L'Oréal Paris Superior Preference Reviews

Back to L'Oreal Paris Superior Preference»
Sort by:
  • 8

    Second chance

    I swore I would never use Preference again. That was nearly 10 years ago. I was very put off my the strong chemical smell and it made my eyes burn. I can't even tell you if I liked the end result. Anyway I color my hair maybe 3-4 times year, with Clairol Natural Instinct, L'Oreal Natural Match or Excellence Creme, all of which don't wreck my hair too much. I decided to try Preference because ...read moreI was looking for a dark brown color and while box representations aren't always accurate, I really liked Preferences Dark Brown (which apparently is Penelope Cruz's Signature Color according to the box). It may be too soon to tell how long this color will last but I totally love it! Again the chemical smell was too strong as before but the overall result was spectacular. There was minimal hair fall out after rinsing out the dye. I don't have any greys yet so I can't comment on grey coverage. The color looks very natural. — 5 years, 5 months ago
    mercgirl | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 9 people said helpful

  • 6

    Ok

    this hair dye is pretty ok. my mom uses it all the time, and i tried it a couple of months, and the color did stay for about 2-3 weeks. i guess that's the normal time right? i personally prefer the new feria colloection. — 5 years, 6 months ago
    mariivel | 15 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

  • 1

    Not so good :(

    I've been dying my hair for about a year now. I first went brunette by going to a salon. It came out gorgeous, of course but I couldn't afford sessions afterwards. The last brand I used was Clairol Natural Instincts Medium Hazelnut Brown; and it came out nice.. had a slight red tint to it. Yesterday, I just used Loreal Preference Medium Brown (#5 I think) & it's not quite medium brown. Well, t...read morehe top of my hair is but the lower part is much darker. Also.. my roots? QUITE orange! Luckily, only when I pull my hair down tight to expose my scalp is when you can see them, but it's kinda awful. It does have a slight light light light brownish/copper/orange tint to the top of my head but no where near as bad as the roots. The only reason I got this was because it was on sale for $6.99. I orginally bought Natural Match 4N, but exchanged it. I bet I'd have better results :( — 5 years, 6 months ago
    Kerri5281 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 6

    Color is fading faster than I expected...

    I was hesitant to try Preference because it doesn't say 100% Gray Coverage on the box, but thought I would give it a try anyway because of it's emphasis on fade-resistance. Pros: lots of color options, odor isn't too strong, hair smelled great afterward, it didn't dry out or damage my hair, grays were sufficiently covered. Cons: even though my grays were well covered initially, a week later th...read moreey were showing through (I don't shampoo every day and I use Pureology shampoo which has prevented early fade-out with the other hair color brands I use, so I know it is not the shampoo causing the fading), it would also be nice if it came with 2 tubes of the after-color conditioner for those of us with longer & dryer hair. I used almost the whole tube after I rinsed out the color. I wanted to LOVE this product, but it isn't meant for people who have a lot of gray to cover. — 5 years, 6 months ago
    girlscout | 83 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 4

    Didn't really cover the grays

    I've used L'oreal preference for years. Lately, I've noticed that within a few days, my gray hair is coming back. I used 9 Natural Blonde...always have...I thought it was a fluke so I continued to use it a few more months. I got frustrated and switched to Hydrience and am much more satisfied with that than with Preference — 5 years, 8 months ago
    blondie409 | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 7 people said helpful

  • 9

    A GREAT PRODUCT!

    I have used several brands of home hair coloring over many years, and I keep coming back to L'Oreal Superior Preference! It's easy to use and gives me just the color I desired along with softness and shine. I am worth it! — 5 years, 9 months ago
    beauty809 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Yay!

    The first time I ever had my hair colored it was with this product. I was afraid because I was going blonde..(er) and I was afraid it would dry my hair out and make it brittle. It was nice to be proven wrong as I found the two bottles of color enhancing conditioner that kept it nice and soft and absolutely unfading! It's true to the color guide on the box too! Great product! — 5 years, 9 months ago
    greasergirl21 | 86 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 8 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great product that does what it claims!!

    Whenever I use superior preference, I am never disappointed with the color -- it is always vibrant, and shiny. I mostly use the red and brown shades as my hair is naturally dark brown. I recently tried one of their new chocolate shades and I just love it!! It's has very discreetly lightened my hair to a less dark brown shade and has these wonderful red tones to it. The conditioner in the box is al...read moreso great at keeping my hair color looking shiny and healthy week after week. What I disliked about the product was the smell during the application -- very strong compared to other hair color products I have used in the past. Also, after the application, my hair became even thicker than it was previously (it was already pretty thick and using this product made it more of an issue). Although this product it more expensive than other brands which you can find in a drugstore I think it is well worth the money. — 5 years, 9 months ago
    redflammed | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 9

    Easy to use & reliable

    This was the first at-home hair color I ever used, and I always come back to it! I especially like the brown shades. Easy application, long-lasting, and comes with really nice conditioner. — 5 years, 9 months ago
    kestrel | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    L'Oreal, best I have tried

    I have dark blonde/ light brown hair that I like to color just to enhance my natural color. L'Oreal Superior Preference and Excellence Creme are the best at home hair color kits I have tried. The conditioners in them will make your hair so suepr soft and manageable. I used the color 6AM which was a Light Amber Brown and it turned out gorgeous, I really wanted a Warmer tone because I have a lot of ...read morered tones in my hair already that are just too hard to mask without over-processing! This color literally blended right in and gave my hair a gorgeous shine. I put a moisturizing leave in treatment in the ends of my hair and combed it through really good with a rat tail comb prior to coloring b/c the ends of my hair are always the dryest and I wanted even application. I also put the color along the roots of my hair prior to coloring because I hate when my roots turn out way lighter than the ends of my hair! The last step i did was i wrapped my hair in saran wrap and blasted my blow dryer on it for about 5 mins, then left the plastic wrap on head so all areas of my head had an equal temperature (do not forget ladies, you root area is right near your scalp and generates a lot of heat from your body- didn't want the halo effect)! Seriously, it only took about 20 - 25 mins after processing time and the results were totally worth it. If your hair is extremely damaged, go for excellence creme by l'oreal b/c it has a pre-color leave in treatment for the ends of your hair. If you have a coupon and that is why you chose preference but really should use the excellence creme brands, just use the moisturizing leave in creme trick like i did (or a small portion of a moisturizing condioner just on your ends where there is the most dry-ness)!! — 5 years, 10 months ago
    Jamieuwf1888 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 6 people said helpful

Home » Reviews » Hair » Hair Color » L'Oréal Paris Superior Preference
Check out Total Beauty Contests on LockerDome on LockerDome

Back
to top

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend