Maybelline New York Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner»
Sort by:
  • 7

    Pretty good

    I like this eye liner alot because it is extremely black but it smudges a lot when my eyes are open — 3 years, 1 month ago
    oliviagirl | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7

    Not quite as good as Smashbox but a close 2nd

    I bought this to compare to Smashbox Cream Liner, which is one of my favorites. The Maybelline shade I bought is "Eggplant." Texture-wise, the Maybelline is a tad drier than Smashbox, (which may actually be a help for those with oily skin), and although it doesn't drag at all, people who love the buttery texture of Smashbox will notice a bit of a difference. Color-wise, the pigments in Maybelline'...read mores Eggplant shade gave good color payoff, though it doesn't look as inky as Smashbox. Also, compared to Smashbox it's not as true to color out of the jar vs. in the jar. In the jar "Eggplant" looks much more purple, but out of the jar it lives up to its name and is a true eggplant...more of a dark plummy wine than purple. (To be sure it wasn't just my skin I put some on a cotton swab, and it 's definitely eggplant on the swab.) Staying power is good, and I didn't have any problems with smudging or running even after applying rewetting drops to my contacts. 24 hour wear is probably a stretch, though. My favorite aspect to this product came as a surprise, though: I love the brush that comes with it!!! The short handle makes for great control, and the tapered dome shape of the bristles is perfect for getting really close to your lashline. In fact I love this brush so much I bought another jar of this product in a color I rarely use just so I can use the brush for my everyday Smashbox! On the minus side? Smashbox has spoiled me with their clear plastic lids that make it easy to see the color inside. But overall this is a great liner at a great price, and the brush a lot better than any of the other liner brush styles I've used. (Come to think of it, it would be a great lip brush too. Hmmm...) — 3 years, 1 month ago
    LAGlamRGrl | 39 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Greatest smudge proof eyeliner EVER!

    I tried this eyeliner last summer and have used nothing else since. All other eyeliners I've tried before this one always smudged or just disappeared altogether. I have somewhat oily skin. Let me tell you... This stuff is AWESOME! I found the brush it comes with a little tricky to use (not impossible) so I dug in my make up drawer and found an extra concealer brush that worked to apply the liner perfectly. I will never buy another brand again. I'm very pleased with the results. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    angeladalka | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Eyeliners under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 10

    Favorite eyeliner

    I really enjoy this product! It lasts long and goes on very easily, I don't have any problems with smudging. I also like the brush that comes with it it. The bristles are nice and soft, it helps make applying easy and smooth. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    rawrxjasmine | 15 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

  • 10

    Flaberasted

    Freaking love this stuff, told my friends to buy it they all fell in love with it! — 3 years, 2 months ago
    tesser_143 | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    not good

    This stuff smudged stresked & was messy. I loved the colors but this is not for me. I really wanted to like this product. — 3 years, 2 months ago
    jola64 | 88 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 9

    Awesome Gel Eyeliner

    This is a great gel eyeliner. It is comparable to MAC Fluidline and much much better than Loreal's HIP gel eyeliner. Great price for a decent amount of product. I bought mine early last year and am almost just done with it and it is still creamy unlike other gel eyeliners that can dry out super fast, such as Loreal's. This Maybelline gel eyeliner is creamy, pigmented, and long lasting. I have the ...read more"Blackest Black" color and I use it basically everyday and it stays on all day. I also pat on some eye shadow on top of it to make its lasting power last even longer and to make sure it does not crease onto my eyelid because I have oily skin and when I don't pat an eye shadow on top of it, it usually creases, but whenever I do pat an eye shadow on top of it, I do not have this problem at all. I suppose it takes awhile for the product to dry on the skin because it's so creamy, which is why this happens. And I usually don't like the brushes that come along with a product, but the brush that this liner comes with is great. It's easy to use and provides a nice, clean line. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    LalaS. | 70 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 6

    maybelline gel eyeliner

    Ok eyeliner for the money. You have to use a different brush than the one that comes in the package though if you want a thinner more precise line. Not very dramatic when you go for the cat eye effect I think a liquid liner is better for that. Does a good job staying put though it occasionally transfers on the upper lid. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    kfloyd01 | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 10

    Lasting power

    I've tried 3 gel eyeliners that are applied with brushes. I have oily lids and this is the ONLY product that stays put from the time I apply it until I take it off. I never need touch ups and it comes off easily with eye-makeup remover. Super easy to learn to switch from a pencil to a brush application you'll wonder how you ever lived without it! I know I won't! For those who like brown to light...read moreer black go with the brown. Applied lightly: brown. Applied heavily: looks almost black. Clean brush periodically with some eye-makeup remover to keep it smooth. — 3 years, 3 months ago
    shelbywoo | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 16 Best Eyeliners under $10

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    It says what it really is

    The blackest black is truly black not like other brands. And it is really good, use another brush not the one they give you. And it is really good, but it is a bit too thick, but I mange by using a little bit. But I will buy it again!!! — 3 years, 4 months ago
    orangekuo | 18 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 1 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"