E.L.F. Studio High Definition Powder Reviews

Back to E.L.F. Studio High Definition Powder»
Sort by:
  • 7

    Review subject

    I had been reading about high end brands of HD powders and how great they work, but wasn't willing to spend the money. So when I found this on elf's website I figured for six bucks I'd give a try. You get a large amount of powder for those $6.00. What a great powder it is! It's white and I was a little worried by that, but as soon as I applied it my worries were gone. It's a very light powder with...read more a super soft texture. It comes with an application puff, but I like a makeup brush better - I seem to have better control and can blend it better with a brush. It takes away any shine from my nose and I don't need to touch it up all day. It softens my fine lines (and even the deeper lines!) and gives my skin a kind of dewy look. Kind of like what I imagine they do with Photoshop for magazine covers. It never gets cakey, even if I do add another dusting at the end of the day before going out to dinner. A big plus is that it doesn't alter the color of my foundation. — 1 year, 5 months ago
    mlbowers | 45 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 8

    Perfect to set under-eye concealer

    This powder is the best for setting under-eye concealer because it is so fine and lightweight. It leaves my skin soft to the touch and lasts all day. I also use it to set my makeup on some days but I really prefer it for under my eyes. — 2 years, 8 months ago
    inthemiddles | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 2

    : (

    I'm disappointed with this product. It is a VERY loose powder. I feel like half the product is wasted just by opening the container, which is overly clunky. I don't think it really does much in the way of setting my foundation or helping with shine control. It highlights any dry patches on my face. Even though it's supposed to be translucent, I think it gives my face a white-ish color that doesn't...read more match the rest if me and instead if looking natural, just looks chalky. At $6 it's really not any cheaper than anything else at the drugstore. I will not repurchase. — 3 years, 1 month ago
    thr33things | 54 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Mineral Makeup Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Review subject

    This product is amazing! I love how soft it makes my skin and it mattes my skin out perfectly. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    xmadibabix | 66 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 9

    ELF Studio High Definition Powder

    I absolutely love this powder! I'd compare it to some of the higher-end brands of high-def powders. It's incredibly fine and goes on smoothly. It's clear, so it's obviously not about coverage so much as it is about setting your makeup and adding a nice, smooth look to your skin. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    DaisysMom | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 8 people said helpful

  • 10

    Favorite Powder Ever

    Works so well at giving me a smooth, airbrushed finish. I love that it is basically transparent and keeps my oily face matter for the better part of a day without having to reapply. It is pretty bulky and hard to travel with, but you get a ton of product and it will last you forever. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    RamblingMaam | 82 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  6 of 7 people said helpful

  • 10

    Compares to High End product

    I love this product and is comparable to the High End version of this product — 3 years, 5 months ago
    elizabeth_j_sheard | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    Smooths and conceals

    This powder helps my makeup stay on all day without the powdery appearance. It creates a smooth, matte appearance and softens the appearance. The applicator is difficult to use, but i use i brush instead and am very happy with the results. — 3 years, 5 months ago
    arya77 | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 8 people said helpful

  • 8

    recently purchased

    I recently purchased this powder after many beauty gurus said it was a cheap alternative to the makeup forever HD powder. I haven't tried the makeup forever so I cannot speak to that, however this is a very nice product and works well matte-fying my T zone and not looking chalky. Another post said that this is so finely milled it can get into your pores and into your bloodstream, as a nurse I am a...read morelmost 100% positive that even if this could get into your bloodstream (which is a huge IF) it would not be harmful. I am not sure what science she has to back that info up... anyhow- nice product, works well I'm new to it so I don't know if I can give it a perfect score and also the packaging is bulky and hard to open- another reason for no perfect score — 3 years, 6 months ago
    emilyvonrosco | 18 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  11 of 12 people said helpful

  • 12 Best Mineral Makeup Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Best I have found!

    This powder is very finely milled and lightweight making it very easy to blend into the skin. On the other hand, this also makes it very messy so be careful when dispensing product into the cap or palette. Another negative to the micro-particles that we love so much is that they are tiny enough to be absorbed by the pores and can enter the blood stream and well with long term use, its potentially ...read moreharmful. Its very smooth and not at all gritty and has an extremely soft feel to it. This possibly has the nicest texture in a translucent powder that I have ever tried, and I think it may be due to its silicone content. Skin feels velvety smooth to the touch and even, probably due to the silicone in it. it does appear to slightly blur lines and pores and not settle in fine wrinkles and lines. It applies with a white cast which is absorbed within a few minutes so have no fear, you won't end up looking like a clown, so use sparingly. I do not have oily skin but sometimes my t-zone area gets a little oily, especially if I'm using cream over my favorite liquid foundation. I have found that this is considerably oil blocking which is great. No shine! Additionally it does help makeup application stay put for a long time as I am notorious for wearing my makeup for over 12 hours and not wanting to have to touch up. However, if in the event I do have to touch up, this powder is great for that as it does not add pigment to the face and it is easy to work with. All in all...I use this daily over my foundation. I am happily giving this product a total score for performance. The only con I have for this product is the packaging is to bulky, but you do get alot of product. Thats why I did not give it a perfect score. — 3 years, 11 months ago
    bwlblog | 19 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  12 of 16 people said helpful

Home » Reviews » Makeup » Powder » E.L.F. Studio High Definition Powder

Back
to top

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"