Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation Reviews

Back to Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation»
Sort by:
  • 10

    My Absolute Fave - Finally!

    It's taken me <ahem> quite a number of years to find a foundation that I really like. I tend to fall between colors, or find that the formulas are tinted to pink or yellow for me. Appliedly thinly over a primer, Mat Velvet+ provides beautiful, even, moderate coverage. If you need more, build it up slowly. It does a great job at covering some scars on my face, that sometimes I don't need c...read moreoncealer! It needs to be be "buffed" or smoothed after your done applying in order to get that flawless, velvet look. Its staying power is fantastic - It's survived my working in a restaurant kitchen for 8+ hours! No breakouts or oiliness for me when I use it! — 6 years ago
    Elessaria | 53 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    Velvety smooth

    I love this foundation! It is the absolute best I have ever used. The price tag is pretty steep but it is worth every penny as a little goes a really ong way. I don't understand other reviewers that said they wanted more coverage. I feel that this is full coverage at it's finest without the cloginess of sticks/creams. — 6 years, 1 month ago
    deedles | 30 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Creamy and long lasting

    As a makeup artist, I love love LOVE this foundation. Even when I took a color (for myself) at least one shade too dark in haste, I found it blends incredibly well, has a remarkable texture and pigment, does not change on your skin, floats aloft so it does not settle or crease (and I have very dry skin and plenty of creases) and sortof "adjusts" and just looks dewy and flawless for hours...read more. I do use a kett transluscent finishing powder for shine on occasion with this and most foundations, however I still highly recommend this. Also, just a little goes a long way. Just a superior product. — 6 years, 2 months ago
    FaceTimeGirl | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 9 people said helpful

  • 11 Best Sunscreens for Your Face

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Wish there was more coverage!

    Not only is the coverage not that great but it doesn't last on my oily skin. I have only tried it with a sunscreen under it for oily skin and i'm thinking that may be the problem. Next time i will try it without anything under it. I just wish it had sunscreen in it so I wouldn't have to worry about putting some underneath — 6 years, 2 months ago
    kimmy1480 | 99 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great foundation!

    Why I like this: Read these words- oil-free, mattifying, and color range. That's all I needed to read to pique my interest, but let me tell you more. I know you'll be sold! This foundation not only has those properties, but I would dare to wear this without any other makeup. Did you ever have that friend (or maybe even it was you) that would wear foundation while in sweats, running an errand with ...read moreyou to pick up a plant or something as small as pick up the pampers on sale at Target? Yeh, her (or you). Being a makeup junkie, I understand the need as foundation would offer a pick me up to your otherwise dull look. However, against those sweats and hair in a pony tail, the foundation just doesn't blend with your easy going, no frills look. It just looks fake and forced. This foundation is what that friend needs (or you) to look natural, but refreshed. It blends into skin well and offers medium coverage or can be used sparingly for light coverage (my style). It feels creamy as it dispenses, but is light upon application with no greasy feel. I know this sounds gross, but I like to apply with my fingers (for a thin, lotion application). This is one of those foundations where you see someone with flawless skin, but upon further inspection realize the person has something on, not quite sure what, but her skin looks great regardless. Mat velvet+ also cuts down on finding your perfect tinted moisturizer and a great setting powder... It's all in one product! That's right! You don't have to set this foundation with a setting powder as it mattes on its own, unless you want more coverage. This foundation gave me what I expected from MAC Studio Fix Fluid. Perfect for mommies on the go! Slight dislikes: By the fifth hour or so, only my nose (after being outside in 80 degree weather) has become a star, shining brightly (usually my forehead and cheeks too share the spotlight). I'm not turning away from this foundation just because of that, since I can count on this oil blotting powder (only in spots) for my oilies that resurrect. The price point is kind of moderate- high ($34), but for two products in one with great wearability (is that a word, lol?), it's worth it. I wouldn't recommend this to someone with dry skin, unless you like the finish so much that you are sure to moisturize well with a good thick cream before hand. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    yummy411 | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 7

    Great foundation.

    This is a great foundation. Its especially good if you have a problem with oiley skin. It takes care of the shine without having to use face powder. It has great coverage and your skin feels velvety soft. Just be careful not to use too much as it will make the skin look chalkey. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    Jolaismommy | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    My Favorite Foundation

    I am so pleased with my Mat Velvet +. It gives great coverage without looking thick or gloopy, and keeps my shine under control, especially when used with a primer underneath. Never breaks my face out and goes on very smoothly and evenly. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    Retrodiva | 159 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 6 people said helpful

  • 8

    Love!

    I love this stuff. It's one of the very few foundations that doesn't wear off of my oily nose. I've often dubbed my nose "makeup-resistant", since almost everything wears off in about two hours. I love how thick it is, but it still remains blendable until it dries. It minimizes the look of my pores and I don't sweat through it like I do most foundations in the hot south Florida sun. It'...read mores a very high quality product in a good package- I love that it's heavy-duty plastic rather than glass so I don't have to deal with fear of cracks or broken bottles. It does mattify my skin and I managed to find a color that matched my skin tone- rare since my skin is fair with some strange undertones! — 6 years, 4 months ago
    mezzomaybe | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 8 people said helpful

  • 8

    great, lasting foundation

    I use this over smashbox primer, applied with fingers not sponge or brush and get a very even matte finish that almost lasts through a 12 hour shift! (I have not found ANY to last through that!) I use a mineral make-up "finishing veil" on top and it is perfect, not heavy or cakey at all. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    strawberryZen | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 11 Best Sunscreens for Your Face

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Nice coverage

    If you're looking for a foundation that has good coverage and lasts all day, look no more. It gives my face a matte, clean finish. However, my Revlon Colorstay is just as good. It is very similar for a fraction of the cost! — 6 years, 5 months ago
    natalierb | 159 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend