L'Oréal Paris Superior Preference Reviews

Back to L'Oreal Paris Superior Preference»
Sort by:
  • 10

    L'Oreal, best I have tried

    I have dark blonde/ light brown hair that I like to color just to enhance my natural color. L'Oreal Superior Preference and Excellence Creme are the best at home hair color kits I have tried. The conditioners in them will make your hair so suepr soft and manageable. I used the color 6AM which was a Light Amber Brown and it turned out gorgeous, I really wanted a Warmer tone because I have a lot of ...read morered tones in my hair already that are just too hard to mask without over-processing! This color literally blended right in and gave my hair a gorgeous shine. I put a moisturizing leave in treatment in the ends of my hair and combed it through really good with a rat tail comb prior to coloring b/c the ends of my hair are always the dryest and I wanted even application. I also put the color along the roots of my hair prior to coloring because I hate when my roots turn out way lighter than the ends of my hair! The last step i did was i wrapped my hair in saran wrap and blasted my blow dryer on it for about 5 mins, then left the plastic wrap on head so all areas of my head had an equal temperature (do not forget ladies, you root area is right near your scalp and generates a lot of heat from your body- didn't want the halo effect)! Seriously, it only took about 20 - 25 mins after processing time and the results were totally worth it. If your hair is extremely damaged, go for excellence creme by l'oreal b/c it has a pre-color leave in treatment for the ends of your hair. If you have a coupon and that is why you chose preference but really should use the excellence creme brands, just use the moisturizing leave in creme trick like i did (or a small portion of a moisturizing condioner just on your ends where there is the most dry-ness)!! — 6 years, 1 month ago
    Jamieuwf1888 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 6 people said helpful

  • 9

    Reliable and Gentle

    I am a natural redhead tired of my red hair so I decided to dye it medium brown. The "experts" at Clairol told me it couldn't be done and would turn my hair green. So I tried L'Oreal Preference medium brown instead of Clairol. My hair became medium auburn, which was exactly what I expected and wanted. It didn't trash my hair like other brands (like Clairol) have in the past. The conditio...read morener left my hair soft as silk. The color is shiny and vibrant, not dull, and has wonderful highlights (my golden red shining through) in the light. I will definitely use this brand again...for my next hair color. — 6 years, 2 months ago
    CallistoCurley | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 5

    Dull Color

    I didn't care for this color at all. My hair felt dry afterwards and was very dull blah looking. I will not be buying this again. I am a brunette by the way. It did cover the grey but it is already fading. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    ladameblanc | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Aweful experience

    I bought this on recommendation but it smeeled so bad my mom had an asthma attack, my scalp burned and no change in my color. I was trying to go two shades lighter, as recommended, but no change. And I think I may have a mild allergice reaction to it to top it off. — 6 years, 3 months ago
    TakingCareofME | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    Highly recommended

    I have been coloring my hair for approximately 7 years now, and almost evety time i colored it I tried a different brand, since I used Loreal Preference, I just loved it, because it gives you a natural color on your hair and does't damage as much as others do. I JUST LOVE IT, LOVE IT! — 6 years, 4 months ago
    Dina29 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    Super hair color

    I have used this for years its the best on the market — 6 years, 4 months ago
    BettyJ1 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 3 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    Darker and duller ...

    I had dark blonde hair with a few golden highlights, I was looking to lighten my hair very slightly and add an allover golden color with the 8,3 light golden blonde. What it did to my hair was cover up the highlights and it actually darkened my hair a bit. But on the side pictures on the box it shows that dark blonde hair should get lighter and warmer. It probobly works for darkening light hair but why make it seem like the haircolor lightens darker hair on the box? — 6 years, 7 months ago
    somesparkle | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 2

    8 1/2 A is Awful

    I have colored my hair for many years and thought I would try this brand & color. It turned out awful, the tones are all wrong and it stinks, about one week later and I can still smell the awful scent. I would not buy this again and will go back to Feria, much much better both in results and scent. I will be coloring again soon to fix this.... — 6 years, 7 months ago
    marynoelstg | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10

    Great Coverage

    I started getting grey hair when I was sixteen so at the age of 27 I have a noiceable amount of grey hair. L'Oreal Preference haircolor covers the grey and allows me to keep my natural hair color but without the grey! I usually wait at least six weeks before coloring again and it holds up fine! — 6 years, 9 months ago
    Aunt_Nana | 16 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 6 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    THIS PRODUCT IS THE BEST!

    After paying upwards of $80 every 6-8 weeks for a professional to color my hair, I decided to save some money and try to do it myself. Six weeks ago I tried Revlon ColorSilk, but when I was rinsing the color out my hair looked and felt so dry that I wondered if I made a big mistake. The color looked okay, but wasn't shiny like when I had it professionally done. Yesterday, I decided to try L'Oreal ...read moreSuperior Preference 6 1/2G and what a difference that made. When I rinsed my hair, I thought it felt extremely soft and even smelled nice. I styled my hair afterward and it is so SOFT & SHINY! I will use this product forever now and save big $$$. THANKS L'OREAL! — 6 years, 9 months ago
    brenfoxwv | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  12 of 12 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"