Revlon ColorStay Makeup for Normal/Dry Skin Reviews

Back to Revlon ColorStay Makeup for Normal/Dry Skin»
Sort by:
  • 9

    True to its word.

    I'm going to preface my review by saying that I am a mineral make up lover through and through (or so I thought). I love my Everyday Minerals base, it evens out my skin tone, looks natural and keeps my skin healthy. However, late last year I went on a search to find a foundation that would last my full work day. My mineral make up just wasn't cutting it no matter what I tried and my days were too ...read morebusy to stop work and re-apply my make up when it was looking a little tired. Spurred on by all the excellent reviews on Total Beauty I went and had a look at Revlon Colour Stay at my local chemist. I found my colour match almost straight away which pleased me and I was even more pleased when I found it still matched when I got home and looked at it in non cosmetic counter lighting! I use a damp sponge to apply this when my moisturiser has had only 1-2 minutes to absorb. I find less is more with this foundation or it can become cakey. Once I've worked quickly to blend it in it is easy to apply more with the damp sponge if need be and I find a light misting of a facial spray can help stop it from drying too quickly. Having finished my first bottle recently I can say I am very impressed with this product. It does stay all day and the finish is wonderfully natural with just the right amount of 'dewiness' to prevent my skin looking dried out and drab. I use a light dusting of loose powder under my eyes and around my mouth/nose to prevent creasing and it looks fresh all day. Revlon, you have restored my faith in liquid foundations (but you're packaging sucks)! — 1 year, 3 months ago
    sarah711 | 22 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    Loved

    I really loved this foundation when I first started using it but after a while it looked really cakey though I loved the coverage it gave. Now I use it as cover up and it works PERFECTELY. It covers anything I want with out looking overly cakey. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    oliviagirl | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Well worth buying!

    Since I started wearing makeup, I stuck to the same mineral powder as I was too scared to try a liquid. But eventually, when I couldn't stand how orange and cakey the powder looked, I decided to change my ways. It has been the best makeup choice I've ever made. This foundation is so light and easy to apply, looks natural and matches my skin perfectly despite how fair I am. I applied it with a Real...read more Techniques foundation brush and it went on like a dream! You can layer it well and it doesn't look orange or heavy. Don't be afraid of this liquid foundation - it's wonderful. Expensive for a chemist foundation, but absolutely worth the price! I love it. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    AngharadBentley | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  28 of 30 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Foundations

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Love this foundation!

    I'm one of those girls who frequently try out new makeup to try and find the best product out there- and I've finally come across it. This makeup is perfect. I apply it when sponge wedges, and the texture looks very natural. It dries within a couple minutes, and once its dry you can apply whatever powders to your face and it won't mess up the foundation at all. I am a redhead and my face has a lot...read more of pink undertones, and I also have a few blemishes here and there. After I put on this foundation, my skin looks flawless and you would never know that my skin is otherwise pretty crappy looking. Since I am so fair, I brighten up my face with a little bronzer and blush, and I always get compliments on my makeup. I put the tiniest amount of power ontop of everything just to set it all, and it lasts all day. I can even go swimming with it and when I get out of the pool my skin still looks flawless. Revlon colorstay is a miracle and I have been using it for probably about a year now, and I don't plan on switching! I use the foundation for oily skin in buff. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    lindseyroseee | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  46 of 46 people said helpful

  • 10

    BETTER THAN MAC!!

    I'm sooo in love with this foundation!! — 1 year, 3 months ago
    cosmeticscrush | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    Tinkle in my Eye...

    I rarely ever post anything on Total Beauty but I do love to read other post from women about their beauty experiences all the time. But this particular post pertains to Revlon Colorstay make-up in Combination/Oily Skin in Mahogany. I was sooooooooooooooooooooooo very skeptical at first about trying this foundation. Finding the right color, texture and price can get exhausting. But after doing som...read moree heavy duty reviewing and throwing caution to the wind, I decided to go ahead and give it a try. I brought the make-up on Friday, June 15, 2012 and I didn't get the chance to use it until the following day. But I will back up a bit before I explain the experience. I have truly bad acne/oily/blemished skin and I have a very hard time finding make-up that is true to my skin and my beauty. I've used high-end foundation to drug store but this is the best on I've ever came across in all of my makeup using years!!!! It made me literally wanna cry at how it made my skin feel and look. I have the right color, it stays on, it does cause my face to look like I rinsed it in olive oil. If I could marry this foundation I would because I finally found my true love. It's the best thing that I own besides all the shoes I own(which is a lot). I feel like a million bucks and my confidence is insane. Revlon, I don't know if you read reviews from other sites but if you do, hear my Tiger roar, I LOVE YOU!!! — 1 year, 3 months ago
    Defined | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  46 of 49 people said helpful

  • 10

    My go-to foundation

    I ALWAYS go back to this foundation, idk why I even attempt to try others......curious I guess. This formula lasts all darn day. I have light-med skin with patches of melasma and I use Buff and Sand Beige mixed then I have to add a few sprinkles of Turmeric powder (I break open a capsule) then I get my perfect shade. I apply quickly with a stippling brush, then use it as a concealer where needed. ...read moreSET WITH CLEAR POWDER--there are many brands, I use Luminess clear powder---then I apply cream blush with a stipling brush on top of that (wait a few minutes to let settle though). The look is flawless, soft, luminous, excellent coverage, and I only need one touchup during the whole day on sides of nose and chin where I get a bit oily. This is a must have. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    jennifer_likness | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  21 of 24 people said helpful

  • 10

    one of the best

    I have tried a lot of foundations spending up to $50! I learned that Revlon owns Mac and a girlfriend suggested this so i tried it and its my new foundation. Apply it with a beauty blender! — 1 year, 3 months ago
    Mudpond | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  16 of 20 people said helpful

  • 9

    One of my go to Foundations

    I do love this foundation very much. I found the color selection was minimal and I end up purchasing 150 buff normal/dry skin. When you apply the foundation make sure to do it in sections then apply your chosen powder as you go. If you apply the foundation all over the face, then apply powder the foundation doesn't have as much coverage. It is a matte look for sure, it doesn't have a glow or dewy ...read morefeel to it. Another thing I love about this foundation it fits any type of skin type like oily or dry. I very much recommend this foundation and it does truly have 24 hour coverage. Decent price and amazing quality!! Go get it now :) — 1 year, 3 months ago
    eramstrong93 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Foundations

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Best Drug Store Full Coverage

    I really like this foundation for the coverage it gives. I have dry skin occasionally and I find it works best if I use a damp sponge to apply it and Since this foundation drys quick it is easier to blend with a damp sponge so Definitely try it like that if other techniques aren't working for you. So yea overall I would recommend this product to anyone needing to cover scars or just likes the full...read more coverage look. With that said, It is a heavy foundation and you will definitely feel it on your skin so keep that in mind. Also, very minor rub off and it really is a long lasting foundation even through sweat!! The best drug store full coverage foundation in my opinion. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    Its_Me_Pal | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend