Lush Hair Hennas Reviews

Back to Lush Hair Hennas»
Sort by:
  • 10

    I adore this stuff!!!

    I absolutely love it!!! It is a bit messy, but well worth the effort. I have used this for about 6 years. My hair is so much healthier. And it is much cheaper than traditional coloring for the amount you get! It wears well. I get loads of compliments when I am just out and about. Total strangers want to know where I get my hair color! Go get it girls, it's amazing!!!! — 4 years, 11 months ago
    CT | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 9 people said helpful

  • 9

    Messy the first time, but Divine results!

    Learning how to use this does involve a bit of trial and error. I shave the bar with a sharp knife...and mix with hot but not boiling water to mix into a paste about the texture of yugurt. The smell is very organic. Though I didn't dislike it at all! Once the henna has thoroughly dried on all the hair, about 6 hours for me, You can rinse. Rinse, rinse, rinse. Takes me about 30 minutes to rea...read morelly find it is all out. My hair has never been softer, and the color is delicious. In the sunlight, people always comment about my color. I use the 2 parts of the marron and 1 part of the rouge..and the color is a lovely auburn! Well worth the mess the first time using it. Stick with it and teach yourself how to mix and apply..you will never be sorry. — 5 years, 5 months ago
    SewIntoEwe | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 9 people said helpful

  • 9

    A disgusting mess! But so worth the effort!

    I've used this product in brun, marron and rouge a few times and have been thoroughly pleased with the results. I have dark auburn hair naturally, but like to use rouge to intensify the red in my hair some and give it great shine. Caca marron performs this task beautifully. After using it, my hair has a great gloss for weeks that I've never been able to match using any other product and the red...read more tint is just what I want. On me at least, it's subtle sort of "my natural color but better" but I'm sure that those results would vary greatly depending on your hair color and how long you leave it on your hair. I typically plaster mine on and then put my hair under a shower cap and leave it for 2-3 hours. The results always leave people commenting that they can't tell what it is I did to my hair, but it sure looks awesome. :D I can't compare this to other hennas as this is the only one I've ever used. I'm not sure if this is easier or more difficult to use than other hennas, I only know it's a lot messier than dyes I've bought from drugstores and beauty supply stores. When it's mixed properly the consistency is about that of brownie batter and it just feels gross on my scalp, and considering that I always leave it on for at least an hour longer, if not two, than I would a synthetic dye that unpleasantness is compounded. I also have a difficult time rinsing all of it out. I normally still find bits of it in my scalp a few days after I henna my hair. It smells gross too, though not intolerably so. Just sort of dirty smelling. Also, I find its solid form to be a bit tricky to mix with. I first started using Lush henna way back when they sold in as a powder and not as a block, and I thought that was much easier to manage. I've taken to grating my block up with a cheese grater to correct this but that takes an annoying amount of time so hennaing my hair can feel like a major chore in ways that dying with commercial brands doesn't. That said though, I do feel the results are worth it. Apart from the lovely color and amazing shine, my hair feels like it has more body and is in better condition post-henna than it did before. So the results are definitely worth it, it just takes a big effort. — 5 years, 7 months ago
    shriekingviolet | 77 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  10 of 10 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    overrated natural hair dye

    I have thick, course, curly hair and I felt I needed a change. But I wanted to do it naturally. This was my first attempt at coloring my hair. Big Mistake! First of all, their is to much prepping for this application. You have to shred this bar so that you can turn it into a paste. This was very messy and time consuming. After making into a paste you have to apply it which is messy as well. But I ...read morewould not even care about all of that if the product worked, but after 2 attempts only the tips of my hair stayed colored (for awhile). — 6 years, 2 months ago
    yvettej | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 7 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love the Henna

    Henna is a great way to save yourself from the cancer causing chemical dyes out there. And esp. good for when you are pregnant and need a touch up. Lush adds alot more to their henna prepartions and the olive oil helps keep you hair from drying out. Following the directions also helps keep the mess down and not burning it in the pan/pot keeps the herby smells down as well as a teaspoon of honey. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    GreenMama666 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 7 people said helpful

  • 9

    Long lasting color!

    The Lush Hennas are longer lasting and have better gray coverage than any Henna I have used before. I will never use anything else. It's also not as messy as the powders and it rinses out more easily. — 6 years, 5 months ago
    bolinda | 31 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 6 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    caca rouge

    Caca rouge is an incredible red henna that works over my natural hair nicely, and over highlights even better. It is neater, less crumbly, and faster to rinse out than other natural hennas, and smells fantastic — 6 years, 5 months ago
    hazelll | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 9 people said helpful

  • 10

    love it...

    i have chemically damaged hair, that would not hold on to any color.. my hair was an auburn blond, and loosing the color on the ends.. i didnt want to put in another round of dyes, so i bought this upon reading the good reviews.. it is messy and the smell is kinda bad, but it was totally worth it.. i left it in for two hours, and my hair is now a golden brown.. i could not get the highlights this ...read moregave me from any salon.. my husband was so surprised at how nice the color is, and how soft my hair was afterwards.. i would definately recommend this product to anyone who wants a natural hair product minus the harsh chemicals... — 6 years, 6 months ago
    missnana | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 9 people said helpful

  • 10

    great color, good for hair too!

    I have used both caca rouge and caca marron and love both. I am left with beautiful rich red color and my thin hair gets a boost of thickness afterwards. The best part is that I'm actually doing something good for my hair instead of damaging it with chemicals. — 6 years, 7 months ago
    wickedplum777 | 30 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 9 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    natural beauty

    i tried the black henna. Took a little prep time but was totally worth it! 3 hours later i had soft black hair without any of the hash chemicals of drug store dyes. — 6 years, 7 months ago
    cuteone | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 9 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend