Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo Reviews

Back to Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo»
Sort by:
  • 9

    A Shower Staple!

    Overall, Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo is a life saver for my tresses. It removes product build up and leaves my hair soft, clean and oil-free! My hair definitely feels healthier and looks so much better after using the shampoo. In fact, I love Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo so much that its going to be a shower staple. — 3 years, 11 months ago
    fabulessbeauty | 66 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 6

    Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo Cleans the YUK Out of Your Hair

    Many people resort to styling products and lots of hair spray to keep their hair styles, intact. But the downside of using a lot of product is that, over time, they tend to build up and coat your hair, making it dull and sometimes, even sticky. And, if you get a pricey blow-out and then don't wash your hair for a while, natural oils, plus dirt and other pollutants, can also coat your hair and make...read more it hard to clean thoroughly. But one product that has been on the market for 30 years, quietly sitting on store shelves, can help: it's Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo is just $5.99 for a 6 oz, bottle. This shampoo looks nearly clear in it's minimalist, plastic bottle, but it can help remove all kinds of styling products, shampoos and conditioners, dirt, yuk, gunk, spray...whatever is coating your hair and making it dull. Although I can't quantify this claim, Neutrogena says that the shampoo used once a week can remove 90% of dulling residue build-up, instantly. The shampoo is super-foamy with that Neutrogena fresh scent. There are no artificial dyes or colorants. Neutrogena says it is good for all hair types and it is fairly mild. However, if you have fresh color on your hair, you might not want to use it. If you do, use it only when your hair really needs it--maybe bi-monthly (or consult with your hair colorist before using any clarifying shampoo). Because my hair is colored, I let my husband try this product. He LOVED it --the foam, and the soft, clean, shiny results. While his opinion is just that--his opinion--I could see the difference in how his hair looked and felt. The evidence was undeniable. In case you want to know what is in this product, here are some of the key ingredients: Water, ammonium lauryl sulfate, cocamide dea, cocamidopropyl betaine, glycerin, imidazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, citric acid, fragrance.... You can find Neutrogena Anti-Residue Shampoo at your favorite mass market retailer or online at http://www.neutrogena.com/ — 4 years ago
    advicesisterA | 61 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    A once a week must use product!

    This shampoo will definitely revitalize your hair. I used it this week after a hard week of styling (I swear, i could still feel the hair spray and gel in my hair even after washing!). My hair was suddenly light, shiny and had more volume. The only problem with this product is the smell- I'm not a big fan. — 4 years ago
    15MinuteBeauty | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 3

    Horrible for African American Hair

    I have natural hair that is curly. I have to say while the product does do what it claims - remove residue from the hair, the ingredient list is nothing but chemicals and I wouldn't recommend this product for use on anyone's hair let alone for women of color. The smell is somewhat pleasant but for some its too medicinal. I get that but that's not what bothered me most. I only rated it a 3 because the product does what it claims (but with the help of everything unnatural) — 4 years ago
    Reviyve | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    Super Clean

    This is a great shampoo but it is not for use every day. It will get your hair super clean. I don't use any styling products in my hair (hairspray, gel, mousse, etc..) but it is super oily. I use this once every week or two. When I use this shampoo, I always use a leave-in conditioner. Neutrogena Triple Moisture Leave In Conditioner is a nice one. — 4 years, 5 months ago
    NoseInABook | 56 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    so fresh and so clean, clean

    gets rid of residue and buildup like nobody's business! I have thin, straight, color treated hair that I wash every other day, blow dry, and load on volumizing products and hairspray. about once every other week I use this shampoo and it leaves my hair insanely clean. I would recommend it to anyone who uses product in their hair, but once a week at the most as it's very drying. I always follow...read more it with Aussie 3-minute miracle conditioner.. the combination leaves my hair clean, soft, and glossy! it is about 6 bucks a pop, but a little goes a long way so it should last a while. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    product_lady | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    great for occasional use

    I use this shampoo every 3 or 4 weeks to remove build up on my hair. I recommend following it's use with a deep conditioner as it removes all natural oils as well as build up. — 4 years, 12 months ago
    AlisonWard | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Clarifying

    This shampoo is excellent for removing product buildup from your hair. This, for me, is not good for daily use but rather I use once a week in conjunction with my normal shampoo/conditioner routine. In my opinion, it is the best clarifying shampoo I have ever used. — 4 years, 12 months ago
    kermitfrog70 | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    It does what it claims!

    I love love love this stuff. I have an oily scalp and this is the ONLY thing keeping me sane right now! Haha! It removes the buildup that I get naturally and I'm sure it'll get rid of product residue as well (I don't use much product of any kind near my roots). You can use it as a once a week treatment (that's what's recommended), but I've found more frequent use hasn't dried me out or anything. Hope I helped! — 4 years, 12 months ago
    EmLovesMakeup | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Good clarifying shampoo

    This shampoo works well. The key is not to use it too frequently. I use it once every few weeks, it really gets rid of all the residue. — 5 years ago
    ann1988 | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



BUY IT ON AMAZON NOW!