Iman Creme to Powder Foundation Reviews

Back to Iman Creme to Powder Foundation»
Sort by:
  • 10

    The Best!

    I had made it to the point where I had given up on foundation. If I found my skin color, the undertone was wrong, usually making me look ashy. If I went for the undertone, it was too dark. I tried mixing multiple shades together to get a color, but I only got so so results (and it was way too much work!). I'm no foundation novice. I tried Bare Minerals, Revelon, Max Factor, Fashion Fair, Cover Gir...read morel, Maybelline, L'Oreal, Avon, MAC, Clinique, Estee Lauder, Lancome, Black Radience, Origins, Too Faced, Black Opal, (and that's just off the top of my head). I came to the conclusion that I must be some odd color that cannot ever be matched. But I was wrong. I did some rearch online about Iman, then went to Ulta and bought Clay #3. It didn't look bad, but when I applied heavy coverage, it was too orange & too dark so I took it back. I found my best match in Clay #2 because it has just the right combination of orange/ yellow mixture without any of that chalk like ashy undertone. It stays on well through the day, but it does transfer some. When I set it with the loose powder in Sand medium, and it looks perfect all day. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    Victorywriter | 47 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great for all complexions

    I have very dark skin and have always had trouble finding foundation. I was pleased to fine Iman' s product line because she provides options for every complexion. Overall, I have been please with this foundation. — 5 years, 8 months ago
    staredecisis | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Thank the heavens for IMAN

    I was first introduced to this product over 9 years ago whilst I was in the Caribbean. Firstly I have very oily acne prone skin and a dark brown complexion, so most brands, (Revlon, MAC, Covergirl etc) either gave me minimal coverage to hide my pigment marks, broke me out, intensified the oil slick, or turned me a bizarre shade of either orange or ashy peach. And as I spent most of my year traveli...read moreng in all climates my skin color was ever changing, so I was most relieved to find a brand that gave realistic shades for woman of color, It was not long before got my mom hooked ( She is more iman complexion) and my sis ( More Tyra complexion). The product does come with a nice applicator sponge, which does give you a good finish however its is easy to apply to much with this sponge so i opt for a foundation brush and apply it wet. If you have to wear makeup for work etc everyday this will probably last you anywhere from 3 months to a year. It sets nicely with any powder and if you do have oily skin like I dom then you will be relieved to know that when you blot throughout the day you foundation still looks great. — 5 years, 8 months ago
    loriana99 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 12 Worst Foundations

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    My One and only!

    I love love love Iman's second to none cream to powder foundation, and pretty much all of her products. As a woman of color there are not many companies who cater specifically to our unique needs. Iman's products do just that, I just wished more stores carried them. — 5 years, 9 months ago
    Foxijt | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 3

    A Not So Light Foundation

    This foundation did not look so good on me. I felt like I had on too much make up. It felt "caked on." The compact was very convenient to carry in my purse. I did not find this product to be easy to find in the stores. I mostly found it at Target. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    veebee2 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good match skin tone

    This product suppose to be match skin tone of women,of differ shades — 6 years, 8 months ago
    sea3000 | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 7

    It is what it is

    Many complain about Iman's products being too cakey and muddy, and I have to admit like the brand "Fashion Fair" she previously had a reputation for that... but her new products seem as though she's reworked the formulas... Cause I really like this product. I'm an Earth 2 .. so I'm a medium-dark brown in skin tone.. I have to work you with this product, the misconception is that its like...read more a powder.. and it's NOT. It's a CREME to powder, which makes all the difference in how you apply it. Less is more. My greatest advise is that this is full coverage product.. and i wouldn't recommend applying it with the sponge provided and it takes up too much product which leaves that muddy/fake " I'm wearing a LOT of makeup" look and also makes you face really flat and unattractive.. but that can happen with any full coverage product... remember about 75% of the time it's the tools you use that affect how your product looks. I learned that the hard way ... ( ahhh the scary old pictures hidden under my bed at the moment that forever capture my experimental days) Anyways apply this with a foundation brush... you can even wet the brush for less coverage.. whats great is that lthis product is dense you can also use it to cover mild scars with a stipling/concealer brush .... i actually use this as a concealer due to it's matte appeal and there's no need to set it... in conjunction with her pressed powder for a complete look... Other than that I like the colors... I daresay she could expand them of course.. but if you dont find that exact match.. try going for a liquid instead and then using a loos powder to adjust the color somewhat or mixing... To be honest I use 2 foundation colors.. as with most dark skin there are too many undertones on my face and i cannot get a natural finish with just one. So i apply the dark around and as sculpting and the lighter color on the inside of my face highlighting the bridge of my nose and atop my cheekbones. Works like a charm!!! — 7 years ago
    Zuleikha | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 7 people said helpful

  • 1

    Not very pleased

    I am a women of color. Foundation for my skin tone is very hard to find. Either it is too light or too dark. My skin tone is medium being in between but yet still hard to match. I tried Iman several years ago and was very dissatisfied with the results. It was very cakey and looked like mud. — 7 years ago
    Spadiva | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • Page:
  • 1
Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend