Paul Mitchell Color Shampoo Reviews

Back to Paul Mitchell Color Shampoo»
Sort by:
  • 2

    Bizarre!

    I paid way too much for this shampoo and the conditioner too! After two weeks of daily use (Bottle clearly states that the shampoo and the conditioner are for "daily use.") I noticed that the back of my head/hair was really limp, oily and felt like it was thicker than usual. It really made my hair greasy. I stopped using any other hair products and went easy on the conditioner and STILL saw the...read more same results the next day. This product is truly bizarre! I have never had a problem with greasy hair. In fact, if anything my hair is dry. At first I thought the texture it added was great. But, over the course of two weeks the greasy (perhaps waxy?) buildup was outrageous. I've gone back to using just Pantene's Colorcare Shampoo and Conditioner and in one day my hair already looks and feels better. I'm wondering if instead of "daily use" this product would work better for once a week or every two weeks, just to add texture for those of us with dry, limp hair. It was nice at first, but went waaay overboard on the grease factor. — 1 year, 8 months ago
    sparrowlover | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 1

    Awful!

    This product does not work. I have been using it for about two weeks. I have to stop. I just washed my hair this morning and by night it is greasier than ever! I have never had a problem with dirty/oily hair but I do now! This product does not clean my hair and it doesn't even smell that good either - probably because my hair is dirty! SAVE YOUR MONEY — 3 years, 7 months ago
    starfish88 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    paul mitchell

    keeps your color from fading ,spells fresh, and lathers great. and price is normaly priced for a great professional product — 4 years, 6 months ago
    annica | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Bad Choice RUN)

    I do like some of their hair style products, but NO to this color treated shampoo (orange cap). I was so fustrated after several pumps and still NO LATHER! The conditioner was just as BAD. Sorry but Paul Mitchell went wrong with this product. Save your money!! I am using Dove color treated and it lathers wonderful! BUT my choice is AVEDA color care, it smells GREAT, and leaves your hair soft and silky. Cons, way over price! — 4 years, 7 months ago
    Cyntiha | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    No good

    It left my hair oily and unwashed feeling. The conditioner works a lot better but the shampoo didn't feel like it cleaned my hair at all. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    drummergrl | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 2

    Crappy

    First let me say that I love Paul Mitchell products. Second let me say that this product line sucks. I bought a set of the shampoo and conditioner after going really read a few years ago. It made my hair so limp and greasy. Another nasty effect was that after a week I noticed I had scalp odor, as if I hadn't been washing hair. It was impossible to lather and never left me feeling clean. As for preserving color, my red was still bleeding down the drain while I used it. Not a good product. — 4 years, 10 months ago
    red1978 | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    Too drying

    The product left my hair feeling dry. Color was no different. — 6 years, 1 month ago
    dnorbet | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Dont try it

    I love paul mitchell products, but this was very disapointing. It was hard to use, and my hair felt brittle afterit. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    katybugmom | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Unworthy of the Paul Mitchell name

    This shampoo does not lather and leaves my hair feeling stripped and dry. I cannot comment on the color protection because I had to stop using it. I have used other Paul Mitchell products and loved them. Very disappointing. — 6 years, 4 months ago
    williams1115 | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Clumpy

    I didn't like this product. The application was difficult, it doesn't really lather-up. I can't tell you if it helped color retention because the application was so poor I quit using it. — 6 years, 7 months ago
    Tooter | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend