eSalon Custom Formulated Hair Color Reviews

Back to eSalon Custom Formulated Hair Color»
Sort by:
  • 1

    Warning: not worth the risk for many reasons

    Do not risk buying haircolor from this company if you are used to store bought color. Warning: This product being thicker and stronger than store-bought color caused a severe skin reaction that I have never had using any coloring product over three decades. I did not experience the full impact for several hours. Use knowing that in the 30 plus years I have colored both in the salon and at home, I ...read morehave never had such a reaction. The open color bottle that had begun to spill out when the package arrived should have alerted me to send this product back but as there was still a seemingly full bottle I decided to give it a try. The process does take three times as long (an ordeal that another customer on this thread said took two hours and I concur). Additionally, the gloves provided (two sets) all broke as I tried to squeeze my hands into them leaving me gloveless after the color was already mixed. For reference: I am 5'6" tall and weight 140 pounds and am a medium to large frame. This is the first time I ever had my coloring gloves break. Had I not had an extra pair from recently purchased store color, the process would have had to be aborted with the color wasted (another warning I ingnored - if only I hadn't). The color was so thick that it felt like glue, after 15 minutes of attempting to allow it to rinse out which was impossible, and massaging my scalp frantic at this point to remove this glue/paste-like substance from my scalp, I then washed my hair not once as suggested in the directions but numerous times. A horrible experience inclusive of thoughts of me having to cut off all of my long hair to the scalp to remove this product. Do not risk using this service and if you home color there are so many superior products that offer better color, gloves that do not break, and ease of use in about a third of the time it takes to use this product. Yes, the product did remove the brassiness that was my desire but with the color too dark, the difficulty of use, the faulty packaging, the need to excessively wash my hair after coloring, and the potency causing a skin reaction, I will stick to less harmful and easy to use store color. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    mittsione | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    esalon haircolor

    I would highly recommend this product. After entering all the information they needed on their fabulous website I received my kit. It arrived and I was immediately impressed. The instructions were detailed and informative. I was very pleased with the results I achieved and would highly recommend this product. I have been paying a fortune for haircolor over the years and this is a great altern...read moreative to paying the high price that salons charge for hair coloring. I will definitely be ordering this product again and again!! — 3 years, 4 months ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 3

    eSalon haircolor

    I don't love this company or it's product and here's why. I described in clear detail what I had and what I wanted. The first shipment was altogether wrong so they said don't use it. I waited for the next, supposed correct, shipment. I called again and told them there wasn't enough dye, my hair reaches my shoulder blades and is thick. They knew all of this up front. They sent me a third shipment. ...read moreI used it. First off, the smell as I rinsed my hair out in the shower was so toxic I could hardly stand it. But the color seemed OK except for one problem, this is permanent dye and it continually rinses out purple water, so I have to use a dark towel to dry my hair each time. The color I order is called "Black Pearl" a black with purple undertones. I just dyed it a second time and am noticing that my roots look lavender-ish while the rest of my hair is washed out black. Needless to say, I've cancelled my subscription. I would rather pay my hairdresser $80.00 and look good. I don't think this company is going to be a "threat" to hairdressers after people have enough problems. I can do better with store bought dye anyway. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    DemarisJewelry | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Review subject

    I ordered one color and submitted a picture of myself showing my hair. They sent me an email stating that they chose another color for me because the color I chose was too dark for my completion, however if I didn't like the color they chose they would send me my original color requested, free of charge. The color they chose for me was absolutely beautiful! I received it yesterday and put it in my...read more hair last night, and I got so many complements at church today!!! My hair looks healthy, free flowing, and all my gray is covered. I love, love, love this product!! — 3 years, 4 months ago
    monica_hoskinsvann | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 8

    First Time User

    Love the color, it's perfect. Lots of compliments and my husband loves it, too! That says a lot! Thank you. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    janice_jolicoeur | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 2

    eSalon Hair Color

    The color results were better than fine but the ammonia-based formula cause a scalp rash and open wounds around my ears. This was more than 2 months ago and they're still healing. I'll never again use an ammonia-based product and, unfortunately, eSalon hair color is all ammonia-based and I had this confirmed by phone. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    laurel_harper | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Turned my hair green

    I ordered medium golden blonde color. It turned my light golden blonde hair brown with green highlights. When I called to complain they offered me a refund and nothing more. I had to seek professional help and was told that they gave me ash instead of gold. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    nancee_leeallen | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    A perfect 10

    I colored my hair just two days ago for the first time with this hair color. It was amazing!!!!! Best color and coverage I've ever had and believe me I've colored my hair for at least 20 to 25 years. The shine and softness is wonderful. Never had it this good from drugstore box color. Thank you so much pedaling. I'll receive my color every six months can't ask for anything better! — 3 years, 4 months ago
    Kelli0506 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 5

    OK

    Looks a little better after washing the second day. I will say there is no damage to my hair, still very healthy looking, and that is a plus. I just wish it were lighter. You can't really lighten your hair much with this product. — 3 years, 4 months ago
    suzanne_fleming | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    esalon

    The color is amazing. Before the 1st washing it seemed a little too bright/light but than was perfect. It has been 3 weeks since I used it and I am just starting to see gray peek out. Usually with most hair colors the gray returns full blown after just a few washings, so I am super impressed. The hair color is just as I wanted, slightly lighter than my natural red, and wonderfully natural looking....read more No fakey orange or eggplant colors like so many red dyes have. I am a huge fan after just one use. I have never had my hair colored at a salon and this is so much more wonderful than the stuff at stores. My only issue is that it seemed really difficult to apply and took a long time. The store kinds just wash in, but with the way my color looks it is totally worth it, and I am going to assume that the application method is probably how it is done in salons, which is why it looks better. I love the color so much and I think the bottles with my name on it are totally cute! Thank you, thank you for an amazing product at a reasonable price!!! — 3 years, 5 months ago
    jdc | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"