Maybelline New York Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner»
Sort by:
  • 10

    It was actually good!

    This is my first gel eyeliner. I didn't find it "waxy", and the brush was great for thin and thick lines! (Doesn't irritate sensitive skin either.) I used this for my graduation, since I read it was waterproof. It didn't budge at all!! I tested the eyeliner on my hand the night before and rubbed water on it..and it was still on my hand the next morning! lol This is a great eyeliner, and I highly recommend it. — 4 years, 6 months ago
    JRodJenn | 28 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 8

    Like the liner, hate the brush!

    This is my first time using a gel eyeliner and so far I like the product itself. Do yourself and your eyes a favor though, and use a different brush with it. The brush that comes with the product is so stiff and hard, Ive somehow managed to scratch the skin around my eye with it. The liner itself is pretty good, it was easier for me to apply plus I could line the inside of my eyes with it which I love. It does fade a little bit but nothing bad. All in all not bad at all for a drugstore gel liner. — 4 years, 6 months ago
    GaGaBaBe | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

  • 5

    Hmm...

    I have this in the eggplant shade. The brush is great for use with other gel liners, but doesn't work well with this one. I generally use a slanted, fine-edged brush. The formula is waxy and dense, so it's difficult to get a precise, exact line. I wouldn't use this for a cat-eye. The color payoff is ok, as long as you use one or two strokes. I use this to smudge, for deep color, but not as a good precision gel liner. It's not horrible, but not comparable to mac's fluidline. — 4 years, 6 months ago
    idahogirl | 98 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    mmmm

    This was my first gel liner so I can't really compare it to others. However, I didn't think it was waxy. The brush it comes with is great but the gel itself was not made to do straight lines with. Overall, Not impressed. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    windoweyes | 64 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    It's not that horrible..

    I think it's a pretty good daily liner, Some are complaining about how it goes on messy, but if you use another brush, it's not that bad. I like it a lot, gives a soft smoky look. I use my ecotools angled liner brush and it works great. it's not waterproof but i still like it. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    ginabunny | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 5

    Okayyy I guess

    I got this eyeliner for $9/10 at Ulta and it was okay. Nothing that special about it. I don't think it was worth the $9/10....it was hard to control the thickness of the line. I don't like the smudgy look for my eyes so I generally go for a clean, thin line. This eyeliner smudged within a couple of hours and it took forever to apply it because it kept going on to thick and messy. — 4 years, 8 months ago
    superhungry | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 1

    just the worst. totally false advertising.

    I am a HUGE eyeliner junkie... pencil, liquid, gel.. I love it all... I saw a print ad for this eyeliner that showed a bold eye with a thick, pristine liquid-looking line.. and the television commercials made it look like a breeze to apply.. needless to say I had to have it. FALSE ADVERTISING!! my first problem with this product is that it isn't a gel at all... it's a wax! it was all but imp...read moreossible for me to apply a smooth, straight line (and I've been using liquid eyeliner since I was 13). also, by the end of the day I ended up with that dreaded black ring on the upper part of my eyelid from where it had rubbed off. If I hadn't gotten it on sale and with a coupon I'd be demanding my money back. BOTTOM LINE: not lasting, not dramatic, not even a gel. :( — 4 years, 8 months ago
    product_lady | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  13 of 16 people said helpful

  • 1

    Terrible!

    This is by far the worst eye liner I have ever used! It's like trying to apply a crayon with a brush. It smudges and isn't waterproof at all because if I make a mistake, I just wet my finger and it comes right off. There is nothing dramatic about it either. I've gotten much more defined, lasting results from a crayon or pencil liner that costs a fraction of this! — 4 years, 9 months ago
    Shakeyourbonbon | 9 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 9

    First Gel Liner and Loved It

    This was my first gel liner that i bought and it was easy to use and i just love the stuff now. It does last the full day except for the little wing flick at the end of the eye (if you're into that) does fade a little, and if you don't layer it on too thick then it doesn't budge. I normally use liner pencils which eventually give me raccoon eye, totally not cute! I was hoping that since it was a &...read morequot;gel" product that i would get a liquid liner effect but it's really a cream and give a pencil liner look without the smudging. The only reason i didn't give this product a 10 is because I couldn't get it off with my eye makeup remover and had to result in a moisturizer which isn't bad. — 4 years, 10 months ago
    CosmoAsian | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 5 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend