L'Oréal Paris Superior Preference Reviews

Back to L'Oreal Paris Superior Preference»
Sort by:
  • 10


    I have been using Loreal hair color for about 15 years. I started using it to cover the gray, I have always used my natural hair color medium brown and it always comes out perfect. It lasts and it doesn't turn brassy after a couple of weeks. I think the Superir Preference is even better. I always do my roots first and then the rest of my hair for about 5 minutes. No one knows that my hair color mu...read morest be 95% gray by now. I owe it all to Loreal, to allow me to have my natural color without any gray. After using the conditioner that comes wiith the hair color, It leaves my hair soft and shiny and there is enough to use after your shampoos for about 5 or 6 washings. Love it! — 4 years, 7 months ago
    sandirose | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  11 of 11 people said helpful

  • 8

    Second chance

    I swore I would never use Preference again. That was nearly 10 years ago. I was very put off my the strong chemical smell and it made my eyes burn. I can't even tell you if I liked the end result. Anyway I color my hair maybe 3-4 times year, with Clairol Natural Instinct, L'Oreal Natural Match or Excellence Creme, all of which don't wreck my hair too much. I decided to try Preference because ...read moreI was looking for a dark brown color and while box representations aren't always accurate, I really liked Preferences Dark Brown (which apparently is Penelope Cruz's Signature Color according to the box). It may be too soon to tell how long this color will last but I totally love it! Again the chemical smell was too strong as before but the overall result was spectacular. There was minimal hair fall out after rinsing out the dye. I don't have any greys yet so I can't comment on grey coverage. The color looks very natural. — 5 years, 9 months ago
    mercgirl | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 9 people said helpful

  • 6


    this hair dye is pretty ok. my mom uses it all the time, and i tried it a couple of months, and the color did stay for about 2-3 weeks. i guess that's the normal time right? i personally prefer the new feria colloection. — 5 years, 10 months ago
    mariivel | 15 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Not so good :(

    I've been dying my hair for about a year now. I first went brunette by going to a salon. It came out gorgeous, of course but I couldn't afford sessions afterwards. The last brand I used was Clairol Natural Instincts Medium Hazelnut Brown; and it came out nice.. had a slight red tint to it. Yesterday, I just used Loreal Preference Medium Brown (#5 I think) & it's not quite medium brown. Well, t...read morehe top of my hair is but the lower part is much darker. Also.. my roots? QUITE orange! Luckily, only when I pull my hair down tight to expose my scalp is when you can see them, but it's kinda awful. It does have a slight light light light brownish/copper/orange tint to the top of my head but no where near as bad as the roots. The only reason I got this was because it was on sale for $6.99. I orginally bought Natural Match 4N, but exchanged it. I bet I'd have better results :( — 5 years, 11 months ago
    Kerri5281 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 6

    Color is fading faster than I expected...

    I was hesitant to try Preference because it doesn't say 100% Gray Coverage on the box, but thought I would give it a try anyway because of it's emphasis on fade-resistance. Pros: lots of color options, odor isn't too strong, hair smelled great afterward, it didn't dry out or damage my hair, grays were sufficiently covered. Cons: even though my grays were well covered initially, a week later th...read moreey were showing through (I don't shampoo every day and I use Pureology shampoo which has prevented early fade-out with the other hair color brands I use, so I know it is not the shampoo causing the fading), it would also be nice if it came with 2 tubes of the after-color conditioner for those of us with longer & dryer hair. I used almost the whole tube after I rinsed out the color. I wanted to LOVE this product, but it isn't meant for people who have a lot of gray to cover. — 5 years, 11 months ago
    girlscout | 83 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 4

    Didn't really cover the grays

    I've used L'oreal preference for years. Lately, I've noticed that within a few days, my gray hair is coming back. I used 9 Natural Blonde...always have...I thought it was a fluke so I continued to use it a few more months. I got frustrated and switched to Hydrience and am much more satisfied with that than with Preference — 6 years ago
    blondie409 | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 7 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9


    I have used several brands of home hair coloring over many years, and I keep coming back to L'Oreal Superior Preference! It's easy to use and gives me just the color I desired along with softness and shine. I am worth it! — 6 years, 1 month ago
    beauty809 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10


    The first time I ever had my hair colored it was with this product. I was afraid because I was going blonde..(er) and I was afraid it would dry my hair out and make it brittle. It was nice to be proven wrong as I found the two bottles of color enhancing conditioner that kept it nice and soft and absolutely unfading! It's true to the color guide on the box too! Great product! — 6 years, 1 month ago
    greasergirl21 | 86 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 8 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great product that does what it claims!!

    Whenever I use superior preference, I am never disappointed with the color -- it is always vibrant, and shiny. I mostly use the red and brown shades as my hair is naturally dark brown. I recently tried one of their new chocolate shades and I just love it!! It's has very discreetly lightened my hair to a less dark brown shade and has these wonderful red tones to it. The conditioner in the box is al...read moreso great at keeping my hair color looking shiny and healthy week after week. What I disliked about the product was the smell during the application -- very strong compared to other hair color products I have used in the past. Also, after the application, my hair became even thicker than it was previously (it was already pretty thick and using this product made it more of an issue). Although this product it more expensive than other brands which you can find in a drugstore I think it is well worth the money. — 6 years, 1 month ago
    redflammed | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Easy to use & reliable

    This was the first at-home hair color I ever used, and I always come back to it! I especially like the brown shades. Easy application, long-lasting, and comes with really nice conditioner. — 6 years, 2 months ago
    kestrel | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend

monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"