Garnier Fructis Style Fiber Gum Putty Pliable Molding Reviews

Back to Garnier Fructis Style Fiber Gum Putty Pliable Molding»
Sort by:
  • 9

    Good enough putty for the price

    We got this a few months ago. My bf sometimes uses hair products (when he has to look sleek) and let's face it, gel is plain creepy and sleezy on guys. So, he is the brother of a fancy hairstylist and is used to buy high-end hair products. But not up in this joint. I told him there was not much economic risk buying this putty-- as it is less than 5 bucks. He enjoys it. It holds well, not crunchy a...read morend I like it because it won't transfer to the couches or bedspread. Oh and one jar last forever, a little goes a long way. I assume it'll go rancid before he finishes it. — 1 year, 10 months ago
    sublimeonacid | 30 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    If you want crunchy hair, dirty looking hair ...

    My husband and I shared this product. He has short hair and I have long, layered, fine but thick hair. On both of our hair types and using it on dry hair and wet hair, the results were not good any time for either of us. For him, it gave his hair a stuck-together, crunchy, shiny scalp look, making his thick hair look like he has thinning hair, which he does not. On me, it made my hair look greasy...read more shortly after applying it, no matter the technique. I fought the crunchy factor as well. It didn't help my waves or curls to hold or have that pretty piecey look, just weighted down and dirty looking. We bought the surf hair product (looks just like this one but with a yellow lid) and it has worked well for both of us. So if you're displeased like us with this one, try Surf Hair. — 2 years, 1 month ago
    SFreeman | 15 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Sticky

    I bought this looking for something that will define and add weight to my naturally curly hair, without making it crunchy. Well it succeeded I that sense. It didn't make my hair crunchy, but it's a sticky, gooey mess. I'm looking for something to control friz but that's also soft enough so that it still allows me to run my fingers through my curls. Mission not accomplished. Thank god this wasn't e...read morexpensive, because it was a complete waste of money. Usually in the situation of buying a product I'm unhappy with, I'll give it to my roommates, whom I consider to be far less beauty conscious than I am and low maintenance- but they didn't even want to take it! It ended up in the trash. — 2 years, 1 month ago
    BareeFacedBeautyy | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    4 Star Product

    This is an excellent product if you want to wear you hair curly or wavy. Just take a small scoop & apply it on damp hair. It makes your hair soft & gives you a strong, bouncy hold. — 2 years, 4 months ago
    chunkemdeuces | 53 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Review subject

    This stuff is very hard to was out of your hair, your hair feels dirty even after washing it. I was disappointed. — 2 years, 5 months ago
    amy_pierce_adams | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    good for curly girls

    a friend and fellow curly girl recommended this to me recently. so i went out and bought and boy, im glad i did haha. i have super curly hair (prob about 3c) and frizz is my worst enemy. I used to use gel but it left my hair too stiff, with no movememnt. But this stuff is great, it defines my curls and does not leave my hair hard or too sticky. The hold lasts all day for my curls. Ive already boug...read moreht two more jars cause it was on sale at Walgreens. I suggest you try this if you have curly, frizzy hair.Theres no noticable smell i picked up on. I love my hair so much more now :) — 3 years, 4 months ago
    ronita64 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 17 Best Hair Gels

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Great for curly hair!

    This stuff actually works really well for those that have frizz-prone, really curly hair. Put a small amount on when hair is 3/4 dry, style with wet fingers (at no point in my hair routine do I use a comb or brush or anything but fingers), and use a few squirts of hairspray. Most people use too much of the fiber gum putty, so it gets stiff or sticky. You want this distributed evenly throughout ...read moreyour hair, but NOT heavily! Use wet hands when you apply it to help get a light even coat and don't spend too much time working it in or you'll separate all your curls and end up with frizz. Don't leave off the hairspray or you'll have frizz. Also, about 20 minutes after you apply product and hairspray, your hair will have air-dried some and gotten a little crunchy. The last and most important step in the whole process happens here: wet your hands and scrunch and fluff hair gently, then respray and you should be set for the day! If you do not do this, you will likely end up with crunchy/frizzy hair all day because of the way curly hair dries. — 3 years, 6 months ago
    curlyTX | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 5

    It's GREAT for certain styles and hair types..

    I've used many Garnier Fructis products.. The trick is to use the product(s) that are right for your hair type, texture and style you are trying to achieve. The Garnier Fructis website is full of useful styling information and tips to get the proper products. I use coupons whenever possible and I play around w/ products before throwing in the towel so to speak. I use it sparingly and add more t...read moreill the desired style is reached.. Some products make the cut and others don't.. If you truly think the product doesn't work call the 1-800 number and speak w/ a customer service rep who will help you and in some cases you can get your money back... Good Luck — 3 years, 11 months ago
    CoryRB | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Ok

    I think it was a little sticky, but had a nice hold. It may be better if you like a little hold. — 4 years, 5 months ago
    Shelby___ | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    Good for the price

    Love this stuff, holds and shapes my hair without making it crispy feeling... — 5 years, 6 months ago
    opheliatrix | 29 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend