Garnier Olia Oil Powered Permanent Color Reviews

Back to Garnier Olia Oil Powered Permanent Color»
Sort by:
  • 2

    Yuck

    I have always liked Garnier hair color, and I like formulas that are gentler on hair. I am a big fan of their bamboo line, but I can't find it much in stores anymore. Trying this seemed like a safe bet, I was wrong. The bottle was way too big for my hands, so application was awkward. The formula was okay, and not too messy. The color result was not great. I used their light red, since medium red o...read moren my natural blonde hair can be too vibrant. I made a poor choice, this color is just drab. Who knew red hair could be drab? It is just blah. If that wasn't enough, the formula has made my fine, prone to be oily hair feel gross. My hair feels extra oily, but on top of that it also feels dry! My hair has never felt this confused. Dry and oily? How does that happen? Do yourself a favor, don't try this hair color. Let's hope it goes away soon! — 1 year, 6 months ago
    michelleak | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    Olia Hair Color Light Cool Blonde

    This is great for anyone with sensitivity to fragrance. No smell that I could detect and I can smell a smoker from several cars or houses away. Color was perfect! Highly recommend! — 1 year, 6 months ago
    diamondsmiles | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    Garnier Olia Darkest Brown: Oil That Doesn't Dissapoint

    As part of being a BzzAgent I got an invite to try this product. I was looking to cover gray/silver/white hairs on top of my head. I have super dark hair so they are more noticeable. What attracted me to the Garnier Olia was that there was no ammonia in the product. If like me you are sensible to scents even minor ones this product could be for you. It also has 60% oil blends of natural flowers. ...read moreThese oils penetrate deep into the hair which is what I needed to cover all my problematic gray/silver/white hairs. That was my focus point. It also it helps with dullness and/or rough hair. The directions were clear and the colorant and developer were easy to pour into the oil drop shape bottle. This bottle though appealing to the eye it was a big hard to handle once I was ready to use it. I have small hands and reaching the tip of the bottle when mixing was a bit hard. Also I had read that the bottle would slip out of your hands after applying the product because it would become slippery. My solutions before beginning to color my hair was to tape some gauze around it. For me this worked. The Garnier Olia was easy to apply. It did not have ammonia smell which was awesome! I enjoyed the process very much. It claims to have a nice flower smell but I honestly didn't noticed it. It did have a nice scent but couldn't tell what it was. It did not drip. I didn't feel like this product was running down the sides like I have experienced with other products. I have thick and below the shoulder blades length hair. One box was enough for me to cover my hair entirely and even had a little bit left over which I used to make sure I covered all my problematic area. There were instructions to massage the hair before rinsing. Luckily for me I had extra plastic gloves in my house. I had taken the other ones off while I waited for the color treatment to set in. It took a while to rinse off. I did not wash my hair with shampoo after having the treatment. I only used the conditioner it came with. This conditioner did smell wonderfully. It lasted me about 4 uses. Its been 30 days now. My hair is still nice and soft. My hair color is still there but problem is my hair grows out pretty fast, or at least my problematic ones. I pull out a white hair and saw the nice darkest brown color at the bottom of the white root. — 1 year, 6 months ago
    bee_deal | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 7 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Worst haircolor I have ever used

    I used this completely as directed, and 30 minutes later it was as if I never even colored my hair. I had about 1/4 inch regrowth and I have a spattering of grey hair at my temples and at my part. The greys are still there, completely still there, and the regrowth actually looks darker, while the rest of my hair doesn't even looked colored, more like it was just brightened. I actually used this...read more junk, dried my hair, then immediately called Garnier to complain and ask for a refund. If I could give this 0 stars I would. I would never recommend this to anyone. Also, as far as the "softness", well my hair is so "soft" that it seems loaded with product and it's laying flat on my head. Just terrible. — 1 year, 7 months ago
    littlelambbb | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 6

    Undecided

    Well it did make my hair soft and there was no awful smell....but the color was not what I wanted...I bought what I thought was going to be a reddish brown....no real red in it that I can tell And it seemed to only darken my natural brown just a little bit...maybe try another color... — 1 year, 7 months ago
    TwinMama07 | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 6

    Review subject

    I thought the product smelled good, the bottle was awkward for me to use, I have RA and could not get a good grip in the bottle to squeeze it. I always use Champagne Blonde in other brands, and I bought the same shade in Olia and it turned my hair about three shades darker than what it was before I started (very light blonde). My hair was really soft afterwards as I also have a perm. I would get it again, but try to find a really light shade I guess. — 1 year, 7 months ago
    karen_e_craig | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 4 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Total at home dye addict

    I have tried pretty much all the at home hair color my local wal mart has to offer so I can spot a good one :) This dye for me was great. It wasn't damaging, didn't have a horrible smell, and was pretty easy to apply. The color pay off was very good too and it has barely faded even though its been a month a half since I dyed it. The downside the formula was very runny which made it slightly messy....read more It was also hard to get off my skin. All that said this is my new hair dye love and will get it again and again the downside doesn't deter me from loving this. I will say wear a ratty tee and gasoline around your hair line to avoid staining the skin. Take your time, don't get sloppy and enjoy. Hope this helps — 1 year, 7 months ago
    lpn4lyfe13 | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 1

    Garnier Olia haircolor

    This is the WORST Hair color product i have ever used. Turned the roots light red did not cover well so the color is very uneven. Would never buy again or recommend to anybody. Would give it less than one star if i could. — 1 year, 7 months ago
    Theresa02 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    Olia hair color

    No awful smell. Made my hair feel fantastic and the color is great. Wonderful product — 1 year, 8 months ago
    sandra_downard | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Amazing

    It makes my hair so soft I love it! Defiantly sticking to it! — 1 year, 8 months ago
    EvAngel | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend