eSalon Custom Formulated Hair Color Reviews

Back to eSalon Custom Formulated Hair Color»
Sort by:
  • 3

    disappointment

    I tried esalon in September. Salons have gotten too costly for me and the Clairol color I like burned my scalp. I like my color a golden red and I always get compliments, but despite describing my color I got a fake pinkish/purple red. I also ended up with patches that did not cover well and it may have been operator error, but following their application instructions were difficult for me and ...read moreI wish I had just done my normal application routine. Even if I had done that, the color seemed very slimy and I was nervous about how it would actually cover. My hair was shiny though. So I got the follow-up emails and made my complaints. They claim to be adjusting my color and we'll see how it goes. I decided to give it one more try and apply it in the way I feel more comfortable doing. It was set to auto-order 10/29 for the 20% discount (I was not offered free correction, etc.) and the order was placed that day and my card charged, but it did not ship until today 11/6/12. I received an email on 11/2 stating they were moving offices 11/3-4 and so my order would be delayed, but I don't understand why I was charged 5 days before they could tell me it would be delayed. I had also set up the auto-order for a Monday hoping to have it by the weekend. Now I'm hoping to try it by this weekend... I have cancelled the auto-order and unless I am blown away by this experience, I do not plan to ever use eSalon again or recommend them. — 1 year, 11 months ago
    argcallie427 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    Love it

    I have gone to Salons for 20 years and never thought i could do this on my own. I love the quality of this product, it produces a rich and shiny color. Honestly better than what i was getting at the salon. I also love the time and money I save by doing this myself. If you want professional quality color and can do it yourself, this is a great way to go. — 1 year, 11 months ago
    RbF | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Horrible Products, Terrible Service !!

    I got the card in my total beauty box for a free custom color and all I had to do is pay shipping. i ordered medium blonde, spoke with a colorist, and waited 3 days on the color to come in. It turned my dark blonde hair to a bright copper, oh the horror!! i then called esalon crying and they sent me a medium brown color that turned my hair Auburn!! Then they sent me a shampoo that deposits color e...read moreach time you shampoo and I started losing handfulls of hair each time I brushed my hair! I went to my salon, embarrassed as i could be and she said she does not know what in the world is in these products but my hair had sustained YEARS of damage in the three months that I had last seen her. I have breakage so bad that when I sweep my floors I had hair in every room of my house! It was grown out to the middle of my back, but my hair dresser had to cut off 9 inches and it is still breaking. If I could sue them I would. I wish I had never heard of esalon!! — 1 year, 11 months ago
    rachel_harville | 24 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    E-Salon color

    The roots are a redder-brown than I thought, but it looks good on me -- they look like highlights ;D Will probably go a little darker next time, but just for winter. Loved the demi-permanent color! My hair is so soft, and the gray coverage was excellent. Hair feels softer than before I colored. LOVED the personalized portions, name on the instructions, etc. Made me feel like it really was just fo...read morer me. Also, funnily enough, loved the gloves -- hair color gloves are usually so horrible, and it was great that TWO pair were included. I used one in the shower to shampoo the color out. Would have liked more conditioner, though -- I used it all the first time, and it was so nice, would love to have some for a once-a-week treatment to prolong color and softness. Overall, great job! I will wait to see how long the color lasts before giving a final judgement, but as of now, will definitely be re-ordering!! — 1 year, 11 months ago
    vicky_dombroski | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Was skeptical but love it!

    I'll admit, I wasn't expecting much given that it was online and how could I really see what I was getting. However, the instructions were very clear and precise, the bottles were large and easy to open and maneuver. Best of all, the color is exactly -- and I mean exactly -- the color I wanted, even better than the store bought ones I have used for years and better than the hair salon I've gone to...read more and only had them color once or twice. I have received so many compliments from people about my hair color and they can't believe that with a few questions and a photo, eSalon sent me this wonderful color that looks so natural!! Thank you so much and I will continue using eSalon for the foreseeable future!! — 1 year, 12 months ago
    betty_coram | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    E-SALON - Best thing that's ever happened to me.

    I LOVE IT... GORGEOUS!!! You've changed my life! I will never spend $200 at the salon again. I get so many compliments, and I always tell them ESALON you have to try it! I can not endorse this product enough. — 1 year, 12 months ago
    jenstur | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    A lucky happy find

    I love this company. I found the product easy to apply and the results were wonderful. My hair came out soft and healthy looking. The color was beautiful and even though I decided to go lighter I couldn't have been happier with the product. The color I received was exactly what I asked for but I decided I wanted to go a little lighter. When they sent me an email inquiring if I was satisfied w...read moreith the product I described the shade I would like. Within a couple of hours they emailed back letting me know that my next order would have the adjustment in color. Yay that this wonderful company is here to save on salon visits. I was thrilled that they listened to what I wanted unlike some hair colorists and stylists I have been to. I recommend anyone who colors their hair to give it a try. — 2 years ago
    len210 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Totally Beyond Awesome!!!

    eSalon is the most awesome intervention for women's hair in years! It is better than any salon treatment I have had because the stylist would insist on their way, but eSalon customizes it your way - and why be stuck with over the counter colors, right? My hair has never been in better condition, it has made my hair look and feel luxurious, the color stays until the next time to color and still s...read morehines like the day you colored it. What could be better than that! I love eSalon to all and am a customer for life! — 2 years ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10

    Affordable and convenient

    I first heard about eSalon though an article titled "What your hairstylist doesn't want you to know". LOL At that time I had decided that I just couldn't afford $100+ to color at a salon. I was looking into going back to drug store boxed colors when I found the article. So I tried it with a free trial. And I have it on automatic shipments now. I had to have them tweak the color a few times to...read more get it how I want it, but that's the great thing about them. You can change your formula whenever you want! A little lighter, a little darker, more copper, etc. They'll do it for ya. I really love receiving the box in the mail with my personalized instructions and everything I need to color my hair in there. I'll admit, I despise coloring my own hair, but I'll gladly do it to save the amount of money that I save every 6 weeks, and still be able to get salon quality products. And I feel good having a customized color. I get a lot of compliments. — 2 years ago
    JBuirge | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    ESalon - great!

    I just tried for the first time and the results were great. 100% gray coverage. My hair feels healthy and looks shiny. The color was very rich looking! They did a great job matching the color I requested. — 2 years ago
    Dawnt | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend