Sexy Hair Spray and Play Harder Firm Volumizing Hairspray Reviews

Back to Sexy Hair Spray and Play Harder Firm Volumizing Hairspray»
Sort by:
  • 8

    Review subject

    I use this for styles that demand structure or detail. It gives me an outstanding lasting hold for firm styles. The downside is I hate the smell, very strong chemical sort of smell. The smell does disappear after about ten minutes and I can only smell any other hair product I have in afterwards. It will give me lots of volume for a down style as well, more than any other product I've tried, but at...read more the cost of a very crisp and hard feel. I prefer my hair to remain soft when it's down, but if I'm in the mood for big volume I'll use this. My current 5 minute everyday hairstyle is a messy bun at my crown after I pull it back tight and smooth and neat. I use this with a gel and my hair hold all day long every time. — 2 years ago
    amanda_c | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    LOVE IT!

    I've been using this hairspray for the past couple of years. I use it when i tease my ultra-fine hair and it seriously lives up to the name! The only problem I had with it is that I cannot really use it for my bangs or areas that I need to be smoothed. Otherwise, its really great for volumizing! — 2 years, 7 months ago
    Rcorde5 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Dislike

    I was told that this would work for straight, thin hair. I used it and absolutely hated it. Did not work for me and my hair at all. Don't recommend using. — 2 years, 7 months ago
    aubby | 29 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Hairsprays

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Great Hairspray!

    I have long hair and I love to put it in hot rollers and get some seriously big and sexy hair goin on......this stuff is my go to. Holds like a dream and gives volume to boot, def worth the $18! I've been using it for years and don't plan on changing anytime soon. — 3 years, 6 months ago
    Hunnygrl82 | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 6

    Not that impressed...

    This hairspray does give volume, but doesn't do much of anything else... it doesn't hold my bangs in place or keep my little flyaways down. For the price, it could be a lot better. I think I might try the Bead Head products everyone else is talking about... — 4 years, 6 months ago
    Mindys4 | 84 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 6

    Not bad

    I have very long straight hair, no bangs. I thought that this product did fairly well. It's not glue, but a fine mist keeps away fly-aways down and was not too heavy. My hair still had flow to it. I have tried better, but for the price, I feel that it was pretty good. — 4 years, 10 months ago
    Terrastamy | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    I love this stuff!!!

    I'm a hairstylist and this stuff is my favorite. I use it every day. My hair is thick and it holds mine very well. I can also brush it out and restraighten my hair on the second day, and then respray it. I've never noticed any flaking or oiliness at all. — 5 years, 7 months ago
    Lea1972 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    Maximum Hold

    All you ladies (and gents) out there who need maximum hold thoughout the whole night out, this is your product! Once i used Sexy Hair Spray and Play Harder, I fell in love. I went out dancing that night and my hair stayed thoughout the night. It gives you the hold without the look of oversprayed hair. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    disturbedchyld | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 4

    did not give me a lift.

    i have thick naturally curly hair, and i been on a hair straightening frenzy. i get a nice sleek look with a straightening iron, but i wanted to try this to get more body. i think that it is too much for my coarse hair- it just was weighed down. i don't feel like it was intended for my hair type. i also didn't like the smell-that's always a deal breaker for me with hair products! i have to like the smell, and so does my man! — 6 years, 4 months ago
    tinylittlebird | 88 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 13 Best Hairsprays

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    From a hair stylist

    This hairspray holds I will give it that, but it is Very dulling and almost adds a spider web looking effect if you spray to much(definately not good for updo's) and is very flaky when brushed out. I think the whole line is overpriced for the average working family. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    anniedooday | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend