Cosmedicine Medi-Matte Oil Control Lotion SPF 20 Reviews

Back to Cosmedicine Medi-Matte Oil Control Lotion SPF 20»
Sort by:
  • 6

    good, but not worht buying again

    It feels thick and sticky when you put it on, but it does control oil like it says. I just don't like how it is hard to spread on. I would not buy it again since it is on the pricier side. — 5 years, 6 months ago
    itsadoozie | 88 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great for hot days!

    Product worked great for a hot day at the beach. It literally felt like it was blocking some of the sweat on my face. For regular use it can be a bit drying, but if you plan to sweat, this is the product of choice. It is thick to spread on, but just apply a thin layer and it dries instantly, making makeup application not a problem. — 5 years, 11 months ago
    CateG | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Great for Hot, Humid Days

    Cosemdicine's Medi-Matte Lotion is a thicker consistency than I expected and more difficult to apply evenly than I had hoped. I wore it under make-up on a steamy Fourth of July gathering and it did keep my make-up from turning into an oil slick from the heat and humidity. However, I didn't find it very moisturizing at all and would not use this on a daily basis. — 6 years ago
    Elessaria | 53 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    I wanted to like this soooo bad!

    I got a sample of this through Sephora. I like that it is thick because it actually feels like it is blocking oil but it is so thick that it is hard to spread all over my fac. I'm scared that i'm doing more damage by tugging on my skin. I have tried many foundations over this and liquid just doesn't work! IT's like blending clay on your face. It did work under mineral makeups but i can't stand usi...read moreng them because they are so messy. Overall, it worked wonders on my oily skin but it doesn't work well with liquid foundation over it! — 6 years, 2 months ago
    kimmy1480 | 99 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Just No

    I wanted to fall in love with it. Anything that helps my skin look matte, I want to use every day, all the time. But I honestly cannot think of one reason why anyone should buy this product. Not a single one. First of all, the price is absolutely outrageous. Outrageous as in $42 for a little over 1 oz. This is not a moisturizer. This is not any sort of treatment for any other skin problem except ...read moreoil control. This means that you are applying this over your La Mer, or whatever moisturizer you're using (which in my case is currently Bliss Steep Clean Moisture Lotion, but whatever). Secondly, it doesn't really do what it claims to. Here are the claims from Sephora's website: Clinical trials using state-of-the-art high resolution tools measured: -44% reduction in sebum levels -39% increase in mattification -37% reduction in pore size -35% reduction in visible shine -19% increase in hydration Now, let me throw a disclaimer out there: I am only one person with my own experience. You may find this product works really well for you. My skin is very oily with large pores and without any treatment at all, I can blot off a great deal of oil two hours after cleaning my face. You may not have such an extreme case, and this may do exactly as it is supposed to for you. I can really put these products to the test, however, and I did notice a bit of mattification, perhaps four hours worth. A slight reduction in sebum levels and visible shine. I don't need the hydration, so that was irrelevant. I saw no change in pore size. I personally wouldn't recommend this for anyone. I'd recommend someone use a good moisturizer with oil control and mattifying properties already in it, and a very good primer. Those two things, plus an occasional blotting paper is all you need. — 6 years, 2 months ago
    Retrodiva | 159 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    Not at all what was promised!

    I bought this product with high hopes. I have extremely oily skin and oil blotting sheets are my best friend! I have tried other mattifyers in the past without success. This product got such rave reviews I just had to try it even though it has a steep price tag ($42) I thought a little would go a long way. Sadly, I am just as disappointed with this product as the others. I gave it a full two ...read moreweek test and it totally failed. I still had to use the blotting sheets twice a day and it didn't make my skin look or feel any less oily. I will be getting a refund. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    krudder30 | 189 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    Money down the drain-literally!

    For the price, I thought this would work. It is almost impossible to get your makeup to go on smoothly after applying this stuff. I had to wash my face and start over and have not used it since. It is "gluey" and can only be used if you are going makeup free as it does control oil and protect you from the sun. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    jabelfox | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Warm it up

    I love this product. I received it as a free sample with my purchase from Sephora. Normally, I get stuff that is not good for my skin, but one day I was inspired to try it. I was thrown off by how thick it was, then quite by accident I was yelling at my children (a daily ritual) and I was holding the tube in my hand. My body temperature warmed the product somewhat and wow it glided on smoothly...read more. The key to remember is to let it soak in before moving on to either my tinted moisturizer or my foundation. That's a good thing to do no matter what you do. It allows the product to absorb in to your skin and actually work! I love it because I no longer look like an oil slick and you can actually touch my face later in the day. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    Calencir | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Fast results, icky feel

    I have to say that the matte effect of this product is immediate and lasts for a while. Only a tiny pea-sized amount goes a long way, but do rub it between your fingers before you start. Others are right in saying it's a very thick, sticky formula that feels kind of like glue or putty. Although I have had mixed results of the length of time of the results, it lasts through big events fairly easily...read more. You can also pair this with a good mattifying primer if you really want that extra guarantee. I'm a big ran of the product as it's the only lotion I have ever used that actually showed results for a serious length of time. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    TrieditallM | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    quite possibly the best oil control lotion

    it REALLY does control your shine and oil, even if you have really oily t-zone. However, it is extremely thick and i don't think you should plan on applying any sort of liquid makeup on your face after you've applied this. this product should only be used by itself and not as a moisturizer underneath your makeup because of its consistency. it is thick like glue, but it glides on your skin and ma...read moreke your skin look like you're wearing foundation. it's very much like Present clear makeup from Philosophy, but this one is much better in terms of controlling shine. i only use it on my nose and nowhere else. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    Camncal | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend