Philosophy Hope in a Jar Reviews

Back to Philosophy Hope in a Jar»
Sort by:
  • 6

    Love how it feels but...

    I really liked this moisturizer at first. It feels very light and makes my skin really soft. When I first started using it I noticed a big improvement in my skin's tone and texture, but after a week or two I noticed that I had started developing black heads on my cheeks. I had never gotten any type of blemish on my cheeks so I wasn't too pleased. Once I stopped using it, they slowly went away....read more I think this is a good product because of the improvement in some aspects of my skin, it just wasn't right for me. The other problem is the smell. The smell really is strong, chemically, and lingers for a long time after I apply the cream. I avoided putting it on the tip of my nose so the smell isn't as strong after I have put it on. — 3 years, 11 months ago
    kimmi_o | 71 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love this product

    When I was at the store the woman told me this was like "pouring a glass of water on your face," I couldn't agree more! I had dry patches from over treating acne when I grew up, I was also in my early 20's so there were a few oily spots as well. The combination moisturizer did wonders for me. It made my skin very soft and controlled shine after a few weeks of use. It is not too heavy which I think...read more makes it stand out from the competition. I have tried so many different moisturizers and the ones that cured the dry patches made the oily spots even worse. This is the best. — 4 years, 6 months ago
    Shamasno | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 5

    Decent

    A pretty good moisturizer, but thats really all it does, would be good for teenage skin, but I expect more out of my moisturizer! — 4 years, 6 months ago
    mari_belle_bones | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Allergic Reaction!

    Used Hope in a Jar only twice and my face is covered in little red bumps and my eyes have swollen. Beware if you have sensitive skin. — 4 years, 9 months ago
    sarjar | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love it!

    Use it everyday, It's pricey, but it lasts forever, like 5 months forever! and it goes on an feels great, makes a great base for my bare escentuals :) — 4 years, 9 months ago
    AKGALnIowa | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 3

    Horrible Smell!

    I got this as a sample from Sephora, and I can't speak to how well it works, because as soon as I put it on, I immediately had to wash it off because of the smell. It's too bad, too, because I really loved the texture of this cream. It seems like just what I have been looking for (which is why I'm giving it more than one star) but the smell is just completely gross. Too bad. — 4 years, 11 months ago
    Lemonjenny | 32 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 11 Worst Face Moisturizers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Got milia from this

    This may work for some, but all it did for me was give me milia on my cheeks (the hard white dots). Did not live up to the hype for me, and would never buy this again. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    evie8 | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    Can't be w/out it

    I LOVE this stuff. I've been using it for about 2 years now & can't be without it. I have combonation skin that is a bit sensitive and I've never had any problems with this product. My mom now uses it now too and her skin is VERY sensitive. I love that with this product you only half to use half the amount that you would use with other products... so it ends up lasting longer. I use this product i...read moren the morning and Philosophy's Miracle Worker at night. If my skin starts acting up and becomes sensitive I don't use the Miralce Worker, I go back to this product. The only thing I ever disliked about this product is the smell. I've used it long enough to where I can't detect it anymore but when I first started using it the smell kind of annoyed me. It has a smell that reminds me of what a spa smells like if you go in for a facial. I've heard some people say this stuff smells like "wet dog"... I disagree but like I said, it definitely has a smell to it. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    lngray82 | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7

    Its' good but not the greatest

    The smell is a strong lavender scent that I just don't like one bit. But I am kind of getting use to it. It moisturizes good and the texture is nice. It's a nice airy whipped consistency. I don't like using this day and night because when I do it feels heavy on me so I just use this at night. I kind of see a change in my skin tone. My skin is feeling softer and smooth. Even though it has some cons...read more to it, I still like it. If you are still interested in Hope in a Jar. I suggest you get a sample of it first or travel size to test it out. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    Valerie5390 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Body Lotions Under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    great

    So lightweight. I have dry skin and this provides sufficient mosture. Love it. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    jmondragon | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"