John Frieda Sheer Blonde Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray Reviews

Back to John Frieda Sheer Blonde Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray»
Sort by:
  • 10

    Sheer Blonde Go Blonder!

    I used Sun-In and lemon on my hair when I was younger and decided to try the bottled blonde colors as I got older. My natural color is medium brown. My head would sting or burn with some products and then when I would go to bed at night, for about 3-4 days the scalp would itch. This weekend my mom came across an article in a magazine about John Frieda Sheer Blonde...  I absolutely love it! I ha...read moreve very porous hair, so the first time I used it I could see a difference and it feels great! Thanks — 3 years, 3 months ago
    merry_hoppes | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  19 of 24 people said helpful

  • 9

    It Works!!!

    I like I know so many others was very skeptical about this, but wanting some highlights w/out the $120 price tag, I decided to give it a try. And to my amazement, it worked! I have natural strawberry blond hair, so most at home highlighting things I can't use, but this worked wonderfully. It didn't dry my hair out, didn't make it oily, didn't leave behind a horrid smell or turn my hair weird and...read more unnatural colors. The only reason I didn't give it 10 stars is they need to make it in a bigger bottle, $10 minimum a bottle is a little pricey, but Hey, it works so I'll keep buying it! — 3 years, 4 months ago
    ChandraCarver | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 8

    Works on un-highlighted hair too!

    I was unsure whether this would work as I have natural blonde hair and hadn't seen any reviews from people who didn't have highlights / dyed hair. The first time I used it I couldn't really see any difference but I kept using it and now, 4 uses later, there is a definite change! My hair is quite a bit lighter and 2 people have asked me if I'd had highlights! Would definitely reccommend. NB I am also using the 'go lighter' shampoo and conditioner so it may be a combination of the three :) — 3 years, 5 months ago
    natalie_m | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 7

    is it permanent

    i have used it 3 times and i am really really blonde now... and i was wondering if it's permanent? does it gradually go away like it does if youre in the sun ... and in the winter it goes dark? — 3 years, 6 months ago
    miriam_byberg | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    Great root blender great color

    I have used SHINE THERAPY by Herbal Essence, a semi perminent hair gloss that stayed on for 4-6 weeks, also lightening my hair slighly. Nice color, but this product is no longer available and I'm left with my dark roots showing, but NOT ANY MORE!! this amazing spray works just as described, I only applied to my roots throughout my head, blowdried, voila, my hair is all the same color! Except ...read morefor the extremely natural highlights I added, so subtle my family didn't notice but asked if I had lost weight, told me I was looking really well. ( Ha! I didn't even have make up on). Natural hair is dark blond. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    DivaCowGirl | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  14 of 16 people said helpful

  • 10

    Definitely Sun-Kissed look even for brunettes!

    I have a ton of dark-medium brown hair that I highlight heavily and usually come out of the salon with a gold-blonde color (like Blake Lively's color) and usually a $200+ receipt! In the summer I usually like to let my hair go between visits a little longer b/c I'm at the beach and pool a lot, but that doesn't mean I couldn't use a little lightener to help along the roots...I've never used at-h...read moreome color of any sort at home before so I was cautious but I am so glad I took this chance! It's totally gradual and blended my hair perfectly after about a week (it did look good the whole time though, nothing drastic-looking). I know any kind of highlighting is horrible for your hair but I found if you get a moisturizing deep conditioner and use 1-2 times a week, it makes a world of difference in your hair's texture. I use the Neutrogena triple moisture mask - good stuff for a good price and smells amazing! If you know you can highlight your hair and like the shades it turns without massive damage then this product is for you, def know your hair before you try to use anything like this yourself - otherwise you're going to be headed to the salon anyway. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    BeautyQueen517 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  17 of 20 people said helpful

  • 24 All-Time Best Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 6

    HOW did this get 8 stars!?????

    I was sooooo excited to try this! i bought it at wal mart. I used it for 5 days, morning and night. IT DID LIGHTEN MY HAIR. but not how i wanted. it made my hair ORANGE!!!!! i went to school and my friends asked me if i had dyed my hair orange! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! now i have to get it back to how it used to be! :( — 3 years, 7 months ago
    jenntreleaven | 21 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 7 people said helpful

  • 10

    Works for brunettes!

    I have naturally medium to light brown hair and added blonde highlightes to my hair 3 months ago. I have always wanted to have lighter hair, kind of dark blonde to really light brown hair but I didn't want to damage my hair by dying it every month and I also wasn't very keen to fork out hundreds of dollars to do it! One of my English friends came to stay with me last month and told me about John F...read morerieda Go Lighter shampoo he was using. He got really great results from it so I thought I should give it a go. I have been using the shampoo for about a month and havent really seen any noticable changes, I was also keen to focus more on my roots but obviously wasn't able to with the shampoo. So I found the Controlled Lightening Spray online and last week got it from Priceline (drugstore in Australia) and was so excited to try it. I was a little unsure of its results after the average results I got fromt he shampoo however after my first use I noticed the difference STRAIGHT AWAY. I washed my hair as usualy then sprayed this onto my roots and blowdried them and I was and still am SO AMAZED. After the first use it lightened my roots about 3 shades to a really light brown and almost matching my blonde highlites. I have used it twice since and it's just getting better! I think after my next 2 washes my roots will match my blonde highlites. This product is seriously amazing and if you are a brunette like me and unsure if it will work (seeing as it isn't recommended for brunettes) then I suggest you deffinitely try it! — 3 years, 3 months ago
    kateduerre | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  26 of 27 people said helpful

  • 9

    I'm Loving John Frieda's Go Blonder Spray!

    I have brunette colored hair and have been using this product for about a week. I have gone from brown to the prettiest auburn color. It looks really natural and lightens my whole look just in time for spring. I do think my hair is a little dryer but what do you expect when you're putting peroxide on it. The bottle says you will see the biggest change after using it 10 times. I don't think the...read morere's going to be enough for me to use it 10 times but I like the color it's done so far. I would def recommend this to others even if their hair is alittle darker. I'm a big John Frieda fan and this product didn't disappoint me. — 3 years, 9 months ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 15 Best Hair Color Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    Really like this

    I am a natural blonde...my color is a dark blonde with some lighter streaks towards the front and I wanted to lighten my hair without going to the salon so I tried this product. After 3 days my hair is definitely lighter. I do recommend it — 3 years, 9 months ago
    Sandi149 | 33 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend