Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash Reviews

Back to Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Wash»
Sort by:
  • 9

    Great for sensitive skin

    I normally don't do the review thing, but I have tried so many different products since moving out west 10 years ago. I came from a humid climate, and the dryness took a toll on my skin, especially after having my kids. When I used to break out as a teen, it was occasionally, maybe one blemish every two months. After having kids, and stress with work (I know-what's stress!) my skin starting breaki...read moreng out at least twice a month because it was so dry, it was overproducing so much oil, and those super acne washes only made it worse. My skin is incredibly sensitive, but I do break out. I have tried proactive, but that dried me out even more, and did not work on my back when that gets testy during those heavy sweater months. I use this in the morning, and the oil free acne wash cleansing pads at night, and my skin does not get overly dry. I have found that it also does not overproduce oil, as I saw with some of the stronger Proactiv type cleansers with 20 million steps. I also love that it is simple, no toners, no worrying if you have cotton balls, reordering, so on. You can pick it up for an incredibly reasonable price, comparatively at almost any store, wash, put moisturizer on, and go. The cleansing cloths are the same, but one side is soft and the other has texture, which is nice after you get home from work to take your makeup off. I highly recommend this product- very good quality for an incredible price, and easily accesible for moms. One thing- since this does have salicylic acid- you cannot use this if you are pregnant! But, you also can't use anything with benzoyl peroxide in it either. If you are pregnant, ask your doc about clindamycin- very gentle gel that clears sking beautifully, no scarring and helps healing along much faster. I still keep a tube just in case. — 7 years ago
    sjsmith25 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 8 people said helpful

  • 5

    Its ok

    After using this a few times a week in a row, my skin was really dry. I had to start using it occassionally, which is ok, because it really works well! — 7 years ago
    LindseyH | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    gentle yet effective

    gentle, good for sensitive skin, doesn't leave skin dry — 7 years ago
    tali16 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 12 Best & Worst Acne Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    For Certain Skintypes, it's a great product!

    I have sensitive skin that breaks out easily but isn't excessively oily (and in many place is actually quite dry.) I use this at night only and it's not too harsh but I do feel very clean afterwards. My skin breaks out less and the break outs are less severe when I'm using this, than when I'm not. For that reason I give it high marks. It doesn't have much of a scent, good or bad. I really lik...read moree the pump dispenser so I get an even amount without too much fuss (I'm usually washing my face while my 4 year old is in the bath - the less fuss the better!) It's not a sexy product, but it does work well. — 7 years ago
    MissMo | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 6 people said helpful

  • 7

    Okay, but not amazing.

    I have combination/sensitive/acne-prone skin. This cleanser was okay. It didn't dry out my skin too much, but it also didn't seem to make my skin look better. — 7 years ago
    Chelsea_Lynne | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 5

    Ehh..it's okay.

    This stuff worked like a miracle -- for 2 days. Then it stopped. I don't know about this thing. I heard it worked for a lot of people, but it's just not for me. Ya know? — 7 years ago
    MissNattii | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 4

    dry

    didn't really see great results on my skin, maybe it works better on other people — 7 years, 1 month ago
    minaka | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Trustworthy

    This face wash is part of my daily beauty routine. I can use it morning and night without fear of it drying out my skin. It really helps control the oil and acne. — 7 years, 1 month ago
    b1binka | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Only Neutrogena

    This is the one company that always makes a great product. It does get oil off and keep it off your face, without drying out the skin. Whenever I use this product, my skin feels clean and fresh, but never dry. After 30 plus years of oily skin, this is a rare find -- a product that does not aggrivate my sensitive and still gets it very clean. — 7 years, 1 month ago
    OZARKMOON | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 12 Best & Worst Acne Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Great Face wash

    This product works wonders on my skin. Keeps my oily skin under control. Not one breakout in many many months! — 7 years, 1 month ago
    dee_dee | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend