InStyler The Rotating Iron Reviews

Back to InStyler The Rotating Iron»
Sort by:
  • 8

    love hate relationship

    i love the idea of this and i like that it brushes the hair as it's styling, though it doesn't work as well as they. when i attempted to curl my hair with the instyler it just barely waved it, maybe it's because i didn't care to take a ton of time to section it off and wait long. the same goes for straigtening but it does leave the hair bouncier than with a flat iron. i didn't feel like it did any...read more less damage than a regular straightener or curling iron, i think it might work best for people with thin or short hair, for my long thick hair it just wasn't what i was hoping for — 3 years, 4 months ago
    hbear | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 1

    Extremely Dissappointed

    It worked great at first. Used it maybe 10 times, then while using it, the barrel fell apart. I called the company and even though I purchased this item last november and it is now 12 months later in november I am 1 week late. I had purchased this November 15th,2009 and today is November 24th,2010. They refuse to help me in anyway. The customer svc rep was extremley rude, yelling back at me, can c...read moreareless we as consumers paid a lot of money for this just for a couple uses and it fall apart. This company is a scam!!!BEWARE OF PURCHASING THIS ITEM inless you have $100 to just throw away. — 3 years, 8 months ago
    kane22 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 7 people said helpful

  • 10

    Good for volume!

    I like the instyler because it gives great volume. Now to actually get the volume make sure that you have nothing, or for very thin hair use a lightweight hairdressing, in the hair. It has 3 heat settings which i like also and the volume is crazy. My hair stays "pumped up" all day. sometimes i skip my straightening iron and just use the instyler (its really no need to use both). I really like it a...read morend wish the company made a mini instyler to carry around because i would stick it in my purse. Your hair will be very "movable and shakeable" after using this tool. — 3 years, 9 months ago
    cocomoses85 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 14 Best Hot Styling Tools

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    I wish I could return the piece of shit but it does make really nice curls.

    I got this for Christmas, I wanted it so bad after watching all the infommercials on tv. But after three months of using it, my hair looked like shit and I was even using a very good heat protectant. (Straight Sexy Hair's Smooth and Protect. I was using a very nice Chi flat iron before I switched.) This is just another shitty iron with no protective qualities like Tourmaline, even though the infom...read moremercial claims there's absolutely no way it can damage your hair. Bullshit. Should be $20. I switched back to my Chi and only use this to curl my hair, which is does very well, I have to admit. I get really nice curls, and they hold. I mean I use hairspray but still. & I can always put my Instyler under the curl to give it a lot of volume without teasing which is a big plus because I like having volume but can't tease worth a damn and don't really want to learn lol. Anyways, this is basically a love hate relationship with me. I would recommend it for beautiful curls and volume without teasing but not for just straightening.after watching all the infomercials on tv. — 3 years, 9 months ago
    MalibuBarbiex3 | 28 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 10 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love it!

    I have long natural curly hair and it is so hard to straighten it! I've tried several different types and brands of flat irons but have never achieved the results that I have with this product! It takes some time to straighten my hair, as it is long and cut into different lengths so when I wear it natural, it's curly & bouncy. But using since using this straightener, I've been able to wear my h...read moreair straight for several days (my hair doesn't get oily) with only minor touch-ups! I flip the ends under while straightening it and have a nice smooth style! I got rid of all my other flat irons since purchasing this one! I absolutely love it! — 3 years, 7 months ago
    onyxx65 | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    THE BEST THING EVERRRRR!

    Ok...So i NEVER used to straighten my curly PR hair, despite every person in the world telling me "I wanna see ur hair straight!" And the reason i NEVER did it was because regular flat irons burned my hair causing my ends to dry even more than they already were, NEVER gave me volume which is important to me...then just to get it to shine i'd have to use some nasty greasy product...which still neve...read morer helped my ends look better. THEN my cousin bought this thru the infomercial, She wasnt real good at using it on herself so she hated it... then i told her, NO thats not possible, the commercial makes it look so easy and makes ur hair perfect. So she brought both InStylers over and gave me the free one as a gift (thank the lord!) Then i sit her down & do her hair as they show on tv, and she was IN LOVE! she couldnt stop shaking her hair (due to the body,volume, & bounce it gave her thin hair) & looking in the mirror every 5mins saying, "OMG I LOOK LIKE I JUST CAME OUT OF THE SALON!" She didnt like it at first, all becuz she wasnt so good at handling it. Then i later did my own hair....and my life hasnt been the same since. It TOTALLY GAVE MY HAIR VOLUME and SO MUCH BODY!!!! Its straight...yet not FLAT! Then on top of that, it added shine, especially to the ends which i love, and doesnt take nearly as long as before to do with a typical strighter that i had to go over and over in the same spot just to get the kinks out of my hair (which also damaged it more.) And ALSO it doesnt burnnn my hair, which is also very important to me since i bleach it ocassionally. THIS IS THE BEST INVENTION EVERRRRRRRRRRR. The little trick that they do on the commercial w/ the hump at the top for volume, it actually works! Just make sure u have a little bit of product in the hair for it to keep the hold. But its definately a buy...and a keeper! — 3 years, 10 months ago
    EstrellaBonita | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  14 of 16 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Flat Irons

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    DO NOT USE IT!!!!!!!!!!

    I shelled out the big bucks for this supposed do it all tool. I used it for 2 months and only used it 1-2 times a week. I used it on the lowest setting and followed the directions to the T. I now have had to cut my mid-back length hair up to my shoulders as it burnt it and broke it off! while my hair looked pretty when I used it, it wasn't worth the damage to my hair. I only wish I could return it and get my $99 back! — 4 years, 1 month ago
    boatbabe007 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 7 people said helpful

  • 1

    DO NOT BUY FAULTY PRODUCT

    Do not purchase this piece of crap product. It malfunctioned after a couple uses and the company will not take a return on it without the receipt! So basically it's a waste of $110.00! DO NOT BUY Also customer service agents within the company are rude and unhelpful!!!! — 4 years, 2 months ago
    JaneJane | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 8 people said helpful

  • 9

    Instyler

    I recently purchased this and love it. I would have given it a 10 but I have short hair in the back of my head and it is hard to use the instyler on it without burning my neck. I highly recommend this, it is like a round brush/flat iron in one.. perfect. — 4 years, 2 months ago
    bbcamp | 111 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 14 Best Hot Styling Tools

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    I love the INSTYLER but hav sum concerns

    ok.... this product is lovely and gets me sorta straight hair. But my concerns are 1. The barrel is EXTREMELY hot as well as the brush! BEWARE 2. I planned on having my lil sis use as well but not so much ( the cord has LEAD in it ) 3. I perfer flat to the head hair but having a little bit of volume it ok overall this product is really good ( not as good as the CHI though) — 4 years, 5 months ago
    italianababee | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend