PMD Personal Microderm Reviews

Back to PMD Personal Microderm»
Sort by:
  • 8

    PLEASANTLY SURPRISED

    I have been using the PMD Personal Microderm now for 3 weeks. It is very easy to use. It comes with easy to follow directions and even comes with a training disc. I love that it has discs of different coarseness. I have sensitive skin and was worried this would irritate it. It didn't! After 3 weeks, my skin has a more even appearance and feels/looks smoother. The ladies at work even noticed! I had...read more abused my skin this past summer ....high altitude, strong sun exposure at the equator, salt water and wind. Now that it is winter, add dry air and cold to the mix. I needed something to get my skin back in shape and the PMD Personal Microderm was just the ticket. It is so much more affordable than trips to the dermatologist for the same procedure. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    CAROLTENNIS | 69 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    smooth skin, tingly feeling

    I used this product a week ago and will try it again tonight as advised. I received it in the mail to review and I was pleasantly surprised by the results. I have never had a professional microderm done but this seemed to work pretty well in making my skin feel smooth and clean. It was an interesting device to use and you cannot stop moving along your face. It gave my face a tingly feeling which d...read moreidn't hurt at all but felt different. Afterwards my skin felt smooth and it didn't turn red or anything. It is pricey so I don't know if i would purchase it on my own but I was happy to use this one! — 1 year, 3 months ago
    anna1002 | 79 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Quickly repaired my face!

    I received the PMD today. I opened the box and read all the information. It also came with an instructional dvd which i also watched. The instruction informed me to wash my face and allow it to completely dry. This unit comes with several tips for face and body. Now the video kept saying over and over to make sure to use the white tip for the first treatment and then to move up to the blue, but ...read morethe written instructions read that the white tip is used to test tolerance and practice and to use the blue tip for my first treatment. To play it safe, I used the white tip. I’m glad I did. After the first treatment I noticed my face was red immediately after the service, but I think this had to do more with the suction from the device rather than the actual “grinding”. I finished my routine by applying toner, acne treatment, eye creme, and moisturizer. I felt each cream dissolved into my face quite rapidly. When I woke the next morning my face was slightly red, but the texture was a LOT smoother. Again, my products absorbed immediately into my skin. The next morning ALL of the redness was gone the creams were absorbing not as rapidly but still quicker than normal. On day 6 I used the PMD again. This time I used the blue tip. I had the same redness immediately afterwards and still the some the next morning. Overall, i would say my skin is 75% more smooth and a LOT of my acne had cleared up and stayed gone. I definitely will be continuing to use this once every week. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    jlanzone | 35 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 14 Best Makeup Tools

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Best Thing For Sensitive, Aging Skin!

    I have wanted to try microdermabrasion but couldn't afford to have it done professionally. I was wary of doing it myself at home because I have sensitive, oily skin, but at 42 I'm willing to try anything to turn back the clock. The PMD is very easy to use, and I'm so glad I tried it! I stop using retinoids and AHAs 2 days before a treatment and don't resume using them for 2 days afterwards, as per...read more the directions, and I've experienced no irritation or bad reactions- only soft, smooth skin! I did my second treatment today, and I can't wait to see what my skin will be like in a month or two. It's something I look forward to doing each week, and it takes 15-20 minutes to do my face & neck. I'm definitely satisfied with the PMD! — 1 year, 3 months ago
    derenzopa | 49 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    PMD = PRETTY MAGICAL DEVICE

    Let me start by saying the PMD looks a lot more complicated than it actually is. I made sure to watch the DVD that came with the device, in addition to some you tube videos to get some pointers from actual users before I gave it a shot (which I highly recommend). In order to prep your skin for using the PMD you have to stop using any acid products for one whole week before. This had me nervous ...read morebecause I swear by my glycolic acid serum to keep my pimples at bay. So one antsy week later, I gave the PMD a whirl. After hearing all the rave reviews about it, I can say that I was slightly disappointed right after the first treatment because I neither felt nor saw a difference. My face looked a little irritated but that was it. It wasn’t until the next day when I could see the results…my face looked much smoother and my makeup went on much nicer! So far so good! I also did not have any break outs (I noticed one reviewer did) after using it and I have pretty sensitive, acne-prone skin. I have only used the white training disk that the device came loaded with, but I can’t wait to change out to the more advanced disk that covers more surface area and exfoliates a little better. I’m excited to see what the PMD can do in the long run considering it has worked out so well thus far. I plan on updating this review in another month after I have gotten a few more uses out of it, so, stay tuned… — 1 year, 2 months ago
    JYoung1272 | 71 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Simple to use with great results!

    Prior to getting a PMD I read tons of reviews and found a common theme among them. Those that were enjoying the device watched the included video and followed the instructions to the letter. Many of the people that had negative experiences, such a badly scratching their faces, admitted they assumed they knew what they were doing and jumped right in with no instruction or any preliminary testing. ...read moreABOUT ME: My skin is very tolerant of my experimentation and not at all sensitive. I've never had a professional microderm treatment or used any other in-home microderm device that I can compare this to. Prior to receiving the PMD I was exfoliating twice a week, one manual and one chemical treatment. I learned that PMD recommends discontinuing retinol and/or AHA treatments for 48 hours before AND 48 hours after a PMD treatment. I decided it would be less complicated to simply stop using these products a week before my device arrived and stay off of them for a few weeks to get a true feel for the results the PMD could provide. 1ST IMPRESSIONS: I've had my PMD for about 2 weeks now. It comes with everything you need to get started right away. Upon opening the box I was impressed with the appearance of the device. It looked like a high quality, well made beauty tool that will last for years. It's just the right weight and felt comfortable in my hand. I unpacked the rest of the box and was somewhat disappointed that there was no storage bag included to keep the small parts contained. So I've been repacking everything in the box and keeping it on my vanity until I have an opportunity to buy a cosmetic bag for it. 1ST TREATMENT: I sat down with the paper instructions and the 10 minute DVD instructional video and spent the next 20 minutes making sure I had a good understanding of how to use the device. The white training tip comes pre-installed so I simply needed to attach the power cord to get started. As suggested, I took the device to my forearm first for several minutes. This gave me a feel for how much suction the device had and how to gently glide the PMD over my skin without losing the suction or getting the device stuck in one area. *I highly recommend everyone perform this step*. Then I took the device to my face, starting at my right jawbone and working my way up my cheek making just a single pass. I was being very cautious and figured I could always follow up with a second pass later, as opposed to having no recourse if I overdid it from the start. Hold your skin taunt with your free hand, place the device against your skin until you have suction and gently glide it across your skin. There is really NO need to apply pressure, just let the device do the work. I did my entire face with the white tip without a problem until I came to my nose. It was difficult to maintain suction in this area and I wish the video had spent some time on this. I checked the PMD website hoping there may be additional videos that include help with the nose, but there weren't any. Perhaps I just need more practice. I didn't see much of a result after using the white training tip, so I switched to the blue tip and went over my entire face again, once again just making a single pass. I could definitely feel the device working more with the blue tip. When I finished I went over my face with toner and admired the rosy glow from the treatment. My skin felt baby soft, similar to the way it would feel after using Philosophy's Microdelivery Vitamin C Peel. The Philosophy result was always temporary, but my face remained super soft for days after using the PMD. I had no trouble with the PMD getting "stuck" in one place or with it leaving any red scratch marks on my face. 2ND TREATMENT: I stepped up to the green tip for my second treatment, again doing a single pass. I followed up with a single pass with the blue tip because I felt my skin could handle more. I did a little better around my nose this time, figuring out to push the tip of my nose in the opposite direction from the side I was treating and that by scrunching my nose I was able to get some suction down the bridge. The green tip didn't feel much different than the blue tip though and my results were the same glowing, soft skin. I should mention that I didn't see any little piles of white dead skin cells on my face during either treatment as they show in the video, and make quite a production about if you've ever seen this device presented on a popular home shopping network. I felt the PMD was working as expected despite this. REPLACEMENT TIPS: Planning to continue on with the PMD, I ordered replacement tips in green and red. I compared the new green tips to the ones that came with the kit and I was a little surprised by how much more "grit" the new tips had. The replacement tip box is designed in a way to keep the tips separated, whereas they were all together in a single plastic bag in the kit and I think they may have worn themselves down due to the constant contact. PMD may want to consider packaging them differently so they remain true. CONCLUSION: Overall, I am very impressed with this tool and how simple it is to use. I would certainly recommend it to my friends. I had developed an allergic reaction around my mouth to the manual exfoliation scrub I was using and had to discontinue it. I love that I can get a deeper exfoliation from this device with no potential for that type of reaction. I am very much looking forward to seeing the results of continued use! — 1 year, 3 months ago
    TheBlond | 93 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Not so good for me but great for my mom

    For reference, I have oily-combination, acne-prone, very sensitive skin. I tried the PMD 3x for 2 weeks now and I broke out terribly! I am still struggling to get my skin back to it's usual state. I used the sensitive head and read all the directions and even watched a few review videos of what to expect. While using it I found that it did not hurt nor was it difficult to use but my skin becam...read moree pink (which is common). My mom who has dry skin gave it a try for 2 weeks as well and she seems to enjoy the PMD but hasn't noticed a difference yet...maybe because its only been 2 wks. She hasn't gotten a bad skin reaction, like me, which is good. I feel my mom would benefit from this product more then myself, maybe because her skin isn't sensitive. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    mjr_vinas | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Lives up to its name

    I did 3 treatments to make sure this is an unbiased review. The first time my skin was sensitive but the other 2 treatments left my skin looking like it did 20 years ago..Please be sure to watch the DVD and follow the directions. No shortcuts. If used correctly this would give a skin clinic a run for your money. I would unconditionally recommend this product for the easy of use and excellent results. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    Vision | 53 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    A Beauty Need

    If you're suffering from cystic acne like I was, then you need this is our beauty drawer. With just using it once a week, it faded my post acne marks, it changed the texture of my skin to baby smooth, and it overall made my skin just glow. I love this little gadget! — 1 year, 3 months ago
    BrookeSS | 38 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 14 Best Makeup Tools

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Really does what it is supposed to

    I got a few scratches my first time using the product, so I can't stress enough how you need to be careful to pull your skin tight and follow the directions. That being said, I love this product. After one use with the most sensitive tool, the dull, rough sides of my face were ultra smooth and even some of the extra peach fuzz came off. After three uses, I see that my sun spots look lighter. I will continue to use this product! — 1 year, 4 months ago
    louisamarie | 72 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Home » Reviews » Face » Tools + Appliances » PMD Personal Microderm
Check out Total Beauty Contests on LockerDome on LockerDome

Back
to top

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend