
    jessielou910 | 74 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 5

    Skin Smoothing, Not Much More

    I received the PMD from Total Beauty to try out and review. I had never used any kind of microdermabrasion tool or received any professional service before. I am 35 years old with dry skin, beginning to show fine lines near my eyes and more defined lines on my forehead. I would say I have medium sized pores. I was excited to try this tool in hopes of better moisturization, pore size reduction ...read moreand fading of fine lines. I watched the DVD and read all instructions. I did one full-pass on my face and neck with the training disc. It was fine, no irritation. So I did a full treatment that same evening with the sensitive/blue disc, as directed. It was pretty easy to use and comfortable to hold; it's a little loud, but not bad. I wish the DVD and instructions would have shown how to use this on my nose (where my pores show the most) and forehead; that is more difficult. I found it's easier to turn sideways when doing my forehead so I can follow the contour with the device. The nose is pretty much impossible to do, so I didn't spend much time on that. I had no irritation from the process. I don't use toner, so just wiped my face clean afterwards and moisturized. My face felt smoother right away. I did not see any brightness or change in fine lines or pore size. A week later, as directed, I used it again, with the same blue disc. I had the same results. My skin still feels pretty smooth, but it has always been generally smooth to begin with. Still no improvement in tone, pore size or brightness. I will continue to use this product. For my next treatment, I will move up to the next disc to see if I get any better results. And, I look forward to trying this out on my feet. I personally would never pay the price to buy one of these, but since it was given to me, I'll continue to use it. If my fine lines ever fade, I will update this review or write a new one. — 9 months, 4 weeks ago
    jayboo5 | 71 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Makeup Tools

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Happy- it's as powerful as salon treatments!

    Several years ago I had microdermabrasion treatments done at a fine salon, and I really liked the way in which it smoothed my skin and got it as close to flawless as possible. I'm 54, & while my skin looks better than that of many of my peers (which I, frankly, chalk up to genetics, as my mom is 91 and looks 70 (LOL), and I have spent literally decades living and working in the sun), I do have a n...read moreumber of aggravating issues that microdermabrasion can successfully tackle, such as forehead and “11” lines between my brows, fine , “laugh” lines, and sun damage/discoloration. (I don’t think it will tackle gravity or weight gain, however… LOL) As there is no spa anywhere near when I live now in rural West Virginia, I was Very happy to find the PMD, although I truly didn't think it would be as powerful as it is, as I have never had an “at home” product or treatment be anywhere near as effective as its spa or salon counterpart! But the PMD definitely IS a powerful little machine, and you really MUST follow the directions! Like many others, I usually don’t take the time to read instructions, but this time I actually took the few minutes to watch the enclosed CD and read the instruction booklet VERY carefully, and I also went on the PMD website and looked at everything there, and I’m glad I did. Microdermabrasion is just that: abrasion. It’s super-duper exfoliation, and you need to be careful that you don’t over-abrade your face. You are, essentially, lightly damaging the skin so new skin and collagen can form, and you need to do this evenly and carefully. The first thing you do is clean your skin, and then make sure it’s totally dry before using the PMD, so you don’t want to use a greasy or oily cleanser. The PMD is easy to hold, and it comes with interchangeable exfoliating discs: a small one for the face and a slightly larger one for the body. The discs are covered with aluminum oxide crystals, which essentially “sandpaper” your skin, and the device’s suction pulls off the dead skin cells. The facial tip is truly tiny, so you have to use the machine to make “stripes” that cover your face and neck, and while you want to make sure you cover all of your face and neck, you also want to be careful not to go over the same place more than twice. I learned to use the machine by starting, as instructed, with the white “training” disc (which does almost no abrasion), and did my first treatments with the “sensitive” blue disc. Also included with the machine are “medium” green discs, which you can use after your skin becomes accustomed to the blue discs. I have used the PMD twice so far, over my entire face, neck, and upper chest, and got the hang of it by the end of my first treatment, so it’s truly not hard to master. It took me a few minutes to figure out how best to hold it to make sure it was sucking smoothly and evenly as I used it, and while the guide says to use it with upward strokes, I found it easier to do using a downward motion. You’ll hear the happy suction noise when it’s making correct contact and sucking off the dead skin, and the trick is to stretch your skin with your other hand to keep that suction and keep the PMD moving smoothly over your face- you do not want it to hover on any one place or you can get an abrasion. I found that on the rounded parts of my face- especially my nose- it was impossible to do a successfully sucking “stripe” with the machine, so I wound up doing lots of little suction “bursts” to cover the area, which worked fine. A few minutes after I finished my treatments I found my face a bit pink in spots, but I knew that was to be expected, and as it wasn't painful, I knew I hadn't overdone it, and I wasn't worried. The toner I put on immediately following the treatment stung a bit for a second or two, which was to be expected, and I followed it immediately with moisturizer, as is recommended, which was soothing. The machine is easy to use and the tips are easy to switch out. To date I have used the PMD twice- once a week, as instructed- with the blue “sensitive” discs, and it definitely does leave my skin smoother. (And because it does, one is tempted to use it more frequently than is recommended, but for once I am being a good girl, following the directions, and NOT doing that!) While I haven’t seen any dramatic transformation yet (I still look 54 LOL), my skin IS smoother, and I am definitely going to continue using it weekly, something I could never do when microdermabrasion meant going to a salon. While I started out using a facial cleanser and anti-aging moisturizer I had on hand, I decided to order the PMD Starter Kit, which includes their Cleanser, Toner, and Moisturizer, as well as a set of blue replacement discs (each disc is supposedly only good for two treatments, but I think I’ll be able to eke more use from them that), as I want to give this great little machine a real shot at transforming my skin, and I also want to start using it on my hands. And as I understand that serums, masks, and moisturizers are much more readily absorbed following microdermabrasion, I’m also planning on slathering my face with a mask of manukah honey with bee venom after my next treatment! — 9 months, 4 weeks ago
    elisse | 61 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    soft smooth skin after 1 treatment!

    Skin background: I suffered from severe acne for the past 2 years until late last month I finally found out the culprit of my acne,it was all the SILICONE in all of the skincare I was using. The majority of people do not have sensitivity to silicone but I'm one of the unfortunate. Now that I got my acne under control I still have lots of dark red hyperpigmentation and dry flaky spots. I own a cla...read morerisonic Mia but it didn't do much on exfoliating the dry spots,making base makeup appear blotchy. I really didn't have any big expectation when it comes to at-home face treatments but the PMD really blew my mind. From the size that's also very portable to take when you go on a long vacation and the very thorough how-to DVD and the performance of PMD it self. After the first use/treatments I can see the dry skin circulating inside the head of the PMD I couldn't believe it. After that I use a very gentle toner (no alcohol in the ingredients list) to bring back the Ph balance to the skin. My skin was so smooth I couldn't stop touching it. When I used it the second time there wasn't as much dry skin in the filter and makeup applications becomes a lot smoother because my dry patches were gone. I love the PMD,I only give it 9 starts because of the price. But its a good investment in the long run. — 9 months, 4 weeks ago
    ichigocutie | 61 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    PMD- personal AH- mazing device!

    I have been using this for 2 weeks and am already crazy about my PMD! I know it's early to say, but, I think I 'm in love... Pros: softer skin in just two weeks! My husband even commented about how much nicer my skin was! I noticed a reduction in dry skin patches and acne. Easy to use design that would be perfect for teens or adults. The package contains 3 face and 3 body discs, giving you enough...read more for 2 treatments each. The device creates a sucking effect that warms slightly but does not hurt. Each treatment takes about 10 minutes. Cons: I wish the device had an internal battery, but must remain plugged in while using. Minor flaw with excellent results! — 9 months, 4 weeks ago
    missychrissy185 | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Immediate notice

    Initial set up wasn't difficult and the DVD provided a complete instruction on how to work the device. I was glad that I started with the white disc, as this gives you a great idea of the suction. Product as easy to use and quick. I noticed my skin immediately look younger. The only thing I did not have available was using toner on your skin after use. Otherwise would definitely recommend as a continuing part of my skin regimen. — 9 months, 4 weeks ago
    ersnow23 | 58 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    love this!!!!!

    This personal microdermabrasion is awesome. Fits in your hand nicely, plugs in to the outlet so you don't have to worry about batteries losing their charge. The first time I used this my husband asked me if I had done something different with my make up. The results are immediate and each time I have used it I have noticed a decrease in fine lines and age spots on my face. I am so thrilled with th...read moree device and look forward to using it each week. I only wish I would have taken a before and after picture after just 3 treatments. — 9 months, 4 weeks ago
    nlclark | 78 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Improved Skin after 3 Uses!

    Overall my skin is in pretty good condition, but I do get breakouts more frequently than I would like. I also have combination oily skin which leaves me with larger pores in my t-zone. I didn't really have any expectations for this product, but I was hoping it would make my skin look more healthy and glowing especially because as of late my skin has been looking dull. I have heard of my PMD but wa...read moresn't entirely sure how it worked, so when I received it I was slightly confused but luckily the device came with a helpful DVD that provided step by step instructions. I have only used the gentle disc on my face 3x (one week apart) and already I have noticed a difference in the appearance of my pores. Especially on my cheeks! I haven't noticed any help with breakouts tho, in fact I also feel that I have had more little bumps under my skin and also I have 2 cystic like pimples on my cheeks that I normally do not get (I am unsure if it was caused by the PMD, or stress) Overall, I do really like how it has changed my skin. I will continue to use it to see if it brightens my complexion. I think I will start to use the more abrasive discs now that my skin knows what to expect :) — 9 months, 4 weeks ago
    sunkissedx0 | 63 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Makeup Tools

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    THE BEST TOOL ON THE MARKET!

    I was so happy to try this product. I waited until i had done it 3 weeks in a row. The very first time I could tell an immediate difference in the smoothness of my skin. I have very dry skin and it allowed the moisturizer to sink in and work ALL week long. I used every 6 days, and when i tried on my neck i was so excited! I am 47 and there was a little texture there from the sunning all my life, ...read moreand i dont do it now, but its lifting that all away. Super simple to use! I look forward to when i can use it again. I also used the body piece on my chest area to see if any sun spots would lighten and to my surprise, yes they did. There was a small freckle on my forehead as well, and by number 3 it was gone. This is the most fabulous invention ever, and for at home use! — 10 months ago
    Seaglassgirl | 94 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend