Maybelline New York Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner Reviews

Back to Maybelline New York Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner»
Sort by:
  • 10

    I LOVE THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This product is amazing, i have no idea how it got so many bad reviews. I guess people just dont know how to use it. I have it in black and LOVE it. I dont recommend it for the upper lash line though, unless your going for a very dramatic look. I use it on my lash line and i also use it to tightline and it looks amazing! — 5 years, 4 months ago
    uglyfetty | 14 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 5 people said helpful

  • 1

    Not very good.

    I've been using Mac's gel eyeliner for quite some time and I love the creamy texture and how smooth the application is. Unfortunately Maybelline's version is the exact opposite. It is chalky and it crumbles. It is not creamy or "gel-like" at all. It also caused the outer corners of my eyes to itch and water like crazy. I will stick with Mac. — 5 years, 6 months ago
    Makeuplovr | 17 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  3 of 3 people said helpful

  • 2

    You get what you pay for...

    I have used many gel eyeliners, including Smashbox, Stila and M.A.C. but figured I would give this a try as it was on sale. Not even worth the few bucks I spent on it. Although it glided on smoothly it has zero staying power. Even with a lid primer this eyeliner didn't last three hours, much less all day. A real disappointment. — 5 years, 8 months ago
    Qnyx67 | 23 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 9

    A nice change.

    I've used liquid liner daily for years, but started to feel like I was getting too "dolled up" for everyday, so when I saw this, I thought I'd try it out. I like the fact that you can control how defined you want it. I wear it a little lighter to work and make it darker and more defined going out. I've heard complaints about the brush, but find it works well for me if I clean it off after each use. Highly recommend it for regular eyeliner wearers who like to change their look up. — 5 years, 10 months ago
    Moosh29 | 48 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  4 of 4 people said helpful

  • 10

    It was actually good!

    This is my first gel eyeliner. I didn't find it "waxy", and the brush was great for thin and thick lines! (Doesn't irritate sensitive skin either.) I used this for my graduation, since I read it was waterproof. It didn't budge at all!! I tested the eyeliner on my hand the night before and rubbed water on it..and it was still on my hand the next morning! lol This is a great eyeliner, and I highly recommend it. — 5 years, 11 months ago
    JRodJenn | 28 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  5 of 6 people said helpful

  • 8

    Like the liner, hate the brush!

    This is my first time using a gel eyeliner and so far I like the product itself. Do yourself and your eyes a favor though, and use a different brush with it. The brush that comes with the product is so stiff and hard, Ive somehow managed to scratch the skin around my eye with it. The liner itself is pretty good, it was easier for me to apply plus I could line the inside of my eyes with it which I love. It does fade a little bit but nothing bad. All in all not bad at all for a drugstore gel liner. — 5 years, 11 months ago
    GaGaBaBe | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 4 people said helpful

  • 5

    Hmm...

    I have this in the eggplant shade. The brush is great for use with other gel liners, but doesn't work well with this one. I generally use a slanted, fine-edged brush. The formula is waxy and dense, so it's difficult to get a precise, exact line. I wouldn't use this for a cat-eye. The color payoff is ok, as long as you use one or two strokes. I use this to smudge, for deep color, but not as a good precision gel liner. It's not horrible, but not comparable to mac's fluidline. — 5 years, 11 months ago
    idahogirl | 98 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 3 people said helpful

  • 5

    mmmm

    This was my first gel liner so I can't really compare it to others. However, I didn't think it was waxy. The brush it comes with is great but the gel itself was not made to do straight lines with. Overall, Not impressed. — 6 years ago
    windoweyes | 64 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

  • 9

    It's not that horrible..

    I think it's a pretty good daily liner, Some are complaining about how it goes on messy, but if you use another brush, it's not that bad. I like it a lot, gives a soft smoky look. I use my ecotools angled liner brush and it works great. it's not waterproof but i still like it. — 6 years ago
    ginabunny | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  2 of 3 people said helpful

  • 10 Best Long-Wear Eyeliners

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 5

    Okayyy I guess

    I got this eyeliner for $9/10 at Ulta and it was okay. Nothing that special about it. I don't think it was worth the $9/10....it was hard to control the thickness of the line. I don't like the smudgy look for my eyes so I generally go for a clean, thin line. This eyeliner smudged within a couple of hours and it took forever to apply it because it kept going on to thick and messy. — 6 years, 1 month ago
    superhungry | 10 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  1 of 2 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend



monitoring_string = "e4ea8133a649aad124e80f99f8831005"