eSalon Custom Formulated Hair Color Reviews

Back to eSalon Custom Formulated Hair Color»
Sort by:
  • 2

    esalon is definitely not THE salon for me!

    I so wanted to love my esalon hair color since I color my hair a lot and this would have saved me quite a bit of money. I placed my order which was a fairly easy process and I included tons of information and a picture to be sure I was specific and clear as to the color I needed. The color I received was way too dark & after just 1 week my gray hair is already showing through. I am heading to the ...read moresalon for highlights just to lighten up the harsh dark shade of my hair. When I received a routine email from customer service inquiring as to whether I was satisfied with the product, I explained my experience and dissatisfaction. They wanted me to send them pictures and lots of photos of my color including pics from outdoors with the sun shining on my hair. I told them that since my gray hair was already coming through after just one week I had decided not to reorder. Their follow up email was: Thank you for contacting us. Per your request, we have temporarily suspended automatic delivery for you. I had already canceled my account & was surprised at their abrupt response. In the end there was a lot of work involved on my part to try and get the right color, it wound up costing me more money and I found their customer service to be lacking. There is a reason they do not offer refunds. If they had to refund all of the people that weren't happy with their product, they probably wouldn't be in business. It's a great concept but definitely not what I hoped for. — 1 year, 7 months ago
    Ria | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    Finally got the hair color I want!

    After years of trying every product out there I was finally able to get the hair color I want. eSalon made it so easy to adjust my color so I could have the results I've always wanted. Another bonus is that their product seems to cover my grey much better the the drugstore brands. — 1 year, 7 months ago
    dawn_fringle | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    great hair color

    I was pleasantly surprised with the services and products. I honestly was expecting good results based on the reviews and having done home coloring myself in the past but I must say that my hair turned out great! I had my hair cut with my usual stylist (who had colored my hair before I tried eSalon) just a few days after I used the eSalon color and although he noticed the subtle color change he told me he liked it. At this point, I would not change anything about the choice I made. — 1 year, 7 months ago
    vldubs | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    LOVE the Color!

    I'll be honest - I was skeptical at first. I wanted to go darker than they suggested after reviewing my picture. They promise to resend another color if I wasn't 100% happy, so I figured I'd go for it. I was SO HAPPY! It's dark enough to be edgy for me, yet doesn't wash out my pale skin. It still has the violet-red tinting I wanted. The smell was quite strong but that's to be expected with quality...read more developer and colorant - it was no worse than salon quality dyes. They also sent me two tubes - one for my roots and one for the old growth. I was again unsure as to how that'd turn out but it blended perfectly. In short, E-Salon's custom coloring NAILED IT! — 1 year, 7 months ago
    kmidha | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Poor Hair Color

    My first impression upon viewing the website was "Wow! What a great idea!" How many times had I used a product but then when I went to buy it again, the store was out of that shade or had discontinued it. So, I sent them info for my first coloring. I clearly stated I was over 50% gray, had very long hair and picked a very light golden brown to match everything but the roots. The color came in...read more at a medium -darker brown with very little "gold". In addition, the gray coverage is not acceptable. Cheap over the counter permanent dyes cover the gray better. I currently have a strip of very dark hair between my barely covered roots and my lighter brown long hair. And, while I stated that I had longer than shoulder length hair, the tiny packets of the shampoo and conditioner to be used immediately afterwards would only cover the head of someone with a VERY short head of hair. Besides all that, the formula left my hair more coarse and smelly than anything I have ever received at a salon. I turned off my automatic reorder this morning. — 1 year, 7 months ago
    Suebeeee | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Hair Color

    I have been looking for a hair color to cover my hard to cover gray hair for awhile. Did not want to take the time & spend the money to have it done at my hair stylist. My hair grows very fast so it has to be done often. This is the first time out of any color that I have used has covered the grays completely. It has been 3 weeks & still looks great. Very easy, good color match & intructions. Thanks, BH — 1 year, 7 months ago
    tim_held | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 8

    Hair Color

    Loved it...my stylist (whom I would have paid 120$ to for the same process) said to me "Wow, your color is holding up really well, it still looks great!".. I admitted to her that I was trying to save money and did it myself for less than 40$ with shipping and she was SHOCKED. SHOCKED! She said "Well, I'd tell you if it looked like box color or looked cheap, and it doesn't, you look great..>I thoug...read moreht it was from the last color I gave you". That in itself was proof enough that I will be sticking with Esalon. Thank you so much! — 1 year, 7 months ago
    erin_lynch_weber | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    eSalon.com

    BEST idea ever! After reading an ad, I clicked and up came the answer to my hair problem. At 30 I had the perfect, natural hair color a girl could ever hope for. Then by 35 and a pregnancy under my belt....I turned grey. For twenty years I have searched to recreate my original color. Now I have come the closest I will ever get and I don't have to pay an outrageous amount of money. In addition, th...read moree texture of my hair is terrific. The idea for eSalon is ingeneous and the product is fantastic. I advise all color challenged women and men to give this a try and you will be a customer for life. — 1 year, 7 months ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    eSalon

    eSalon is a terrific online color-service that sends you your color on a timely basis - your time. I had selected my color, but once they saw my pix, they adjusted it. Their color was perfect!. My hair looks great and is incredibly soft. I am sharing this site with all my girlfriends. Quite a find! — 1 year, 7 months ago
    ec_dimaggio | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    I love my color and the customer service!

    I sent in a couple of pictures, and we emailed back and forth a couple of times, and I have the PERFECT color! They were easy to work with and went out of their way to help me find exactly what I was looking for. I love my color and don't plan to purchase hair color from anywhere else from now on, — 1 year, 7 months ago
    mbenefield | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



BUY IT ON AMAZON NOW!