Maybelline New York Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner»
Sort by:
  • 4

    You get what you pay for

    This gel liner is not very good. It is easy enough to apply but is not as smooth as others and the liner in the jar quickly dries up. I would recommend not wasting your money on this and going for MAC fluidline or, my favorite, Bobbi Brown gel liner. I will definitely not be buying this again. — 3 years, 1 month ago
    HauteHousewife | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 2 people said helpful

  • 1

    Just plain bad.

    I HATED this liner. It was fine for the first use, but after that it dried out and I could not do a thing with it. I have this in black and eggplant. I can't even get eggplant to show up. The only nice thing about this product is the brush it comes with. — 3 years, 1 month ago

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    : )

    This product is great for a cat eye, because it creates a great swipe at the end, and the brush is very easy to control. You can put layers on to achieve your desired drama. The consistency is a little thick, it's not a gel as advertised, but it's not difficult to apply. I'm very happy with this product. — 3 years, 1 month ago
    thr33things | 53 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 2 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Waterline Dream

    I like to use eyeliner on my waterline but found that I couldn't get enough pigment from pencils so I tried this and I love it! I bought the black first and it is VERY PIGMENTED and it actually stays put! I then bought the brown one but it is not very pigmented at all actually so I wouldn't buy that again but I love to black!! — 3 years, 1 month ago
    natalie_collins | 3 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  7 of 7 people said helpful

  • 8

    A great liner

    I'm new to gel liners, so I wanted to start out with an inexpensive one just to get a feel for them. This was a great choice. The gel seems very dry in the pot, but don't let that fool you. The formula is dense and creamy, applies easily and smoothly even for a liner newbie like me, and lasts all day without smudging or melting. The brush that comes with it is very nice, so don't throw it out! For a thin line, just turn the brush sideways. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    blueroses99 | 20 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 4

    Don't think I would buy again

    I bought this eyeliner a few weeks ago...it was my first time trying a gel eyeliner. I have to agree with the others about the brush. I can't seem to get a fine line so unless I can find a better brush to use with this, I won't be buying it again. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    Sandi149 | 33 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 4

    Yuck

    I didn't like this at all. I put it on my eye, and it didn't stay. just didn't like it at all. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    DiMarco15 | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 6

    Great color (Eggplant)

    I just bought this in the Eggplant color. I was kind of dubious after reading the reviews before I bought it, and it is true that fine lines are close to impossible with the brush they give you, but I like dramatic eyes anyway, so this wasn't a big deal for me. I imagine if I use a finer brush it might be easier. You also have to go over a few times to get good pigmentation, but when I was fini...read moreshed, the color was beautiful. The dark purple really brings out my green eyes, so I am pleased with my purchase. I would probably buy this again, seems to last throughout the day as well. It's a bit waxier than I expected, I thought it would be more liquidy, but I guess that's why it's not a liquid liner! This is my first experience with potted liner, I usually love liquid. Overall I am pleased. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    ivygurl7 | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This product is amazing, i have no idea how it got so many bad reviews. I guess people just dont know how to use it. I have it in black and LOVE it. I dont recommend it for the upper lash line though, unless your going for a very dramatic look. I use it on my lash line and i also use it to tightline and it looks amazing! — 3 years, 3 months ago
    uglyfetty | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 5 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    Not very good.

    I've been using Mac's gel eyeliner for quite some time and I love the creamy texture and how smooth the application is. Unfortunately Maybelline's version is the exact opposite. It is chalky and it crumbles. It is not creamy or "gel-like" at all. It also caused the outer corners of my eyes to itch and water like crazy. I will stick with Mac. — 3 years, 5 months ago
    Makeuplovr | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend