Maybelline New York Shiny-licious Lip Gloss Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Shiny-licious Lip Gloss»
Sort by:
  • 6

    So-So Gloss, So Save Your Money.

    This gloss is ok in terms of price, quantity, and scent, which were the only things I really liked about it. First of all, while it's very shiny, it's doesn't last at all. Within a half hour all of the gloss is gone, leaving behind a waxy residue that makes my lips feel dry. Next, while there is a very good color selection, all of the colors are very sheer. I really wanted a deep red gloss, but wh...read moreen I tried it out, while it looked opaque in the tube it came on very sheer with barely any hint of color. Combine this with the atrocious staying power, and you've got massive failure. If you're looking for a cheap sheer gloss, this is great. If you want something with a bit of longevity or color to it, then save your money. — 6 years ago
    nat24042 | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Luscious Lips With ShinyLicious Gloss!

    I have this one in Cola-float (a soft blush), Berry Bella (a bright fuschia), Strawberry Tart (a deep watermelon), Cherry Berry (a true apple red), and Cinnamon Apple (a deep crimson). With these glosses, it seems to be a hit or miss experience because they all have different scents/flavors and the shades range from almost invisible sheer to medium coverage, with/without shimmer and glitter, etc. ...read moreThe Cinnamon Apple is my least favorite thus far, as I prefer shimmer in my glosses instead of glitter particles, and this one is overloaded with latter. I adore the Berry Bella shade because its a vivid yet wearable pink; one swipe and it gives you a nice flush, two or more and you have a pop of color. It works well to offset any tan you might have as well. I do have an issue with the scents of most of these glosses, however. They are overpowering much of the time and take quite a while to fade, most of the time being overly chemical/artificial. The Berry Bella is one that I can stand more than the others because its a strong yet pleasent fruit punch fragrance. The staying power of these is incredible; they even stay put through a bite to eat or a drink of water. However, because they're so long wearing, that aspect is accompanied by the fact that they are fairly thick and sticky. But hey, if you want your gloss to last, you can't expect them to not be a bit on the heavier side as far as consistency goes. The original applicator tip on these is one that I really loved; thin and fuzzy with a hole in the center for the gloss to come out of. They have since changed the tip to a wider, hard plastic one that I'm not as fond of. These impart a juicy shine on your lips, and wear off evenly; as the shine fades, the color of some shades like Strawberry Tart remains for a while longer. These are a great value as well because you get .45 oz of product in the tube, so they last for a long time and aren't costly. I find a couple shades to be more moisturizing than others, and like I said, it's pretty much a hit or miss scenario with these. Overall, once you find a shade you like, you'll find that you keep coming back to this one. — 6 years, 1 month ago
    simplysweet | 26 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 6

    lackluster

    This gloss does not smell good and it doesn't have much of a tint. — 6 years, 2 months ago
    mnaughton98 | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 14 Lip Glosses We're Obsessed With

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Definitely a gloss to try

    I went into a drugstore with a friend and saw that these lip glosses were on sale, and there were coupons that went with them - my friend and I both ended up getting three each. Some have an applicator that looks like a doe-foot tip with a hole in the center where the gloss comes out, and others have a new flat applicator similar to the covergirl wetslicks fruit spritzers glosses. The gloss itsel...read moref is not too sticky and pretty sheer. I find they have greater staying power than the covergirl wetslicks fruit spritzers, which was a plus. Something to watch out for is that the scents of the gloss match the gloss name - for example, cola-float has a cola/bottlecap smell, while pink sorbet has a sweet and fruity scent. I personally don't mind the fragrance, but just keep that in mind. :) If I didn't have so much lip gloss already, I'd pick up a few more tubes! — 6 years, 2 months ago
    esthetique | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Ooh, lisciousness!

    This lip gloss is a great bang for the buck. I bought it in lolly pink on a whim when I was on a lip-gloss-buying spree, and this is the one lip gloss from that shopping trip that's still a mainstay in my purse. It has good staying power for a gloss, and doesn't disappear minutes after applying. It also has a great sheen to it, and it isn't too gooey. It looks good on its own, or it's a great glos...read mores to put over your lipstick. Another thing that makes me love this gloss is that it's packaged really well, and there's never any product build up around the cap. So many glosses have caps and tubes that aren't designed well and end up somehow leaking product all over the linings of my handbags... Not with this gloss, though... With this gloss, I love both the tube and the product inside...Oh, and I also love the spongy applicator. Some people are turned off by the flavors of certain colors, but I'd recommend experimenting and finding the right shade and flavor for you. At this price, the experimenting will be well worth it, because this really is a top-quality lip gloss that's a true bargain. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    EvaLuna | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 3

    Horrible Lipgloss

    I bought a two pack at Target for cheap in Pink Sorbet. I never tried their lipglosses and decided to give this a try. From the packaging, the lip gloss looked like a baby milky pink...a color that I was looking for. However, I was highly dissappointed by this product. I definitely will not be buying this again! Texture: This product wasn't sticky like most lipglosses. It went on smooth and al...read moremost feels moisturizing. But it dried out my lips. Color: Looks can be decieving, especially this lip gloss. When applied, I was hoping for a milky pink color, instead it gave me a clear color. I guess if you're looking for clear lip gloss, this might win over you. Staying Power: Shiny-licious lives up to its name for about a couple minutes, after that, you have to re-apply again! There is definitely so staying power for this lip gloss. This was the first time I've ever tried Maybelline's lip glosses and most likely I will not be buying their lip products again!! I'm glad this was cheap! — 6 years, 3 months ago
    fabulessbeauty | 66 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    very shiny!

    This gloss is really shiny. I love the color choices- especially coconut cream. It's not sticky or goopy. Even though I like this gloss I wish that it would last a litle longer. Overall, this is a really good lipgloss that is worth the price! — 6 years, 3 months ago
    brunettebeauty | 86 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love, Love, LOVE this Gloss!!!

    I absolutely love this lip gloss. The texture is amazing and the colors / scents are to die for! This is the most summery gloss out there. The color in the tube actually shows up on your lips, so you get exactly what you buy. The sponge tip applicator makes applying a cinch! "Coconut" is my new favorite nude gloss and goes with me everywhere. "Melon Ball" is a great summer coral and "Watermelon" is a fabulous summer red. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    krudder30 | 189 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Lolly Pink Rocks!

    I think they glosses are great, however,I do not like them a well as the cg losses, however, the ones I do wear reguarly are great and a bit sticky ...I actually like the smell too! I love" crushed candy, berry-bella, melon-ball, lolly pink(my fav), berry-clear, and strawberry tart! — 6 years, 4 months ago
    BonJour773 | 80 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 14 Lip Glosses We're Obsessed With

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    loveable lips!

    Ok I love this stuff. I bought it in a hurry when i realized i forgot to put makeup on for my sister-in-laws graduation... I love the fact that its not sticky or clumpy. It goes on smooth. I got the Raiz'n Razzzle and it smells soo good and the taste isnt bad either. You can wear it all day and only have to apply it maybe once all day, and the price is reasonable for what you get! — 6 years, 4 months ago
    mommalimond | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend