Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask Reviews

Back to Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Oil-Absorbing Mask»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Great extra pamper for combination skin

    I use this mask twice a week on my T zone. After I rinse off the mask I apply on my nose a Biore nose strip for blackheads and my blackheads clean off nicely. — 1 year ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    I like

    Paula’s Choice Carbon mask is a wonderful product for people with oily skin and who’s battling acne. I find when I use this product it gets out all the impurities and gives you a smoother, softer skin. But is not the best for someone with sensitive skin due to irritation. In some cases my skin is sensitive to some products and this is one of the. It sometimes leaves my skin red and inflamed but I still love using it for getting rid of impurities and handling oil. — 4 years ago
    CaseyD | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 14 Best and Worst At-Home Facial Peels

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Good Stuff

    Not for sensitive skin. For the rest of you, product is really great at reducing the oily look of my skin. Face feels fresh and really clean after removing. — 5 years ago
    Allonfla | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    This product hurts

    I have followed Paul Begoun's recommendations for years and use milk of magnesia as a mask several times a week on my 57 year old face which has suffered acne since age 6. I got free samples of this when I purchased my usual Paula's Choice products (2% BHA; One Step Face Cleanser; All Over Hair & Body Shampoo - my favorites). I had hopes the Carbon Mask would work even better than MOM for so...read moreothing my skin and absorbing oil, but it didn't. It is somewhat gel-like, grey with black flecks (charcoal or silt?) and has a chemical odor I associate with solvents. Like a previous reviewer, I experienced a burning sensation which did not lessen the 15+ minutes it was on my face. It reminded me of the burn I experienced with Sea Breeze, a product Paul Begoun denounced years ago for its alcohol content and irritating aromatics. I do not consider my skin to be especially sensitive, but it seems to be sensitive to this product. Glad the sample was free. I'd give it zero stars if that was a choice. — 5 years, 3 months ago
    FaceSaver1 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good Dual Performer

    I have confusing skin. Oily, with dry patches. This mask did very well with my skin. Not carbon part of this mask absorbs the oil and the emollients it's mixed with quench the dryness. This is a well balance skin treatment. And just to comment on the review about it stinging. It helps to know that, if you are doing extreme exfoliating treatments like this reviewer is, using other products wi...read morethin 24 to 48 hours of deep exfoliation will sting. The skin is extra sensitive after exfoliating peels. So just bare in mind that most of us who know the scoop will get good to great results with this product without stinging. — 5 years, 4 months ago
    jennyofmany | 130 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10 Best At-Home Microdermabrasion Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Horrible...........try the sample size first

    I tried to use Paula's choice carbon mask couple of days ago and the experience was horrible. Just after I put it on my face started to sting so badly that is incomparable with anything else. But I did not take it of, I thought the stinging will go away. The entire 15/20 minutes I had that mask on it felt like someone is pouring hot water on my face. Thank god I bought some samples and not the ful...read morel size tube. I dont have sensitive skin, in fact I have been using 30% glycolic acid peel on face for last one year. I am 32 years old and have mildly oily skin. I guess if it works for you then it works for you if it doesn't then its horrible thing. So highly recommend try the sample sizes before buying the full size. — 5 years, 5 months ago
    nashams | 115 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    works great

    does the job!! love it — 5 years, 6 months ago
    misses143 | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Good Even for Dry Skin

    I use this mask because I suffer from hormonal acne from time to time, but my skin is actually dry/normal. I got a cool tingly feeling for a few minutes, then the mask was calming. My skin was so soft and smooth after rinsing. It's definitely a great weekly treatment for clearing and calming the skin. — 5 years, 7 months ago
    Lavendar | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 14 Best and Worst At-Home Facial Peels

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Great for excessive oily skin

    I love this there is no irritating ingrediants in here like other stuff made for oily/acne skin. I had been using DDF sulfer mask and like the results from this better. My skin feel fresher a little longer from Paula's choise. And when you have excessive oily skin like me any little bit helps. — 5 years, 11 months ago
    erikakire79 | 38 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • Page:
  • 1
Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend