Benefit They're Real! Mascara Reviews

Back to Benefit They're Real! Mascara»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Fav Mascara!

    Two years ago, I didn't wear mascara. For whatever reason, I had it in my mind that the repeated application and removal would make my lashes fall out and my lush lash line would eventually be bald. To solidify my stance, I had further convinced myself that mascara didn't really have a noticeable effect anyway. Silly, silly me. Now that I am a bit more seasoned in the beauty world, I know that mas...read morecara can pack a hellova punch ( in fact, sometimes it's all I wear!) and Benefit's "They're Real" Mascara not only proves this, but would have had a younger me eating my words for breakfast. Having grown out of my mascara denial, I could acknowledge that mascara really did serve a purpose, but I am always still skeptical of the claims brands make about their mascara. Let's face it, they won't say, "You must try our mascara because it does everything every other mascara does!" While honest, it won't get the sale. So you have to weed through the claims to see if the mascara is worth the klout. And Benefit's had a lot of klout. To start, you can see the product differentiated itself from other mascaras with the unique brush it sports. The tip of the brush has spikes meant to handle the bottom lashes, although I find it helps immensely with getting product on the outer lashes. I'll let the pictures reiterate that later... The brush is a rubber (as apposed to the typical fiber brushes) with evenly space bristles and the size of the brush is manageable for the inner corner lashes. The formula is wet, although not as wet as my former favorite, MAC's Zoomlash. Wetter formulas always help with separation and lengthening. This formula also has serious staying power; it doesn't flake or run! When I have tried to use the tip of a brush to get the same lift on my outer edges, I get clumps. Not. Cool. This brush seems to be specially designed for this lash maneuver. That, in addition to it being an overall great mascara makes it worth the high-end price ($22). Verdict: I highly recommend this mascara. As a mascara, it performs well, but it truly delivers on the false lash claim with a unique brush that lets you reach those previously off-limits lash zones. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    bailey_brown | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 8 people said helpful

  • 9

    Best mascara I've used!

    My eyelashes are short and curly. They curl all the way towards my lash line most of the time. This mascara lengthens them and kind of pulls them away from my lash line. My eyelashes remain curly, but they extend away from the lash line now. I will say this mascara can be clumpy if you use too much and it doesn't really add volume. I prefer length over volume, so it's perfect for me. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    MakeupAddict23 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Ignore the hype!

    This mascara is nothing special, especially for $22. The brush was okay, the smell was absolutely horrid and it didn't make my eyelashes look amazing. My bare minerals does a way better job. Took forever to get off and made my eyelashes feel crunchy. Definitely returning ASAP! — 2 years, 5 months ago
    kmarji | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Mascaras

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Best Mascara ever even for sensitive eyes!!!

    I've very sensitive eyes and can only use a few mascaras. Have also the problem of short curlles lashes and this mascara seems to be the solutions for me! Awesome lengthening and black color. Does not smudge. The brush is awesome! It's a musthave in every stash! — 2 years, 6 months ago
    Madamcoco_s | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 7 people said helpful

  • 9

    So far, so good

    So I bought this mascara yesterday and put it on this morning for the first time and right away I loved it. It was easy to use and it separated and lengthened my lashes beautifully. Not sure about removing it, but so far I am impressed — 2 years, 7 months ago
    DesertGirl84 | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 2

    sad..

    i usually love benefit but im so sad i bought this mascara it never dried all day it smudged allover my face if i squinted then it was all over my eyes!!! — 2 years, 8 months ago
    megdoesmyhair | 33 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 2

    sad...

    i love benefit but i hate this mascara... it looks great when you put it on but it never drys!!! all day it is smudging and if you squint its everywhere!!!! made me sad... — 11 months, 1 week ago
    megdoesmyhair | 33 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 6

    Eh

    I like that my lashes do not clump but it doesn't hold the curl after using an eyelash curler. I will probably not buy another one after I use this one up. — 2 years, 9 months ago
    meaniefilipinie | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    Benefit Mascara

    This is the best mascara I've used in a long time. It makes your lashes extra long just like the false lash look. It doesn't flake off and stays on all day until you wash it off. I highly recommend this product! — 2 years, 8 months ago
    AmyMer | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 8 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Mascaras

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Big, Bold, Beautiful

    I love Benefit BadGal lash and when I saw they had a new product coming out I had to try it!! They're Real is a fantastic product, I use it for nighttime/dramatic makeup and its perfect. The only issue I've experienced is it may clump but the wand end can remove the clumps. — 2 years, 9 months ago
    easpranger | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend