E.L.F. Essentials Eyelid Primer Reviews

Back to E.L.F. Essentials Eyelid Primer»
Sort by:
  • 9

    Effective and inexpensive

    I've used two tubes of this primer in the "sheer" shade. The improvement in staying power and intensity for my powder eyeshadows is noticeable, and I've had less trouble with crayon eyeliner migration. I haven't noticed any difference with mascara. The primer comes with a wand applicator and applies unevenly to the lids, but blends nicely with a fingertip. It sets quickly and you're left with th...read moreat tell-tale "silicone" velvety feel. I haven't noticed a smell for the product and the sheer color is a peachy nude that blends out enough that it doesn't really contribute much color. This will not treat your eyes and they won't look amazingly bright or radiant, but as a makeup base (or to combat oily lids) it's great. I reach for it automatically now whenever I go near my eyes with makeup. — 1 year ago
    gikrl | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    low quality

    I really like a lot of elf products, unfortunately this is not one of them. I got this in one of their Beauty Books. The primer is too thin, it doesn't blend, the applicator broke on the second use, and it goes on very chalky. I wasn't expecting it to be like Urban Decay, but this would not be worth it even for a dollar. — 1 year ago
    elizabeth7 | 62 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Good For The Price

    When I first got this primer, I wasn't getting the results I wanted. It was going on cakey, and even after I had applied my eyeshadow, you could see the primer lines through the shadow. Since then, I have discovered that less is more with this primer. You only need a little bit to cover your entire eyelid, too much will make your eyes cakey and overdone looking. Once you have discovered the right ...read moreamount to apply, this primer does the job of keeping eyeshadow looking fresh. It typically lasts about six or seven hours for me. So, for the $1 pricetag, a pretty good buy. I will continue to use this product on the occasions that I do use primer, simply because it is an extremely good price and does an okay job. — 1 year, 2 months ago
    Livierose22 | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Makeup Primers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Can't beat it

    I picked this up one time when I'd run out of my usual $20 primer and didn't have time to go to Sephora. It was $1 so I figured even if I used it once and tossed it, not a huge loss. Well, now it's all I buy. Its BETTER than the $20 stuff I used to swear by. It doesn't make my shadow last a long as Urban Decay, but it will last me through the day and night until I wash it off. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    DanielleTherese | 46 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    Good primer

    I think it's a good primer, it makes my makeup last for hours. — 1 year, 3 months ago
    roserouge | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Great Expensive Eye Primer DUPE!

    Me and my sister used to love urban decay’s eyelid primer, but the company changed the formula and it has a different look than it used to. We used to love how it made eyeshadow colors appear more bold and intense. The new formula doesn’t do that. We were so disappointed. We looked at many other expensive brands. Nothing gave us that bold and intense eyeshadow look and allowed our shadows...read more to blend. I have always knows ELF to have amazing products for very cheap, so I decided to try out the primer. I went home and prepared myself to be disappointed. Why would a dollar product be better than a $25 product? (Because ELF is AMAZING!) I put it on my eyelids, let it set for about 2 minutes. Then I applied the eye shadow. This is the product that I had been search everywhere for. It worked just as good as the urban decay eye lid primer. I was so happy, but then I started to feel bad that I used to spend so much for Urban decay’s eye primer when I could have been getting it for a dollar. From now on, I always buy ELF eye primer. I also try to try as many of their other makeup products as possible, and I’m never disappointed. If you are on the fence about trying out one of their products, just do it! It is so affordable. So, even if you don’t like the product, (YOU WILL LOVE IT!) you will only be out $1-$3. I have also seen on pinterest that this is a great dupe for an expensive eye primer. It can be used under the eye to prime the lower lids for those that use foundation and or powder to conceal dark circles to avoid giving lower lids the crepe look. The only negative thing I would say is that it does dry out the skin a bit, so if you have sensitive or dry lids, I would not recommend this product to you. — 1 year, 4 months ago
    makeup_lover22 | 24 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 8

    Good basic eye primer

    I have oily lids so I need to apply eye primer before I put any powder shadow. I found this elf eye primer at my local target for only $1 so I gave it a try and I love it. I used to buy the NYX milk but it only made my eyeshadow color more vibrant but won't stop it from creasing (since its only a base not a primer). This Elf primer not only made the colors vibrant but I never had a creasing since ...read moreI start using it. I guess it depends on the total hours you want your eye makeup to last, for me I need total of 8 hrs for my eye makeup to last and the elf eye primer did just that for me. If you need your eye makeup to last 12+hrs maybe you should check out other brand like the UD primer potion or the Too Faced shadow insurance. — 1 year, 4 months ago
    ichigocutie | 61 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    The right price and the right quality

    This is my first eyeshadow primer that I have used, and I think it has the right concept of what an eyeshadow primer should be. The primer dries quickly, and your are ready to apply eyeshadow in no time. This gives extra staying power! I love the price of course. — 1 year, 4 months ago
    readingluv_2007 | 40 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    ELF Eyelid Primer

    I got this Primer a few months ago while browsing through the Elf website. The prices are truly astonishing! What other primer can you get for a dollar? When you find one, let me know! Elf is truly pretty good quality for a low price. I would recommend this to anyone, especially a teenager that doesn't have a lot of money to splurge on a great primer. It helps my make up stay on all day throughout...read more school which is what I need. This product is great and I will definitely be buying it for a long time! — 1 year, 4 months ago
    alexagarrison | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Makeup Primers

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    GREAT PRIMER

    I saw this for $3 and tried it. It's amazing, really makes your eyeshadow last and helps the color appear more vibrant. I tried Urban Decay's, it's way too expensive/too shimmery for a primer. elf is affordable and works! — 1 year, 5 months ago
    trishsterette | 69 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend