CoverGirl SmokyShadowBlast Reviews

Back to CoverGirl SmokyShadowBlast»
Sort by:
  • 3

    Cover Girl Smoky Shadow Blast

    I was so disappointed. I have all 6 shadow blast shadow sticks, and have used them only a few times. First of all, going based upon the directions, and making no modifications, you end up with a smeary mess. Second of all, that sticks themselves are too big for detailed work around the eye. I augmented the shadow sticks with primer and powder shadow along with eyeliner, and after a lot of effort, ...read moreand a lot of time, I managed to get a very pretty smoky eye. The colors of the sticks are really very pretty, and that is partly why I was so disappointed. After having spent all that time to get everything on and looking good, I was very disappointed in the staying power. By the time I got to the restaraunt, 40 minutes after leaving my house, my shadow was already in think oily lines in my creases. I have tried to make them work with other products, but they end up running all over my face. Because I ended up having to uses brushes, I was left washing smeary make-up out of everything the next morning. Like I said, the colors are very pretty, but look better in the package than they do running down your cheeks. — 4 years ago
    Dionza | 4 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 4

    VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!

    I was looking forward to using this product from the commercials and all the awesome colors but was extremely disappointed with the outcome of it. I have somewhat oily skin in the first place and also use a primer on most of my face too. It started out okay, I thought it was looking great but it was really creamy, then it kept on smearing, not distributing the color even and would go back over to ...read morefill in and it comes off. The liner made it even worse, plus it didn't hardly show up on your lid above your lashes, it looked alright when put on under the bottom lashes though I won't use it again unless I put it underneath a powder shadow and just use the liner on my bottom lashes. — 4 years ago
    Sixx_D | 6 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    my pencil fell apart!

    i was so excited to try this product because it seems to make the smokey eye look so easy. However, it was so creamy and the color didn't really stick. The tapered end of my pen broke the first time i used it. This product wasa major disappointment. — 4 years ago
    NYCbeauty | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Eyeshadows

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 2

    I wanted to like it so much

    I wanted to like it, because I wanted to have trendy smokey eyes. I should have known that something was not going to work when I saw the crayon type applicator. First of all, I am African American and the shadows were very chalky in nature making you look like a mime. When trying to apply the smokey element, the crayon broke. The other part was not much better. I looked like a 2 year old had created racoon eyes. I turned to Covergirl because of reputation, but I ran right back to Mac. — 4 years ago
    rugame2 | 8 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Yes it is worse than a crayon!

    I agree with some of the other reviews. After seeing how beautiful Drew Barrymore's eyes looked on the commercial for this product, I was ready to buy to get her look! Now we know about the magic of advertisiing because we all know ladies that the make up artists on that commercial could never have used THIS product! Mine too broke off before I even twisted it up so I attempted to use the other...read more side and no matter how I tried to apply, this thing was a HOT MESS! Thank God for CVS because I promptly returned both wands that I purchased. I never even opened the second one. I was surprised that Proctor and Gamble would put out such a HORRIBLE product. — 4 years, 1 month ago
    FLBeauty | 5 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    CoverGirl Smoky ShadowBlast - Hated it!

    I have never bought a product that I said "I'm just throwing that in the trash", until I used this one. I gave it 3 of my best trys. One of those time it actually made my eyes sting. I have been an adult for many years and am quite experienced with make-up. There is no value in this product. I want my money back! — 4 years, 1 month ago
    sherry_king | 1 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 4

    I kinda like it

    My foray into cream eyeshadow started with this. I was anxious to try it, and bought two since they were on sale. I don't like how it highlights. The darker doesn't really give a smoky look, and I end up using just the lighter color and adding eyeshadow to it. I also don't like the shapes of the colors because they don't seem to go where I want. I agree with everyone else that it doesn't apply eve...read morenly. I haven't given up on them though!I've learned to apply then blend with my fingers to get an even look. They still give me a softer look for the day. — 4 years, 1 month ago
    rozbie | 67 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 1

    Totally agree

    Smoky ShadowMESS, is more like it. I totally agree with everyone else's low reviews - it went on unevenly, evaporated or caked into the crease within in an hour (even with my miracle UDPP on!), and then, to add insult to injury, it broke. Totally not worth the hype. Looked like a great product, ended up being a great ripoff. Sorry, CoverGirl. — 4 years, 1 month ago
    StephVG | 12 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 2

    Pretty Useless

    I can't fairly rate this product on its coverage or staying power because it's application is nearly impossible. Part of the convenience of having a stick shadow is not having to pack any applicators or brushes in your purse, but that's the only chance in "H-E-double-hockey-sticks" you have of getting a decent application with this one. Like someone else said, it's a big crayon. When I t...read moreried to carefully apply the darker color with the angled tip, the entire thing broke away from the base with only the tiniest amount of pressure--I hate, hate, HATE when any stick product does that!!! And if you can't apply a product without having to wrestle the color out of the cap and back into the tube, that's a sure sign that it's garbage. Sorry Covergirl, but you really dropped the ball on this one. — 4 years, 2 months ago
    MiraBlackSnape | 37 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

  • 7 Worst Eyeshadows

    Exclusively from the editors at Total Beauty

    Get the Buying Guide to see these top-rated products!

    Get it now »
  • 1

    A blast or a hot mess?

    Utter disaster of a product. It is like trying to use a poorly formulated grease crayon as eyeshadow. Primer does not help, nothing helps. Poor color payoff, poor application (I tried fingers, a brush, a sponge...nothing could make it go on evenly), poor staying power (creases like nothing else!), one end fell out when I opened the container (before I even tried to twist it up). This product has ...read moreno redeeming qualities and Drew Barrymore should be ashamed to have her name associated with such a bad product. You would be better off grabbing a Crayola Crayon from your kid's crayon box and trying to use it, it was really that bad! — 4 years, 2 months ago
    TucsonBlonde | 2 reviews

    This review is:  Helpful  |  Not helpful  |  Inappropriate  |  0 of 0 people said helpful

Welcome to TotalBeauty.com!
Ready to unleash your inner beauty junkie? Enter your email and check the boxes below to get free samples, exclusive deals, discounts at Total Beauty Shops, and expert beauty tips delivered straight to your inbox!
Email to a friend