TRESemme Fresh Start Volumizing Dry Shampoo Reviews

Back to TRESemme Fresh Start Volumizing Dry Shampoo»
Sort by:
  • 9

    new gen dry shampoo!

    I have only tried Batiste and this. I like the TRESemme so much more!! But with this one YOU HAVE TO FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS for it to work right. I use it before bed = no white residue in the morning. 1. It's very important to shake it in between each spray/ burst. It should come out white-ish, not clear. 2. Wait about 2 minutes. 3. Massage into roots/ scalp. 4. Brush out. Doing that and s...read moreleeping on a satin pillow case makes a huge difference in the amount of time you'll spend doing your hair. Plus this smells so much better than any Batiste scent. It's citrusy and light compared to old lady Batiste. — 4 years, 1 month ago
    Cee | 24 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10

    I use this in my roots every day

    This is the first dry shampoo I have used and it gives me great volume and smells AMAZING. It's by far the best priced dry shampoo I have come across and is now staple hair care item for me - i'm on my second bottle. — 4 years, 1 month ago
    BlondeBabyATL | 11 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 1

    THE WORST PRODUCT TO DATE....

    I was really disappointed with this product. I've used their shampoo/conditioners off and on through out my life and I was excited when they came out with this new line, don't waste your money!!!! Not only did it NOT do what is claims to do but the smell is disgusting (can you say gas mask) I tried it this summer thinking I could give my hair a break from "everyday shampooing" and during the su...read moremmer my roots are oilier. Like the other postings, this stuff just made the texture of my hair gross and gunkie and worse yet I had gnats swarming around my head when I took the dog out for a walk!!! I returned it back to the store and got my money back and told them it was the worst product ever and they should take off the shelf. I wish I could give it a big MINUS 10 stars!!!!!!! — 4 years, 1 month ago
    shoppingq | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 5 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Awful!

    This has to be one of the worst products I have ever bought! I bought this shampoo in an effort to ease up on my wash-my-hair-everyday routine. My hair wasn't really that dirty when I tried it, but boy did it look FILTHY after using this stuff on it! My hair actually felt dirty, itchy and heavy after applying it.If I had had the time I would have washed my hair right then to get it out of my hair....read more I had to wash my brushes specially to make sure not a trace remained on them - I don't want this near my hair again!The smell is also very overpowering. Save you money, baby powder would work far, far better. — 4 years, 2 months ago
    tamartiens | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 1

    Worst dry shampoo

    This is the worst dry shampoo I've used. The product was sticky and weighed down the roots of my hair. I have used a couple other dry shampoos and since powder was in those brands, they helped absorb the oils and gave my hair lift between washings. I hate to waste things but this went straight into the trash. WASTE OF MONEY. — 4 years, 2 months ago
    Gleefulfazzi | 18 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 4

    Too Much of a Headache

    I have oily,long hair, so I have the dual problem of having oily hair on the top of my head but my ends get dried out. Usually, I wash my hair every other day to keep it from being to greasy while trying not to dry out my ends too much. I decided to try out a dry shampoo to help keep my hair clean in between washes and maybe go for a longer period of time of actually washing it. I was excited to ...read moretry this product. I like TRESemme products in general. However, when it came to actually using it and seeing the results, I was let down. I tried using this product several times and in different ways. Each time I was left unsatisfied or annoyed. The scent was killer. If you use this product you have to be in a well ventilated room or you might feel like you're being choked to death by a lemon. This dry shampoo is made of mineral clay in an aerosol form. If you have dark hair you can actually see where the clay lands on your hair when you spray it. This is a good and bad thing. It's nice to know where you're spraying the product on your hair so you can evenly coat your hair, but I found that it was also hard to fully brush the clay off. If your using this product lightly, it's not as hard to remove the clay but your hair will still be greasy. If you use a lot of this product, you will have a hard time removing the clay from your hair and you'll end up looking like you have dandruff. Definitely, DO NOT use this if you have other products in you hair already, like gel or hairspray, the clay will stick to those products and get clumpy on your hair. You'll end up having to wash your hair and basically defeats the purpose of a dry shampoo. I will say that maybe if you have light colored hair that isn't very greasy, this product might work for you. However, if you have dark oily hair, I say skip trying TRESemme Dry Shampoo. It's not worth the trouble. — 4 years, 3 months ago
    PnkSugrBeauty | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Heat Styling Products

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Total Hair Saver!!!

    I saw this in one of my magazines and decided to try it. It was on sale for $4 at Walgreens so I said "What the heck". Also, when I got back to the office, turns out one of my co workers (whose hair NEVER looked oily and I thought she just had some sort of genetic gift) said she actually used this stuff on a regular basis. Went home & tried it and LOVED IT!!! Looks kind of powder...read morey at first when you spray it on but that goes away as it absorbs the oil in your hair. This stuff really works great! Makes my hair so manageable, it actually styles better. I can't believe what other people have said in the reviews. The only thing I can think of is that maybe they used it when their hair wasn't oily or maybe they only washed their hair like once a week or something. For someone with really oily hair & washes their hair a couple times a week then this stuff will work great. I also love the price!! So cheap!! Can't say anything bad about it at all! — 4 years, 4 months ago
    MsKayza | 13 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 5 people said helpful

  • 1

    too good to be true.

    i saw this in seventeen magazine so i decided to try it out as i sometimes dont have to shower when my hair's not so clean. this does the opposite of what it says. it made my hair feel great, crunchy, & gross. the bottle i had also leaked from the sides whenever i picked it up. the only plus was that the smell was greeeat. now i have a almost full bottle of this just sitting around. won't be purchasing again for sure. — 4 years, 4 months ago
    yumitspaige94 | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 1

    Doesn't work

    This product did the exact OPPOSITE of what it was supposed to do... it left my hair feeling greasy, heavy & flat. I tried 3 different areas, thinking maybe I wasn't doing it right and double checking the instructions. But same result each time. I finally gave up and shampooed the usual way. Also, it left a heavy gunk all over my brush that wouldn't wipe off; I had to soak the brush in shampoo to get it off. A complete waste of money. — 4 years, 4 months ago
    beautytester | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  8 of 10 people said helpful

  • 15 Worst Shampoos

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 6

    not impressed

    I have tried tons of dry shampoos since my hair is oily and I straighten it a lot. My all time favorite is Batiste and you can get it at Sally's beauty supply. I was so excited when I saw this I got it immediately. Unfortunately when I used it I was a bit disappointed. It came out more wet than dry so I was afraid it was going to mess up my straightened hair. Also I didn't see much of the absorbin...read moreg powder on my scalp as I should of with the amount that I sprayed. Anyways, I waited a minute or so to let it absorb, and when I brushed it out my hair felt a bit sticky. Yes it did absorb the majority of the oil but I didn't like the feel of my hair after. I will definitely be returning back to Batiste. — 4 years, 6 months ago
    windoweyes | 64 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  9 of 12 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend