PMD Personal Microderm Reviews

Back to PMD Personal Microderm»
Sort by:
  • 8

    Super Easy To Use

    I just turned 47, am really fair and have recently developed sensitive skin. So while I was skeptical this could help someone like me - I was totally game to try this new in-home product. I have used it 3 times in 3 weeks - each use was after a hot shower and a gentle cleansing. The device could not be easier to use! Plus fast! It took less than 3 min to swipe my face, as directed in the ‘...read moremust watch’ DVD. I used the white (lightest) head. Also as a test area, I used the PMD on my left hand - top of hand and fingers. Yes, there is a noticeable difference between my left & right hand. Because of the treatments - I can SEE that my normal lotions are absorbing better and as a direct result, my face seems more baby-like. I have already told a few girlfriends my age about this little miracle device because I am not sharing mine! — 8 months, 4 weeks ago
    BaliBabi | 71 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    helps with oil impactions, but not large pores

    When you get this product it comes with a training dvd and 5 different heads: 1 training/ultra sensitive, 1 small blue for sensitive face, 1 large blue for sensitive body, 1 small green for more aggressive face exfoliation and 1 large green for body. Replacement head sets are $15. Stronger exfoliation heads are available. On my first use of this device I had just taken a long shower. My skin soake...read mored up too much moisture, and although I had let it dry, the device created too much suction and scraped it with the training head! MAKE SURE YOUR SKIN IS BONE DRY. On my next try I used the green head. My skin was completely dry and it worked fine. I've used it a couple weeks now and it has removed oil impactions on my nose and chin. Those areas look poreless. However it has not improved the look of my pores on my cheeks and forehead. Will update in a few weeks with my final thoughts. — 8 months, 4 weeks ago
    BCmakeup | 81 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Just like the spa

    I had a facial done in a spa 6 months ago which included microdermabrasion. My face looked and felt so smooth. I didn't realize until I received my PMD that it was the same device that she used! I have used it twice so far (I use Retin-a so I just skip it 2 days before and after using the device) and I really like the results. The first time I used the training disk and even that was removing ...read morea layer of skin. You can actually see the skin shedding as you use the device. I am so glad that I was chosen to try this, I will be using it regularly to make my skin smoother and brighter. In addition to the 'dust' layer of skin coming off, there were also small chunks of dirt! Gross, but this must really be working it is pulling out dirt that is embedded in my pores. If you want to do your own microdermabrasion at home, don't hesitate to buy this. Just make sure that you watch the DVD and ready the instructions first. — 8 months, 4 weeks ago
    elizabeth7 | 61 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Makeup Tools

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Goodbye Ruddy Skin!

    I was a little nervous to try this product but I am at the age where it is time to give my skin an overhaul. I am 35 and have some acne scars facial marks which will not respond to different skin treatments. It seemed like the time for laser treatment had come but this was a much cheaper alternative! The first advice I would give is to read the instructions and watch the DVD. It was very helpful! ...read moreI wondered how well this product would work but it was very gentle on my sensitive skin. My first use of the system with the starter disk left my skin feeling a little raw a few hours later but using proper moisturizer helped. I initially did not notice too much of a difference in my skin but other people did. A makeup artist at ULTA and my husband both noticed that after one use my skin was smoother and more even toned. I have found as the weeks go by my skin is much more responsive to skin toners and moisturizers. After my second use I can definitely see a difference in my skin texture. Freckles, scars, and ruddy skin that I thought were permanent are starting to fade! The raw feeling that I felt a few hours after my first treatment has not returned and I have been able to try the different discs that came with this kit. I love that I am able to use the PMD Personal Microderm in the dead of a dry cold winter without it being to harsh on my skin. I am also a big fan of the different discs that come with the kit. I have a variety of discs with different textures for specific skin needs and sensitivity. I have started to use the different heads and discs on my elbows on other problem sections. I expect my skin to only look better with more use and more time. It looks like I will not have to spend a ton of money on laser treatments after all! — 8 months, 4 weeks ago
    Moosebaby | 35 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Favorite new beauty tool!

    I was able to review the PMD Personal Microderm. I was so excited to do so! I have been wanting one for a long time. I have tried it twice since it arrived and will continue to use it and I've tried it once so far on my body. A little about me: I have combination skin with some areas that tend to be oily and a few areas that can be dry. I have sensitive skin. Last summer I got a few sunspots. I w...read moreore sunscreen but missed an area. I also have a few wrinkles on my forehead. I take really good care of my skin but aging does happen so I am always looking for ways to combat aging. I would say that my skin is in really good shape with some signs of aging. I do not suntan and wear sunscreen. I like to use masks and toner and have a daily regimen. I have used the micro dermabrasion that comes with little particles in a lotion or gel that are rubbed into the skin somewhat like a mask and then are immediately washed off. I have never had a microdermabrasion done at a doctor's office. The package includes everything you need to get started. Included is a training disc, few discs for face and body for sensitive skin and another few discs for the very next level, medium. Also included is a DVD how-to, an instruction pamphlet and a power cord. I am glad that the company chose a power cord instead of batteries. I think it will last longer. The machine was louder than I expected. This might annoy some people but it didn't bother me at all. If a machine works well, a little noise is worth it to me. I like the feel of the PMD Personal Microderm. It fits nicely and isn't too heavy. I am right-handed and can tell whether right-handed or left-handed, it will work well for both! The DVD was very helpful. I am a hands on learner so watching the DVD made it so much easier to use. In the DVD, they explain that after using the PMD Personal Microderm, your beauty products will be absorbed better by up to 20%. It is really easy to use. I like using it after a shower. I pull my hair up and let my skin dry completely. I started with the training disc. The instructions state that the skin must be pulled tight to allow suction. It is a little tricky for me to get suction in a few areas but I think after a few more uses, I will have it down. Suction of the skin has to happen for the device to do its job. Even with the training disc, I had a little bit of stinging in my cheek area but it wasn't really painful. I could see dead skin falling off immediately even with the training disc. As soon as I was done, I put on a soothing gel intended for use after microdermabrasion. This isn't the same brand as PMD. PMD does sell beauty products to go along with the machine but I didn't have them on hand. The first benefit I noticed was how soft my skin felt. The very next time I used it, I tried the next disc which is for sensitive skin. It wasn't painful and I got better at suctioning. Again, I saw dead skin falling off. My face turns bright red after every use for a few minutes and I can tell the device is working. This works well for my sensitive skin and I can't wait to see it reduce my fine lines. I love how soft it has made my skin feel! My sensitive skin seems to be fine with gradually going to the next level disc and I plan on trying the medium level disc for the third use. I did try it on my body. There is a disc that is made for all over body including feet that is the highest level, the black disc on thePersonal Microderm's website which sells for about $15. I used the highest level disc that was included in the package for the body which is medium level. It worked really well on the arms and suction wasn't an issue in this area. The third level disc was strong enough for my arms at this time but I could see myself buying the highest level disc in the future if my skin needs a higher level. The only issue I have with the PMD on the body is using it on areas that are very angled. Of course, I am not writing about the discs level of removing dead skin since I did not have the highest level available but am reviewing the ability to suction. On the feet, I couldn't always get it to suction no matter how I angled it or pulled the skin tight. Again, suction is a must for the device to work. But it works great on most areas so I would only dock it one point for the body. Clean up is really easy! It takes a minute. Just pull the filter and rinse it, rinse the cap and top of the disc with soap or use rubbing alcohol. Each little disc can be used 2-4 times and the device comes with more than enough to get anyone started. I found the replacement discs online for around $9-15 for 6 refills, 2 for body and 4 for face. Not bad when considering how much it would cost to go to a professional. I would rate this much better than any microdermabrasion cream or gel you could buy and this device really works. I love the machine and would recommend it to anyone! I find myself counting the days until I can use it again. — 8 months, 4 weeks ago
    rochellep | 63 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Noticeable results in two weeks

    I have not experienced microdermabrasion in a spa, so I can not compare the results of PMD with a "professional" microdermabrasion. I can tell you however, that I have had noticeable results after just two weeks of use. The PMD comes with an instruction booklet, a quick start guide and an instructional DVD. The instruction is easy to understand and provides you with all the information you need...read more to get started. The device itself fits easily in your hand and easy to grip. I first used the white "tester" disc. Having noticed no issued with my skin, I tried the green disc. It took a few passes for me to get the motion right with the suction. Afterwards, I used my usual toner and moisturizer. When I woke in the morning, I had one small patch of skin that felt burning and was red. I attribute this to user error because this is the part of my face that I had tried a few times to "get the hang of it" I think that I accidentally moved the wand over that small area more than twice per instructions. The redness and tenderness went away within a day. I can not honestly say that I noticed any difference in my skin after my first use. I waited six days per instructions and tried it again. This is when I almost instantly noticed a difference. I noticed that my sun spots on my face were lighter and less noticeable. My skin did not look red as with the first time, but looked pink and healthy. I have a tendency to have dry skin and the winter weather has not helped at all, Even though I moisturize every day, the moisturizer does not ever seem to be absorbed completely in and does not make a lasting difference. After the second time of using PMD, my skin soaked in my moisturizer. My skin felt smooth and baby soft . I can honestly say it has been years since my skin has felt so smooth and soft. The machine itself has a cord long enough to comfortably use it. It comes with a variety of discs. One complaint I have is that there was noting in the packaging to keep the discs in so that they were not loose or lost. This was easily myself by a pouch that I placed them in, but would be nice for the price if one was included. The cost of the replacement discs could be a disadvantage, but I feel the advantages far outweigh any disadvantages. — 8 months, 4 weeks ago
    mariposaricart | 79 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Boost Cell Turnover & Brightness

    Timely exfoliation is key to skin health. I have a large inventory of scrubs, masks & cleansers geared towards specifically improving exfoliation- but they weren't quite enough, I needed a physical removal. My skin is fairly pale & very fine- By "fine," I mean I have very small pores especially on my nose. Just like many curly girls wish they had straight hair & many women with straight hair ha...read mored curls... Let me tell you small pores as opposed to large ones bring their own special set of challenges. Because when skin can't express itself, it results in bulbous, under the skin major eruptions that will eventually find their way out. Unpleasant. So- now in my early 4os, having taken decent care of my skin I'm confronting the usual signs of normal aging & looking for ways to retain suppleness & boost turnover, address small age spots. I've used the PMD twice. I was extremely cautious & used the white disc as directed the first time without much result. I waited two days & went back & used the regular disc on face & décolletage. I experienced a bit of redness that went away quickly & the texture of my skin was velvety smooth. I know when my skin is at peak health, it eagerly absorbs creams & serums, drinking them in. When I'm behind in the exfoliation process, topicals just sit there without immediate absorbing. Absorption was significantly improved after just one use & even better after the second. The device is a little louder than I would like- someone in the next room would probably hear it being used. It is very light in the hand, easy to control & comes with a long enough, lightweight cord to make using it easier. Personally I'm glad it doesn't have demanding batteries. The introduction dvd is adequate. My device did not come with any extra creams or treatments, so I used a hodgepodge of my own. Be sure to use a gentle cleanser & witch hazel toner. Optionally I was able to use a sonic cleaner. The PMD is a worthy addition to a weekly beauty routine that encourages exfoliation. My two small age spots were greatly faded & with regular use, are en route to disappear entirely. Texture is improved, my skin feels overall more plush. I'm working on an area with a small white scar & that also seems less bright, while overall brightness is improved, achieving a more overall skintone which both looks & is healthy. Age spots/sun damage is definitely, noticeably diminished. I regard this as a big beauty treat & plan to include it in my weekly beauty routine for a long time to come. Full disclosure, I received this unit as a Total Beauty insider which was a bit of a thrill. I am a big believer of examining a lot of reviews when contemplating an online purchase & give this unit high marks for effectiveness. — 8 months, 4 weeks ago
    mineola | 36 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    PLEASANTLY SURPRISED

    I have been using the PMD Personal Microderm now for 3 weeks. It is very easy to use. It comes with easy to follow directions and even comes with a training disc. I love that it has discs of different coarseness. I have sensitive skin and was worried this would irritate it. It didn't! After 3 weeks, my skin has a more even appearance and feels/looks smoother. The ladies at work even noticed! I had...read more abused my skin this past summer ....high altitude, strong sun exposure at the equator, salt water and wind. Now that it is winter, add dry air and cold to the mix. I needed something to get my skin back in shape and the PMD Personal Microderm was just the ticket. It is so much more affordable than trips to the dermatologist for the same procedure. — 8 months, 4 weeks ago
    CAROLTENNIS | 61 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    smooth skin, tingly feeling

    I used this product a week ago and will try it again tonight as advised. I received it in the mail to review and I was pleasantly surprised by the results. I have never had a professional microderm done but this seemed to work pretty well in making my skin feel smooth and clean. It was an interesting device to use and you cannot stop moving along your face. It gave my face a tingly feeling which d...read moreidn't hurt at all but felt different. Afterwards my skin felt smooth and it didn't turn red or anything. It is pricey so I don't know if i would purchase it on my own but I was happy to use this one! — 8 months, 4 weeks ago
    anna1002 | 76 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Makeup Tools

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Quickly repaired my face!

    I received the PMD today. I opened the box and read all the information. It also came with an instructional dvd which i also watched. The instruction informed me to wash my face and allow it to completely dry. This unit comes with several tips for face and body. Now the video kept saying over and over to make sure to use the white tip for the first treatment and then to move up to the blue, but ...read morethe written instructions read that the white tip is used to test tolerance and practice and to use the blue tip for my first treatment. To play it safe, I used the white tip. I’m glad I did. After the first treatment I noticed my face was red immediately after the service, but I think this had to do more with the suction from the device rather than the actual “grinding”. I finished my routine by applying toner, acne treatment, eye creme, and moisturizer. I felt each cream dissolved into my face quite rapidly. When I woke the next morning my face was slightly red, but the texture was a LOT smoother. Again, my products absorbed immediately into my skin. The next morning ALL of the redness was gone the creams were absorbing not as rapidly but still quicker than normal. On day 6 I used the PMD again. This time I used the blue tip. I had the same redness immediately afterwards and still the some the next morning. Overall, i would say my skin is 75% more smooth and a LOT of my acne had cleared up and stayed gone. I definitely will be continuing to use this once every week. — 9 months ago
    jlanzone | 35 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend