TRESemme Fresh Start Volumizing Dry Shampoo Reviews

Back to TRESemme Fresh Start Volumizing Dry Shampoo»
Sort by:
  • 1

    I bought this because I was desperate....and curious.

    I bought this at CVS. I have had medium to good luck with this brand before. First, I HATE washing my hair because it is a total pain, my hair is very fine, it falls out easily because of a health condition, and it does not grow quickly at all. I was instructed by professionals- hair professionals, and MDs- to wash my hair less, and use a nourishing dry shampoo. I had been using another brand from...read more sephora which I found, by account. Well I ran out of the brand and did not have time to get to Sephora, so I bought this. I was open minded to it. I thought it might be nice to have this at my hand, rather than something more expensive....and since it is at CVS, so close and easy to get! TOTALLY NOT WORTH IT. It made my hair- which had zero styling products in it btw, and I had used a sulfate free shampoo all over my head and sulfate free condition at the ends about a day and a half before. When I used this product I had not been outside or doing anything sweaty, my hair just looked like it needed a bit of a wash. I used this product as directed and just....gross. My hair was gross and clumpy feeling, like I had just put a spray of oil in it, the kind of oil you would leave in your hair overnight when you don't care if your hair is clumped together. I ended up having to get a brush when I got to my destination....I had to pour water from my water bottle all over my brush and run the brush through my hair several times to get rid of the gunky feeling. Running the watered brush through my hair also helped get rid of (some of) the white powdery finish. After that was all done - I mean I know it could be worse- my hair text felt strange ALL day, like it had a very fine coating of baking soda or something on it. TRESemme, come on, I KNOW YOU CAN DO BETTER THAN THIS!!! — 2 weeks, 4 days ago
    MelissaRN816 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    The oppisite of what you need

    I used this the day after I washed my hair and not only did it NOT help, it made my hair look worse. It turned my hair into a stringy, matted mess. I couldn't run my hands through it or even leave it down. Even at $4, not worth it. — 2 weeks, 4 days ago
    Ms.Mallo | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    residue & smell

    I have blonde hair, and it left my roots looking with a white residue that made me look like I had gray roots. Also, the scent is very strong. It smells like a hairspray, but the scent never leaves. I felt like I smelled like strong hairspray all day long! Awful. — 1 month ago
    jessica_lou_whoo | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    HORRIBLE PRODUCT

    I straighten my hair weekly and use dry shampoo usually around the 4th or 5th day to refresh it and this was the worst for my hair. It smells horrible and left it really dry. I would definitely not buy this product ever again. I'm so disappointed in this purchase — 1 month, 1 week ago
    Soraya | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Terrible

    I don't care how affordable it is if it doesn't do what it's supposed to do. It makes my hair even greasier and creates little flakes so it looks like I have a filmy dandruff. — 1 month, 3 weeks ago
    as32 | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Terrible

    This was the first time I have used a dry shampoo and it almost turned me away from using it at all! It made my hair chalky looking and sticky, therefore unable to be styled. I thought I was having a bad hair day before using this, but no. It was so bad after that I just had to wash my hair over the tub just to make it decent looking. I've read online that not all dry shampoos are like this so I am not going to give up. Would not buy this product. — 2 months, 1 week ago
    goldensunshine | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Not a fan

    I've used Tre Semme's other dry shampoo that's more like a foam and when it was out, I decided to try this dry shampoo instead. While it did refresh my hair in terms of smell and gave it more body, I didn't like the matte finish at all and kind of tacky feel on my hair. Ugh! I thought it made my hair just look dirtier. I have naturally very dark brown hair, almost black. It might just work on some...read moreone with lighter hair but I won't be using this again. You could really see the ill effect when I used it on my bangs. I followed the directions to a T, too. I'm going back to the other foamy dry shampoo, which works pretty good. — 4 months, 2 weeks ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Not worth it

    As a mom of a busy 1 year old, I was looking for something to help keep my hair looking fresh in between hair washes... and this was not it! Instead of absorbing the oil at my roots, this left my hair looking greasier and dull. The film that it left was very noticeable and I ended up having to just wash and dry my hair again before going out. Spend a few more dollars and pick up a dry shampoo from Sally's Beauty instead! — 10 months, 2 weeks ago
    scubasarah | 7 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 6

    Alright

    I'm shocked people hate this, I mean it's not amazing but it's not horrible. It doesn't feel sticky to me or leave residue. It makes my hair feel clean, has a great smell and gives it volume. The only problem with this is it feels like it doesn't last. When I put it in at first it's great, 20 minutes later my hair is flat and feels greasy again. It's a very temporary fix. — 10 months, 2 weeks ago
    mikenza | 45 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend