Clairol Natural Instincts Reviews

Back to Clairol Natural Instincts»
Sort by:
  • 1

    HUGE Disappointment!!

    I have used Clairol Natural Instincts in the past and have always been pleased with the results. HOWEVER, i just finished coloring my hair and I am HUGELY DISAPPOINTED that it did not cover my gray!!! I do have resistant gray, so I left it on the extra 5 minutes as recommended. I thought that 15 minutes was way too short for processing, but I relied on Clairol's instructions. I am so disappointed ...read morewith the result I can barely contain myself. The areas that were gray are still gray! I applied to these areas first, as recommended, to no avail! I have never had this problem with any hair color in the past. I lost my job in the spring and am starting a new job tomorrow. I wanted my hair to look nice. I fell for the adverising claiming superior coverage, especially for gray. Now I have to use my color crayon on these areas and just have to hope that it will look OK. I don't want to color again for at least two weeks, because I do not want to damage my hair. So I will be coloring my gray areas with a color crayon until then. Not having much money at all since I lost my job I was so happy to see this supposedly wonderful hair color on sale and used what little I had to purchase it. I am so, so, so disappointed. And after reading the reviews on the "two-week touch up" application that is included with the hair color, I will certainly not take the chance and use that. A complete waste of money I so sorely need, just to try to make myself look nice for my first day at work. I feel so scammed! Thanks for nothing, Clairol! I will NEVER buy this product or any other Clairol hair color again. Your new and improved formulas are worthless! — 2 years, 10 months ago
    Krykit | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    Hair Results

    I've read several reviews that comment on applying product on wet hair, instructions that I find direct application to dry hair. Also, the "Vibrant" line is a PERMANENT product, NOT semi-permanent (which is the main reason I use Natural Instincts, as permanent color does such a number on my hair when used every 4-6 weeks) — 3 years ago
    BonnieC_ | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 11 people said helpful

  • 8

    Spiced Tea

    I used spiced tea on my medium brown hair, and it still showed up and looked pretty natural. The conditioner smells great. — 3 years ago
    mteclouser | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Get the new Vibrant Color one

    Okay, I have never been a huge fan of this product, but I just tried the new Vibrant line and I am in LOVE! Even the salon was wowwed by hair, which hasn't happened in a long time. So shiny, perfect color, and no bad smell following me around for days. Seriously, if you've not been happy with Natural Instincts, try the Vibrant! — 3 years, 1 month ago
    louisamarie | 68 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 1

    Natural Instincts, Week 2 ColorFresh

    Terrible product. Turned my hair red, not brown, and the grey turned Yellow! Could not wash it out, was like a waxy build up. — 3 years, 1 month ago
    abaker146 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 9

    I love this hair dye!

    It makes your hair shiny, and yes, the formula's a bit drippy, but it's not very noticeable. I love having non-permanent hair color, it doesn't cause nearly as much damage. The color's vibrant, considering it's non-permanent. Bought this many times, and will continue! — 3 years, 1 month ago
    sol_khaitas | 13 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    New & Improved?

    I do not like the new & improved formula of Natural instincts. I colored my roots, then 2 wks later I did the new step (I think a refresher). It seeme to take the color off my roots rather than add color, & it dyed my scalp for a day. I do not like having to dye my hair every 2 wks. I hope they go back to the once a month formula. Why "fix" something that is not broke? — 3 years, 2 months ago
    geniamae | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 10

    The BEST- hands down!!

    I've tried other haircolor products and natural instncts is by far the best. The colors are fabulous and it has no ammonia but lasts just as long as ones that do. I swear my hair feels and looks healthiest right after I use this product! I love it! — 3 years, 4 months ago
    chrissy.roy11 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 6 people said helpful

  • 1

    I love Nice 'n easy but...

    Basic sucks, stinks!!! I too followed the rules and went from a lovely blonde to a red head to a carrot top and I am freaking out. Has anyone had good results.....I too will probably have to have someone repair my hair and besides the cost it's the time to get that done and look like I'm Irish (nothing against the Irish!) until then...and I'm actually a Swede. This IS NOT about ethnic groups ju...read morest about a BAD, bad hair product. A customer said to me "it must be the luck of the Irish that you have such lovely red hair!!!" Common, I just am trying to make a point. Lowest rating is -negative rating. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    eileen_branham | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    disappointed

    this new stuff did not cover my grey at all. I have used other clairol products that are muc better then this one. — 3 years, 5 months ago
    bettybingo | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend