Benefit They're Real! Mascara Reviews

Back to Benefit They're Real! Mascara»
Sort by:
  • 9

    Better than Dior !

    Not only does it stay put for a non-waterproof formula, but one coat and I have never gotten so many compliments on my eyes. Unlike many mascaras, your lashes don't droop after applying the mascara, and it doesn't clump or get messy. Sorry Dior, I'm a traitor. — 2 years, 8 months ago
    kelysej | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 9

    Love it!

    I know everyone hasn't liked this, but for me it is a great mascara! It volumizes, lengthens, doesn't flake or run late in the day. It also comes off easily with make up remover another plus. The only thing I don't like is the price. $22 is steep for mascara that lasts only for a couple of months, but for a splurge it is well worth it. — 2 years, 9 months ago
    Wannabe | 85 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Flashy natural eye fringe

    While I normally use DiorShow Blackout over Dior Iconic, for the volume and dark pigmentation, I felt weird wearing such a heavy, flirty eye fringe to the office. My lashes are already very dark, so with mascara, I can't go dark enough. Benefit's 'Real' mascara is absolutey fantastic for day/office. It's more thsn dark enough - it even has a bit of glossy shine in the Colorado, if that makes sense...read more. The rounded end of the wand, with the normal long brushes on the wand, provides enough definition and volume for day that there is no need to layer another type/brand on mascara, thus removing a step in my morning routine. For evening, I layer DS-BO or L'Oreal Paris Extra Volume Collagen, depending on whether I'm going to a club or dinner/opera. — 2 years, 9 months ago
    razzzmatazzz | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 18 Best Mascaras -- EVER

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Replaced my Diorshow

    I tried this mascara after some coaxing from a Sephora employee. I was stuck on Dior mascara and have used it for several years. I was skeptical, but there was a sale on it so I decided to try it. I AM SO GLAD I DID. It is a beautiful black color and it goes on perfectly. It doesn't clump or flake, thanks to the super awesome brush with a ball-like tip that you use to separate the lashes. Even wit...read morehout separating, the formula is wonderful and gives you long, separated lashed. It really does give you lashes that could rival falsies. I just love this mascara. It is a few dollars cheaper than Dior, but I like it better. SO now I will be paying 22 for my favorite mascara, versus 28. LOVE this product! — 2 years, 9 months ago
    greenk1 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 9 people said helpful

  • 10

    Great looking lashes

    One of the best mascara formulas I have ever tried!!! The brush is very unique. I have short straight light colored lashes and this mascara totally transforms them! No need for the eye lash curler with this one. It never clumps and my lashes look insanely long. No raccoon eyes by the end of the day either. Its a winner! — 2 years, 10 months ago
    LuvKawaii | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    Fav Mascara!

    Two years ago, I didn't wear mascara. For whatever reason, I had it in my mind that the repeated application and removal would make my lashes fall out and my lush lash line would eventually be bald. To solidify my stance, I had further convinced myself that mascara didn't really have a noticeable effect anyway. Silly, silly me. Now that I am a bit more seasoned in the beauty world, I know that mas...read morecara can pack a hellova punch ( in fact, sometimes it's all I wear!) and Benefit's "They're Real" Mascara not only proves this, but would have had a younger me eating my words for breakfast. Having grown out of my mascara denial, I could acknowledge that mascara really did serve a purpose, but I am always still skeptical of the claims brands make about their mascara. Let's face it, they won't say, "You must try our mascara because it does everything every other mascara does!" While honest, it won't get the sale. So you have to weed through the claims to see if the mascara is worth the klout. And Benefit's had a lot of klout. To start, you can see the product differentiated itself from other mascaras with the unique brush it sports. The tip of the brush has spikes meant to handle the bottom lashes, although I find it helps immensely with getting product on the outer lashes. I'll let the pictures reiterate that later... The brush is a rubber (as apposed to the typical fiber brushes) with evenly space bristles and the size of the brush is manageable for the inner corner lashes. The formula is wet, although not as wet as my former favorite, MAC's Zoomlash. Wetter formulas always help with separation and lengthening. This formula also has serious staying power; it doesn't flake or run! When I have tried to use the tip of a brush to get the same lift on my outer edges, I get clumps. Not. Cool. This brush seems to be specially designed for this lash maneuver. That, in addition to it being an overall great mascara makes it worth the high-end price ($22). Verdict: I highly recommend this mascara. As a mascara, it performs well, but it truly delivers on the false lash claim with a unique brush that lets you reach those previously off-limits lash zones. — 2 years, 10 months ago
    bailey_brown | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 8 people said helpful

  • 9

    Best mascara I've used!

    My eyelashes are short and curly. They curl all the way towards my lash line most of the time. This mascara lengthens them and kind of pulls them away from my lash line. My eyelashes remain curly, but they extend away from the lash line now. I will say this mascara can be clumpy if you use too much and it doesn't really add volume. I prefer length over volume, so it's perfect for me. — 2 years, 10 months ago
    MakeupAddict23 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Ignore the hype!

    This mascara is nothing special, especially for $22. The brush was okay, the smell was absolutely horrid and it didn't make my eyelashes look amazing. My bare minerals does a way better job. Took forever to get off and made my eyelashes feel crunchy. Definitely returning ASAP! — 2 years, 10 months ago
    kmarji | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    Best Mascara ever even for sensitive eyes!!!

    I've very sensitive eyes and can only use a few mascaras. Have also the problem of short curlles lashes and this mascara seems to be the solutions for me! Awesome lengthening and black color. Does not smudge. The brush is awesome! It's a musthave in every stash! — 2 years, 11 months ago
    Madamcoco_s | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 7 people said helpful

  • 18 Best Mascaras -- EVER

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    So far, so good

    So I bought this mascara yesterday and put it on this morning for the first time and right away I loved it. It was easy to use and it separated and lengthened my lashes beautifully. Not sure about removing it, but so far I am impressed — 3 years ago
    DesertGirl84 | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend